We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again for Hospitality Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
1045 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 42 hotels in Cape May
PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Back Again for Hospitality Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our family stayed at the Grand again this year for Hospitality Night. It's a good time to visit Cape May and get into the Christmas spirit. With three young kids (ages 7, 6, and 4) the Grand remains a natural choice for us. The kids love swimming in their indoor pool and the Grand Rapsody weekend deal makes it very attrative for our budget. For a very reasonable price we had a spacious room with two king beds and a sleeper sofa. The particular room did not have a kitchenette like the others we've stayed in - just a microwave oven sitting on top of a small refrigerator. The bathroom was small in this room and the sink was actually just outside the bathroom next to the door. Didn't bother us, but it's just interesting how varing the room layouts are in this hotel.

I'll repeat what I've said before about this establishment - there are obvious aspects that are dated. I view the Grand as a step up from motel accommodations, but definitely not a luxury resort. The staff is courteous, the location is convenient, the prices are reasonable, and our family always enjoys our stay. We enjoy the convenience of the Grand Rapsody weekend package with includes breakfast both mornings and one dinner. We'll probably be back again next year and would recommend the Grand for any family who knows how to look past minor flaws and have a good time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    200
    112
    68
    86
See reviews for
237
195
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holmes, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I and a few other couples stayed at the hotel on the weekend of Nov. 30th. It was a wonderful stay. Even though the pool was a little cold, the rest of the pool area was very nice. The restaurant was very good. We really enjoyed everything about the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've stayed at the Grand many times in the past, and I've always raved about the indoor pool area with its cozy seating and tropical warm water.

However, the past few times we've been there the pool has been cold, and the maintainance man refused to turn the heat up. Very disappointing, and I'm not sure If I'll return.

It is really the best attraction about the Grand in the winter months. Without the pool, it's just another Cape May hotel, and then I consider it over-priced because the pool is included, so it should be useable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hello Love2tour55,

Thank you for your guidance on how we can better serve you during your stay at the Grand Hotel in the future.

My name is John Allison and I am the new General Manager here at the Grand. Since I have arrived I have made it my priority to review all of our guests feedback in order to assist me with setting my goals to further improve your future stays with us.

Maintaining the indoor pool water temperature to a comfortable degree is very important to me especially during the "quiet season" in Cape May. You have my commitment that I will continue to train and work with our maintenance staff to better monitor the temperature on a daily basis.

Please contact me before your next visit and I will personally check the pool temperature to make certain it will be perfect upon your arrival. My telephone number is 609-884-5611 ext. 523 or e-mail me at allison@grandcapemay.com.

We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon.

Beach e-Regards,

John Allison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are a beach lover - this is a place to consider. It is located right on the beach - but there is a fee to go on the beach - they come around the beach and have you pay a daily fee. Close to the old town where the tourist stuff is located. For photography, we ended up driving to see the sights.

Room Tip: Beach locations so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I tried to cancel my reservation for Friday 10/26 due to that I had to make many preparations for the Super Storm Sandy that just destroyed our beautiful coastline. I wasn’t offered any other options or customer service to say the least. Please be aware of their policy’s or you might be left with a 100% non-refundable deposit. I just feel like there could have been a better way to handle the situation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a lovely place to stay!The rooms are bright and cheery. Extremely clean. The beds and pillows are of good quality, very comfortable. Nice little kitchenette.Stove, fridge,coffee maker, silverware and pots but bring your own coffee. The one problem that we had was that the door key-card did not work. The pools are crystal clear. The chaise loungers were so comfortable. They also have a fitness workout room which was really nice.My friends and I had gone to a dinner-show and decided to go to the hotel bar when we got back at 10:10pm. it had already closed!!! The breakfast buffet was delicious.I will stay at the Grand Hotel again.

Room Tip: I think that every room faces the outdoor pool with a view of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

As a seasoned traveller I have learnt how to spot an old hotel that has had a makeover - the doors are rarely changed and the door frames never changed. The elderly room door with hinges that had long given up closing the door were an immediate sign that the Grand Hotel is quite old. The remodelled room had been nicely decorated and the king bed was comfortable but there was a huge flaw in the layout. One side of the bed was very close to the bathroom wall and had no bedside table or light. This might be acceptable in a business orientated hotel where the rooms are usually let for single occupancy but emphatically not in a hotel in a seaside resort. We had dinner in Hemingway's Restaurant. The Prime Rib advertised on the menu for Friday and Saturday nights was not available, but they did a very nicely cooked filet instead. The breakfast was very good value, comprising a buffet plus an omelette cooked to order. Because of the bad room layout we would not choose to stay in the Grand Hotel again, but we would eat in Hemingway's again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1045 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.