We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding day Grand memories!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
1045 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Mantua, NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wedding day Grand memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I had our wedding at The Grand last May and we wouldn't have had it any other way. We had our wedding here on May 14th of 2011. The Grand's staff and wedding coordinator did a fantastic job and everyone had an absolute blast. They excelled in coordinating with our vendors and the view/room upstairs were just awesome at sunset. The entire day went off without a hitch. There was absolutely no stress on my wife and I and this allowed us to really soak the whole weekend in and revel in the experience. In fact, the entire weekend was great. A large amount of our guests came down the night before and we all got together in Hemingway's after our rehearsal dinner (which we had at the property). The night before the wedding was just as fun as the night of the wedding. It was great for everyone to mix it up, re-connect and acquaint with each other the night before. It made for a relaxed and fun wedding day. The beach made the perfect backdrop for the ceremony and the setup was flawless and seamless. The short walk across the street was nice and the cocktail hour set up was beyond what we were expecting. Amelia, the coordinator, suggested a great steel drum band for cocktail hour and they really set the tone for the night. The greatest joy we have from that weekend is in hearing our family and friends talk, again and again, about how much fun they had at our wedding. Our personal experience with this property is nothing but positive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    224
    127
    73
    94
See reviews for
261
214
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I decided to enjoy our anniversary at this hotel and left totally violated. After waiting for the vertical blinds to be replaced we entered the room, opened the blinds and watched as about ten of them fell onto the floor. I tried filling the hot tube to ease my aching knees, waiting about 20 minutes until it got high enough to put them into the tube. the water was Luke warm at best. father showering a bit later there was aounding on the door by a maintenance man. When I opened the door he asked " what's going on in there? Rather rudely and nasty. he stated water leaked from our room onto the ceiling down below and caused the insulation and tiles to fall.
When time for bed came the room was lit up light daylight, having so many vertical slats from the blinds on the floor. Next day the bed sheets were bunched up at my feet when I awoke and, when I got into bed the following evening they were still in the same place. the maid never made the bed, tucked the sheets in, or cleaned. She only left a few clean ( I hope) towels.
What a dive. I've stayed in the Ritz for $200. A night, had my suit pressed, shirts lightly starched, shoes polished, coffee delivered, newspapers, etc. For $200 a night for this dump I got robbed. when I spoke to any person at the desk all they gave was lip service with no return satisfactory solutions. NEVER AGAIN. This place should be closed and sealed for good!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Oregon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We came in to cape may as a small vacation. The town was beatiful as well as this hotel. We walked in and were greeted excelently by the front desk clerk. They gave us a brief overview of the place. It was amzing. The staff there was so freindly from check in to check out. Also the pools were so nice. This beachfront hotel is amazing..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, CT
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed three nights inone of the Room Class " I " - Ocean View Two Story Townhouse Efficiency Suites. The room was good -- liked having two levels.We didn't do any cooking there. The room had no bottle opener it it -- a minor aggravation. We ate at Hemenway's twice and the food was fine. We would not stay there again, though, because of the parking. The parking lot was jammed packed and some people coming back at night couldn't find a space and had to park on the street. We were at this hotel because of a conference. It would not be my first choice on a return trip to Cape May. It's pretty far away from any shopping area, and there's no transportation to other parts of town.There are better hotels and lots of B&Bs around. WiFi was free, though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I spent Memorial Day weekend plus one extra day at the Grand Hotel . We had a wonderful time. Our 2nd floor king room #148 was very nice and roomy and near the elevator and stairs ( just a little noisy when kids are running up and down the stairs.) Indoor pool was very well kept with an abundance of towels and seating. Perfect temp!. The outdoor pool was crowded due to the holiday weekend. Bar feature & music was very nice. And the beach ientrance is right across the street. The Hemingway restaurant on site had delicious meals.........we had many there.......including the breakfast buffet... dinner was tasty with great selections. The best kept secret is the $6.50 lunch .. good choices and very tasty! Will definitely be back!
maawea@aol.com

Room Tip: 2nd floor seems best........there is a king & queen side..........sorry I don't recall whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed on the second floor with King size bed and kitchenette. The room is spacious and fairly clean. Unfortunately, the sound proofing is extremely poor, almost non-existent

The family who stayed in the room above us had kids and perhaps they are a little bit too active. They ran across the room non stop all evening until their bed time which is quite late, unfortunately for us and get up very early in the morning. We can also hear them laughing and screaming as well.

Lucky for us the the family checked out the second night we were there so we had a more quiet night to sleep.

I must mention also that the door doesn't seal properly so you can hear the wind flapping all night long the first night. On the second night my husband had to put a piece of cardboard in between the door and the frame to stop it from flapping.

The hotel is in a very good location and the staff was very friendly but if you want a quiet room to sleep or if you are planning to stay for more than couple nights, then I suggest you reserve a top floor room.

Room Tip: Room on top floor might be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stay here in the Spring and Fall every year. We book the Grand Rhapsody package, which includes your accommodations, breakfast buffet every morning and a dinner one evening. All for a great price! Rooms are clean, and very comfortable. Can't rate the outdoor pool, since we are never there in season. The indoor pool and hot tub are fantastic! Very clean, and always the right temperature. We either stay in an "E" or an "F" room on the left side of the hotel--all side views of the ocean. Staff is very friendly. The breakfast buffet is very very good. Dinners are fantastic--anything on the menu is included in the package (not just a few options)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1045 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.