We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY welcoming and friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montreal Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Montreal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
1025 Beach Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A VERY welcoming and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect, right across the street from the beach. The pool, albeit small, was a refreshing way to cap off a day on the beach. The poolside bar, which also serves food from Harry's Resturant (OKAY FOOD, NOTHING GREAT) is a nice spot for an afternoon and evening drink. The remodeled rooms are impressively CLEAN and well appointed. We were here with four other couples, each saying how clean the rooms were. The entire hotel is very clean and comfortable. I assure you the staff and front desk will accommodate your needs... VERY FRIENDLY and professional! I recommend using a beach cabana ... Lots of fun and a great place to cool off. There is a fee. I will return to the Montreal Inn next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    136
    29
    18
    11
See reviews for
144
156
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed the Montreal. The motel has some nice amenities..restaurant, inside and outside bars( orange crush good:) and the convenience of a liquor store onsite. The rooms were tastefully decorated and clean. I booked late (well a few months ago but that's late) and they only had one type of room left with queen bed. The room was really small. Basically we had to unpack our suitcases fully and put them off to the side and avoid running into eachother since there was not much room to move;) The refrigerator was nice though..good size not the usual tiny one. The staff was top notch. Everyone goes out of their way too make sure you are ok and enjoying your time. The owner and managers are always present. The woman working the front desk (forgot her name) on Saturday and Sunday was very customer service oriented and accomodating. Pool is a little small for all of the rooms but I'm sure there is not much they can do about that now.

Too sum it up..this is a nice choice if you are planning to vacation in Cape May.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Chose the Montreal Inn after much research and so glad we did. Hotel room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, kitchenette and sitting area which included a pullout sofa. Hotel is directly across the street from the beach. Loved the complimentary beach chairs provided by the hotel. You just give your name and room number and the beach attendants tell you to chose your spot, meet you there and completely set you up. Also, restaurant staff walks around the beach with menus. You can order food and have it delivered directly to your spot on the beach. Loved the poolside outdoor bar...great food and drinks!! Took about 10-15 minutes to walk to the downtown area of Cape May. It is a very easy walk. Lastly, the entire staff is so friendly and helpful. They make you feel they are genuinely pleased you chose to stay with them. They actually encourage you to arrive early and stay after checkout. If your room is not ready when you arrive you can still use all there facilities. On check out day you can continue to leave your car on their premises until 5:00pm and also use their facilities. They even provide a shower and changing room for you when you are ready to leave. It is like getting two extra days of vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is our 4th time staying here and it's not the last time. We already booked next year. My kids are 4 and 6 and they love it here. The room was great! Newly renovated and great useful kitchen with full fridge. The pool is great and maintained very well. The best part is having Harry's restaurant right there. We ate there every night. The portions are huge. The views are amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here back in mid-June with our 2 kids. We were greeted by Alice at the Front Desk for check-in and she really was able to help us out. We were a few hours early but they allowed us still to park our car and also use the pool and such while waiting to get into the room. Everything about this place is fantastic and we can't wait for our next vacation opportunity. We will definitely be staying here again. The only issue we had was the gentleman that came out of an office while we were checking in. He was a little loud when talking to us and then he started speaking spanish. My wife and I speak English very well and prefer it when we go for a vacation in the US. I think he needs to take a step back and stop assuming just because someone is of spanish descent means they want/need to speak Spanish.

That was our only issue during our stay but it is definitely not a deal breaker. We highly recommend this place for anybody looking to vacation in Cape May. Beautiful ocean views. Watching the boats while sitting on your private balcony.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best views. Recommend anywhere from middle of building to restaurant end of bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I wanted to personally apologize if my speaking Spanish to you created any discomfort. Please be assured it was not done with any motive other than out of courtesy and respect.

Cordially,

Stevan Overby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were going to pass through Cape May for an overnight before we got the Cape May ferry the next day and this was perfect! Right across the street from the beach, it had entertainment and was walking distance to everything! The room was renovated very tastefully, very clean and the staff couldn't have been any nicer or accommodating! This was a romantic getaway for me and my husband but it would also be perfect for the whole family! A great pool and a pool bar! There is a restaurant too....we didn't have a meal but the coffee for the beach walk the next morning was great! Definitely perfection on the beach!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a lovely visit to Cape May and our stay at the Montreal was very nice.

The Good: The rooms are all very recently renovated so everything is new, clean, and modern. Loads of towels and pillows are available. There is a small refrigerator in the room as well as the typical little coffee pot. The fridge came in handy, the coffee pot-not so much. I am no fan of packaged instant coffee. The suite arrangement-a small bedroom and a small sitting room is very convenient if one person wants to sleep and one wants to stay up but know that the rooms are small. Wouldn't really want 4 adults in the room we had (or even two adults and 2 teens.) There are larger suites. Both rooms have flat screen tvs. The restaurant downstairs is convenient, the food very good and the service excellent. (We only ate breakfast and lunch there.) The pool is nice and very clean. There is an outside bar. There is a liquor store on premises if you want anything but know also that NJ law requires they close early (9PM on weekdays). For a refundable deposit you get passes to the beach which is directly across the street. Off street parking is a big benefit. The beach is directly across the street and they provide those plastic chaise lounge chairs at no cost. We brought our own chairs and umbrella and they did not mind. Umbrellas are available to rent as are regular beach chairs if you don't feel like bringing your own.

The Not As Good: The parking lot, while convenient, has extremely small parking spaces. My husband who is a retired truck driver had difficulty getting in and out of the spaces in our Traverse and it was not easy opening the door and getting out of the car. The lot is made for compact cars. The internet connection was unreliable and when it was on, it was painfully s-l-o-w. Evenings were the worst when many guests were trying to use it at the same time. This is not acceptable in this day and age. The pool and bar are separated from the road by just a low wall and hedges but I think this is fairly common in NJ for the hotels very near the ocean. (I did not hear any traffic though at night when it counts.) While the hotel is right that they are within walking distance to the downtown area, but it is a pretty good walk - perhaps 20 minutes? After walking down and then spending time walking around and enjoying the pretty shops I would find the return walk a little daunting. But that is my preference and others may disagree. We drove downtown, perhaps 5-7 minutes? There is public parking but it is not free.

Over all the Montreal Inn is a nice hotel, clean, with a great pool for kids. Families may want to forgo the view and ask for the rooms on the first floor next to the pool. The food in the restaurant was very good for a convenient breakfast. The staff was helpful and friendly. And if you don't want to be near all the hubbub of downtown, and you do want to be near the beach I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#3 Family Hotel in Cape May
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Inn their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Inn is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montreal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.