We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Cape May NJ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montreal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Montreal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Montreal Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1025 Beach Avenue at Madison Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette Hill, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Cape May NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We expected to miss out on our Cape May weekend due to the effects of Hurricane "Sandy". We received a call on Thursday from the manager, Steve. He assured us that the Inn had no storm damage , everything in town was up and running and they were looking forward to our arrival. When we arrived we we given a beautiful newly renovated room over looking the beach. They had luggage carts available, a refrigerator in the room and lots of new towels. In the morning my husband went down to work out in the newly redone exercise room. We enjoyed walking around the quaint town. Steve was there when we checked out and thanked us for coming and hoped we come back. When we go back to Cape May we would definitely stay at The Montreal Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farrylc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights here, in an efficiency suite on the 2nd floor with a view of the ocean. The view was fantastic - we felt it was more intimate with the ocean than from a higher floor - and the accomodations were terrific: not huge, but adequate-sized rooms that had an unusally large combined amount of drawer, shelf, closet, and surface space, so it was very comfortable in terms of where to put our things. The rooms were very stylish, and there is a table in the living room to eat or work at. Continental breakfast was included, and everybody on the staff was very friendly. It's not in the heart of town, which we liked because it was quieter, and we still were able to walk into the downtown area. We could easily ride our bikes both on the promenade and the streets in the neighborhood, and the hotel has a bike rack. If you want to be really connected to the beach, this is the perfect place. I would definitely stay here again, off season, when the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I recently stayed at the Montreal Inn for 4 nights on a birding trip. They graciously accommodated our large group and met all our needs. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, fantastic ocean view from our balcony, and housekeeping services were wonderful. We did not have one of the newly renovated rooms, but it was still a good room. Softer pillows would have been better, but I imagine they'll be part of the renovation. Since it was off season, the restaurant/bar was closed so I can't comment on that. If all the rooms would have been renovated, I'm sure I would have rated it as excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed this past weekend for our mini honeymoon. Neither of us had been to Cape May in several years, but both of us had stayed at the Montreal before.

The rooms have been renovated and are beautiful. The views of the ocean are incredible. The rooms are spacious, have a lovely little efficiency area, and a great bathroom.

The added attraction was Harry's restaurant/bar poolside. We had drinks/dinner there on Saturday after a long day of walking around CM.

The only "unimportant" issue I had was with the WIFI connection, but found that certain parts of the room received the signal better than others, and heck, I was on my honeymoon!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I guess a lot of the hotels in Cape May have views of the water like ours; however, the Montreal Inn has wonderful service and VERY clean accomodations. I also liked that it was not right in the center of things. Having a little less noise than some of the other hotels was very nice for relaxing and sleeping. The reason we choose Montreal Inn was we needed a two night stay on a three day weekend. Most of the hotels in Cape May insisted on the three night minimum and the Montreal Inn had a two night minimum (for Columbus Day weekend). That was wonderful and we appreciated it since we were only coming to Cape May for a wedding (although we would love to come again for a longer stay).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avalonavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was warm and wonderful weekend. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, PA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We won a night here from a travel show so we didn't have much to lose by booking. We are frequent visitors to Cape May, but have always stayed in a guest house or B & B, never a motel. The Montreal is situated on the far north end of the area, right across Beach Drive from the beach and ocean, which is good right from the start.
Our check in was delayed due to a mix up in room reservations with another guest. I had asked for a 3rd floor room, but didn't know it was a big weekend in town, so the place was full. Fortunately, we did get a third floor room, albeit somewhat smaller than our original room. We wound up on the L, above the office, looking out the long way across the pool towards Harry's, with a very nice full view of the sea.
Although the room was small, it was obviously recently renovated with very nice furnishings and amenities. Decorations were surprisingly contemporary. The bed was on the firm side but comfortable. The bathroom was large and had a nice compliment of handy amenities. Many places are cutting back on what they provide, so it was appreciated that these things were available. It was also super clean.
The outside areas were well kept, the room front patios dressed with plants and plenty of furniture to hang out. Not much privacy in that anyone can walk past or see into your room if the door and curtains are open; just the nature of this kind of place, but it was very pleasant to sit outside and gaze at the sea, except for the screaming soccer boys and their parents.
Everyone was friendly and seemed to care. On the north side of town, but Cape May is very walk/bicycle friendly and it's really not terribly far from anywhere in town. It's actually good because it's much less crowded.
We also had a credit to use at Harry's and $40 got us an appetizer and 3 drinks each with enough left over to buy a couple of beers for some people during Happy Hour, before dinner at Louisa's.
Not sure I would stay here again, only because I'm not fond of motels, but would recommend it otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visualgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough about how nice this place is - and the people too! We came in off the street and they gave us a 20% discount and the best room in the house! Room was newly renovated and was just perfect - and included "green" features like soap/shampoo dispensers instead of lots of little plastic bottles. They are on their way to getting Leed certified! Beautiful ocean view, outside tiki bar, restaurant on premise, pool and a liquor store!! What more could you ask for?!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May
0.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#14 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 42 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#8 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#13 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#16 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#12 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Avenue at Madison Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing