We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birding Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montreal Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Montreal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
1025 Beach Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“Birding Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I recently stayed at the Montreal Inn for 4 nights on a birding trip. They graciously accommodated our large group and met all our needs. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, fantastic ocean view from our balcony, and housekeeping services were wonderful. We did not have one of the newly renovated rooms, but it was still a good room. Softer pillows would have been better, but I imagine they'll be part of the renovation. Since it was off season, the restaurant/bar was closed so I can't comment on that. If all the rooms would have been renovated, I'm sure I would have rated it as excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    136
    29
    18
    11
See reviews for
143
156
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed this past weekend for our mini honeymoon. Neither of us had been to Cape May in several years, but both of us had stayed at the Montreal before.

The rooms have been renovated and are beautiful. The views of the ocean are incredible. The rooms are spacious, have a lovely little efficiency area, and a great bathroom.

The added attraction was Harry's restaurant/bar poolside. We had drinks/dinner there on Saturday after a long day of walking around CM.

The only "unimportant" issue I had was with the WIFI connection, but found that certain parts of the room received the signal better than others, and heck, I was on my honeymoon!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I guess a lot of the hotels in Cape May have views of the water like ours; however, the Montreal Inn has wonderful service and VERY clean accomodations. I also liked that it was not right in the center of things. Having a little less noise than some of the other hotels was very nice for relaxing and sleeping. The reason we choose Montreal Inn was we needed a two night stay on a three day weekend. Most of the hotels in Cape May insisted on the three night minimum and the Montreal Inn had a two night minimum (for Columbus Day weekend). That was wonderful and we appreciated it since we were only coming to Cape May for a wedding (although we would love to come again for a longer stay).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was warm and wonderful weekend. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, PA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We won a night here from a travel show so we didn't have much to lose by booking. We are frequent visitors to Cape May, but have always stayed in a guest house or B & B, never a motel. The Montreal is situated on the far north end of the area, right across Beach Drive from the beach and ocean, which is good right from the start.
Our check in was delayed due to a mix up in room reservations with another guest. I had asked for a 3rd floor room, but didn't know it was a big weekend in town, so the place was full. Fortunately, we did get a third floor room, albeit somewhat smaller than our original room. We wound up on the L, above the office, looking out the long way across the pool towards Harry's, with a very nice full view of the sea.
Although the room was small, it was obviously recently renovated with very nice furnishings and amenities. Decorations were surprisingly contemporary. The bed was on the firm side but comfortable. The bathroom was large and had a nice compliment of handy amenities. Many places are cutting back on what they provide, so it was appreciated that these things were available. It was also super clean.
The outside areas were well kept, the room front patios dressed with plants and plenty of furniture to hang out. Not much privacy in that anyone can walk past or see into your room if the door and curtains are open; just the nature of this kind of place, but it was very pleasant to sit outside and gaze at the sea, except for the screaming soccer boys and their parents.
Everyone was friendly and seemed to care. On the north side of town, but Cape May is very walk/bicycle friendly and it's really not terribly far from anywhere in town. It's actually good because it's much less crowded.
We also had a credit to use at Harry's and $40 got us an appetizer and 3 drinks each with enough left over to buy a couple of beers for some people during Happy Hour, before dinner at Louisa's.
Not sure I would stay here again, only because I'm not fond of motels, but would recommend it otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough about how nice this place is - and the people too! We came in off the street and they gave us a 20% discount and the best room in the house! Room was newly renovated and was just perfect - and included "green" features like soap/shampoo dispensers instead of lots of little plastic bottles. They are on their way to getting Leed certified! Beautiful ocean view, outside tiki bar, restaurant on premise, pool and a liquor store!! What more could you ask for?!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Nottinghamshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at the end of last month in this really good motel-style hotel. Our room overlooked the sea and was better than adequate. With helpful and friendly staff, this was good value in an expensive resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, both Pro & Con. It is through our guests' reviews that we improve... and believe me... we listen and take action.

We are pleased to respond that, by the start of next season (April 2013), all of the rooms and many of the common areas will have been renovated. Not just a sprucing-up cosmetically, but a total makeover, and, when you come again, we are confident you will love the new look.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at The Montreal Inn. Now in our 3rd generation of management by the same family and serving our 4th generation of guests, we truly love what we do and are honored that our guests return, time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I booked a room here last minute a few weeks ago. Cape May was having such beautiful weather, I didn't want to leave just yet. Negatives- the room I was in was very outdated. But I understand they are renovating from the lower floors up. The pool was advertised as heated, but was freezing. Positives- The staff was very friendly. The view was absolutely amazing. The restaurant and attached liquor store were a definite plus. Right on the main strip in Cape May facing the beach. Overall it was great very good and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with an ocean view, and one that has gone through the renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for staying at the Montreal. You are correct, we will be finishing our last phase in renovations of our rooms. By 2013, all our rooms will be complete. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced our pool being cold. It is heated, but during the cooler periods, it gets around 50 at night and it does cool the water. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#3 Family Hotel in Cape May
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Inn their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Inn is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montreal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.