We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montreal Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Montreal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
1025 Beach Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Glenside, PA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Had a lovely time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We won a night here from a travel show so we didn't have much to lose by booking. We are frequent visitors to Cape May, but have always stayed in a guest house or B & B, never a motel. The Montreal is situated on the far north end of the area, right across Beach Drive from the beach and ocean, which is good right from the start.
Our check in was delayed due to a mix up in room reservations with another guest. I had asked for a 3rd floor room, but didn't know it was a big weekend in town, so the place was full. Fortunately, we did get a third floor room, albeit somewhat smaller than our original room. We wound up on the L, above the office, looking out the long way across the pool towards Harry's, with a very nice full view of the sea.
Although the room was small, it was obviously recently renovated with very nice furnishings and amenities. Decorations were surprisingly contemporary. The bed was on the firm side but comfortable. The bathroom was large and had a nice compliment of handy amenities. Many places are cutting back on what they provide, so it was appreciated that these things were available. It was also super clean.
The outside areas were well kept, the room front patios dressed with plants and plenty of furniture to hang out. Not much privacy in that anyone can walk past or see into your room if the door and curtains are open; just the nature of this kind of place, but it was very pleasant to sit outside and gaze at the sea, except for the screaming soccer boys and their parents.
Everyone was friendly and seemed to care. On the north side of town, but Cape May is very walk/bicycle friendly and it's really not terribly far from anywhere in town. It's actually good because it's much less crowded.
We also had a credit to use at Harry's and $40 got us an appetizer and 3 drinks each with enough left over to buy a couple of beers for some people during Happy Hour, before dinner at Louisa's.
Not sure I would stay here again, only because I'm not fond of motels, but would recommend it otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    137
    29
    18
    11
See reviews for
145
158
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough about how nice this place is - and the people too! We came in off the street and they gave us a 20% discount and the best room in the house! Room was newly renovated and was just perfect - and included "green" features like soap/shampoo dispensers instead of lots of little plastic bottles. They are on their way to getting Leed certified! Beautiful ocean view, outside tiki bar, restaurant on premise, pool and a liquor store!! What more could you ask for?!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Nottinghamshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at the end of last month in this really good motel-style hotel. Our room overlooked the sea and was better than adequate. With helpful and friendly staff, this was good value in an expensive resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, both Pro & Con. It is through our guests' reviews that we improve... and believe me... we listen and take action.

We are pleased to respond that, by the start of next season (April 2013), all of the rooms and many of the common areas will have been renovated. Not just a sprucing-up cosmetically, but a total makeover, and, when you come again, we are confident you will love the new look.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at The Montreal Inn. Now in our 3rd generation of management by the same family and serving our 4th generation of guests, we truly love what we do and are honored that our guests return, time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I booked a room here last minute a few weeks ago. Cape May was having such beautiful weather, I didn't want to leave just yet. Negatives- the room I was in was very outdated. But I understand they are renovating from the lower floors up. The pool was advertised as heated, but was freezing. Positives- The staff was very friendly. The view was absolutely amazing. The restaurant and attached liquor store were a definite plus. Right on the main strip in Cape May facing the beach. Overall it was great very good and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with an ocean view, and one that has gone through the renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for staying at the Montreal. You are correct, we will be finishing our last phase in renovations of our rooms. By 2013, all our rooms will be complete. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced our pool being cold. It is heated, but during the cooler periods, it gets around 50 at night and it does cool the water. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our 5th vacation to Cape May, NJ. Once we stayed at the Montreal Inn 4 years ago we were hooked. The room we had on the 4th floor has been renovated since we stayed last. The entire property is super clean and is located in an ideal location to town with the beach directly across the street. Wish we were back already.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your loyal support. It's your comments that makes our efforts so worthwhile. Look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our very first vacation to Cape May, NJ. We really enjoyed the Montreal Inn. The location was beautiful, very nice rooms and pleasant staff. Diane was very friendly and helpful. In fact, we were scheduled to stay three nights and after we got there, Diane helped us change our reservation for four nights. We had to switch rooms on our last night and all we had to do was pack and a woman at the hotel moved all of our things, even the items we had in our refrigerator, to our new room. We had wonderful weather and got to enjoy the pool, even during the last week of September. We had a room on the third floor. Everyone said to stay on the fourth floor for the views. However, since the fourth floor was not available, the views from the third floor were just as good. We did not hear any outside noise and the room, with a living area and seperate bedroom, was specious enough for two people. I do not believe it would be very comfortable for any more than two adults and one or two small children. We did not eat at their restaurant Harry's, except for getting coffee, which was good, so I cannot comment on that. They also have a common room with a microwave where we were able to heat up leftovers for our lunch. We would definitely stay here again in the future in the month of September.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third or fourth floor. We did not hear any outside noise and the room, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howell, NJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great hotel w bar, restaurant and liquor store. Stayed here 2 nights w my wife for our 5 yr anniversary. Very nice updated room w shared balcony. Great location, short ride to town and across from beach. Food in restaurant was good and staff was very nice. Comfy bed and very clean room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#3 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Inn their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Inn is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montreal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.