We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montreal Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Montreal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
1025 Beach Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Hudson, New York
1 review
“Fantastic Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our 5th vacation to Cape May, NJ. Once we stayed at the Montreal Inn 4 years ago we were hooked. The room we had on the 4th floor has been renovated since we stayed last. The entire property is super clean and is located in an ideal location to town with the beach directly across the street. Wish we were back already.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your loyal support. It's your comments that makes our efforts so worthwhile. Look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    138
    29
    18
    11
See reviews for
148
158
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branchville, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our very first vacation to Cape May, NJ. We really enjoyed the Montreal Inn. The location was beautiful, very nice rooms and pleasant staff. Diane was very friendly and helpful. In fact, we were scheduled to stay three nights and after we got there, Diane helped us change our reservation for four nights. We had to switch rooms on our last night and all we had to do was pack and a woman at the hotel moved all of our things, even the items we had in our refrigerator, to our new room. We had wonderful weather and got to enjoy the pool, even during the last week of September. We had a room on the third floor. Everyone said to stay on the fourth floor for the views. However, since the fourth floor was not available, the views from the third floor were just as good. We did not hear any outside noise and the room, with a living area and seperate bedroom, was specious enough for two people. I do not believe it would be very comfortable for any more than two adults and one or two small children. We did not eat at their restaurant Harry's, except for getting coffee, which was good, so I cannot comment on that. They also have a common room with a microwave where we were able to heat up leftovers for our lunch. We would definitely stay here again in the future in the month of September.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third or fourth floor. We did not hear any outside noise and the room, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howell, NJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great hotel w bar, restaurant and liquor store. Stayed here 2 nights w my wife for our 5 yr anniversary. Very nice updated room w shared balcony. Great location, short ride to town and across from beach. Food in restaurant was good and staff was very nice. Comfy bed and very clean room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanamassa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Really nice place. The rooms were just renovated and they have everything you need to make your vacation relaxing. Kitchen with full frig, 2 burner stove, microwave, utensils, pots and pans, and coffee maker. In the bathroom you have all your soap, shampoo, conditoner, lotion and hair dryer. Nice outdoor pool. All the rooms are ocean front with balconies.
One suggestion, if possible don't get first floor cause you have other guests walking right by your living room sliding doors on their way to the pool or restaurant. Speaking of the restaurant, Harry's, the food was delicious and the server very friendly, helpful and fast. The selection on the menu was unbelievable, with the items different than most places I've been and I had a hard time choosing what to get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast PA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I am planning another weekend in Cape May and just made reservations to stay at the Montreal again. This reminded me that I never posted a review after my stay in the spring. My girlfriend and I met there for a long weekend. We found the accommodations at the Montreal to be very much to our liking. The beds were comfortable and the newly renovated room was tastefully done. Having a restaurant and bar on the property is convenient. During our stay the restaurant was closed for a day so the motel provided continental breakfast. The staff is friendly and helpful. This trip we are taking our husbands!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to hear your plans to return with your husbands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We just got back from a few days at the Montreal Inn in Cape May. Our room on the fourth floor was recently renovated and just lovely. The view was spectacular, the staff very congenial, and I would highly recommend it..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my first time staying in Cape May and the Montreal Inn. Was a little worried at first because of the shabbiness of the outside exterior, but our room was on the 4th floor and had been updated and was quite nice. Can't speak to the other rooms that haven't been updated. But outside areas of the hotel are kept clean. The hotel is located right across the street from the beach and is a several block walk from the downtown shopping area. It was convenient to have the restaurant downstairs for breakfast and other meals if you so choose. Service was good overall and staff was friendly. We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room away from the sun deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#3 Family Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Inn their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Inn is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montreal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.