We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Heritage Inn
721 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Newton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Weekend Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is very clean, attractive, & conveniently located with great views of the ocean and promenade. I prefer to be on a higher floor & requested the top (3rd) floor. I had an end room which was very attractive & had windows on two sides. Parking was also very convenient. The only drawback is the lack of an elevator. Overall, I was very happy with the accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    83
    24
    21
    32
See reviews for
90
133
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Great location! We were able to walk to all the hot spots that we wanted to see in cape may. The owner is great ,friendly and accommodating .The room was clean and we had a great view on the ocean from our window. There was a microwave refrig and a coffee pot in our room. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a room on the third floor with an ocean view. It was great! We could see the ocean from the table in our room, or we could sit outside our room in chairs and see the ocean and boardwalk. We were in walking distance of so many things with the beach right across the street.There are not any elevators so we had to carry our luggage up the stairs; but the fact that we couldn't hear a thing while in our room made it worth the trip up the stairs. We could not hear any children, people talking, TVs, or toilets flushing. The room and our sleep was very peaceful. The rooms were very clean and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Mark, one of the innkeepers steered us in the direction for a pizza the first night we were there; the pizza was huge and delicious. We shared it with Mark and he stored the rest of it in their refrigerator. Another thing we noted is that there were plenty of police officers in the vicinity patrolling the area. It was a great vacation! We plan on staying there again! Beth & Steve

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My partner and I had the occasion to visit Cape May for the wedding of our friends. We choose the Heritage Inn because of the great location and reasonable high season beach price. We arrived early (about noon) and were greeted by a friendly Inn operator. Check-in was efficient, and parking abundant. The first thing we noticed was the great locale - walking distance to much of what Cape May has to offer. The room was meticulously clean. Being clean freaks, we appreciated that. And actually, the room was over deodorized - it had a very strong cleaning chemical odor. However we opened the window and that quickly dissipated. The room was very basic - older furnishings, a clean bathroom and we particularly enjoyed the extra sink and room frig.

The inn has a nice pool, and a wonderful roof-top sun deck. The sights there were great and there were brand new chaises, which were very comfortable. Parking was abundant.

I have only two complaints - the mattresses and bedding were not comfortable. The mattress was a bit hard and worn, and the pillows were covered in plastic which was just not comfortable. The walls are a bit thin in this hotel and we could hear normal conversations of our neighbors and a screaming child woke us in the middle of the night.

However, overall, this is a good hotel and I think we'd definitely stay here again. The locale, parking, and the roof top deck made this a good value.

Room Tip: I'd recommend not paying extra for ocean view rooms. The Inn is located across the street from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the inn for one night during the long Memorial weekend as we only planned to be at Cape May for a day trip. But we decided to stay for the night so we can enjoy the beach and see the lighthouse. I am so glad we did because the rate was great and the room was pleasant.

We stayed at the Breezeway room with a king size bed. The room was clean, fairly bright (oceanview rooms weren't available) and a comfortable bed.

There are several restaurants nearby and it is walking distance to the mall/restaurant area. The beach is literally across the street so it is super convenient for beach-lovers like myself. Also, there are shops along the beach promenade to check out.

We really enjoyed my stay at inn and we would definitely come back here when we are in Cape May again. It was quiet and relaxing at night and we slept like babies.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

For the location and price, this is a great place! It's clean and pleasant. Also of note is the hospitality of the innkeepers, particularly Mark. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome and to make sure we were happy - so much so, we extended our trip a day. Our views of Cape May (charming as it is) were greatly enhanced by this experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We experienced car trouble on our way to Cape May for a two night stay at the Inn. We were very distraught. When we arrived, we were greeted by the owner's son Mark. He was so cheerful, friendly, and sympathetic to our issue. He immediately began to show me all the great places to see and where to dine, etc. This Inn has been kept up for 45 years and is family owned and operated. The entire Inn is in fabulous shape. The rooms are very clean and nice. We were directly across from the beach, and within walking distance of all historic Cape May sights. I will definitely stay here again, only longer. Wonderful Inn.

Room Tip: 3rd floor deluxe rooms have an ocean view. All rooms were good however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 721 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.