We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Heritage Inn
721 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“False advertising”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The claim made by Heritage Inn of having an ocean view is dishonest. The Cape May Convention Center, right across the street, makes almost any ocean view from the Heritage impossible. Additionally, the room we stayed in had an outdoor stairway in front of the window that obstructed almost any view at all. The room itself was depressing, with little natural light. We stayed there on September 16. Though we paid for 3 nights, we checked out after 1. Because my wife was sick most of the night, we were given a 2 night credit to use before the end of the year. They have a no refund policy! The beds were very uncomfortable; the mattress sounded like it was stuffed with straw! Certainly their location was close to many things, but if you truly want an ocean view, you should consider a block or two north (or south) of the Heritage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
False advertising? I think not. It is crystal clear that your issue is not with the hotel but with the fact that I issued a credit to you for a return stay due to your wife's bout with food poisoning as you stated. I thought it was generous of us to issue a credit for "food poisoning" when we do have a no refund policy. I issued a credit because I believed your story and felt badly for your wife. Additionally, I am baffled at your dislike of our location and the views as it is contrary to the other few hundred reviews that love our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    83
    24
    21
    32
See reviews for
90
133
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed Sept. 14th - 17th. This was our THIRD stay this year at The Heritage Inn, and as usual we were very pleased and had a wonderful time! There's no place else we'd rather stay in Cape May. We love parking our car and walking across the street to the beach, into town for all the great shopping (while enjoying the lovely Victorian homes along the way) and to all the great restaurants. We especially enjoy Zoe's next door for breakfast and they offer a 10% discount if you show them your room key from the Heritage. Coffee pot AND coffee in room is greatly appreciated! So is the fridge and hair dryer. After dinner we enjoy walking up to the fourth floor deck to enjoy the view of the ocean and sunsets. We are not pool people but the sparkling clean pool always looks inviting. I now have Gwen (Manager) programmed into my cell phone so we can call last minute and try to get a room because after 3 years staying at The Heritage, it feels like we're "going home" for a visit! Don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Perfect location. Right across the street from the beach. Walking distance to the historic area, shops and dinning. Bike rental around the corner. The owner was great. Great parking right at the motel. The motel is clean, and the rooms are large. This motel could use an update of the TV's, and furniture. I have not seen a tube TV in a hotel in 10 years. Bring your own soap, shampoo, etc. The air conditioner is loud, but overall, I would recommend the Heritage Inn for the excellent location, and friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury NJ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Pros: Location can't be beat, right across from Convention Hall and Beach and a few blocks to The Washington Street Mal. The owner was nice and she let us park the car in the lot.The room was definitely clean and had a good amount of space for a motel room.
Cons. The beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows flattened like a pancake when in use. The room and bathroom were dated, but as I said CLEAN. The tube TV has to go. The place has tremendous potential and I would rather pay more to stay there with an updated room. The other guests I talked with have been going there for years and enjoyed the stay. A small Clean pool was there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We very much enjoyed our Labor Day weekend stay at the Heritage Inn. The owners are very friendly and eager to help with anything. The hotel is right on Beach Ave, literally right across the street from the beach, but is also within a few short blocks of the historic area and central business district of Cape May. There are some nice restaurants right near by for all meals and for all levels of dress. They have a great 4th floor sundeck that looks out both on the ocean and on the town of Cape May.

I knocked a star down for some small things - no shampoo in the room, loud air conditioner, but overall, those are minor and I would definitely recommend the Heritage Inn for families who want to visit Cape May and take in all that it has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT LAUDERDALE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

great spot opposite Convention hall. Great price for 2 nights. Close to everything. Very nice owners and there son was very efficient and accommodating. Highly recommend the Inn.
The room was very clean and the location was excellent! Zoe's is right next door and offers delicious meals with the friendliest of service. Two thumbs up for Zoe's!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thanks to Gwen for getting us a room over Labor Day weekend for a last minute vacation! We have never been to Cape May and wanted to get away for the weekend but were unable to find lodging last minute (due to work scheudules). She called me back due to a cancellation and we were able to get a room! The room was very clean and the location was excellent! And the staff was very pleasant and accommodating and directed us to some great restaurants. You have made some new friends and we will be back!

Room Tip: Parking downtown is tight. Leave the car and enjoy the walks!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 721 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.