We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be more accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Heritage Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   721 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Pre-Season Rates
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
NEWARK,DE
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My stay at The Heritage Inn was an excellent one. When requesting a room looking over the ocean slightly more than assigned, Mark was very gracious and kind. The staff friendly, always ready to help and rooms neat and clean. I stay in Cape May frequently, but this was my first stay at this Inn and i will definitely come back. Thanks for making my weekend such a nice one!

Joan Thomas
Newark,De

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    83
    24
    21
    32
See reviews for
90
133
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is beautiful Inn centrally located in walking distance to everything. Our room had everything to make our stay most enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and most helpful to answer questions that show us a time to remember. This is our second time as guests, and we look forward to many more returns.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Inn for Easter weekend. From the moment we arrived the staff were very friendly. Gwynn who runs the Inn was so nice and always helpful. The room is basic, it is not a modern room. The room has no phone, regular TV, not flat screen. We stayed on 3rd fl and had a view of the ocean. This hotel is not about fancy thrills, it is clean, friendly place to stay with a GREAT LOCATION! Our room did have a frig and microwave, which was great as we have a toddler. From the hotel you could walk to washington St. Right across the street is a walkway to the beach, fudge kitchen, arcade and the Cape May Convention Center. Right next door is Zoe's cafe, Rita's Ice and other shops. One block away is Louie's Pizza and Avalon Coffee, they have great bagels.

Some places to eat that I would recommend while staying in Cape May include Uncle Bill's, Lucky Bones Grill, Cappelletti's Pizza; they have these amazing cappy fries.

Overall, I would stay again at the Heritage Inn, we really enjoyed are stay!

Room Tip: The Inn is 3 floors, but they do not have an elevator. Rooms closer to the street have an ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

First time at The Heritage Inn and had a great time. Stayed on the 3rd floor and had a great ocean view, room was clean and looked recently renovated. I would stay there again next time I return to cape may. Only down side was the small tv, but that didn't really bother me because most of the time we were out adventuring town. Staff was very friendly. Hotel was also in a great location just a few blocks from the promenade and right across the street from the beach, and a very good breakfast place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Old furniture, room smelled terrible. No phones in rooms when we went. Asked for chairs to be put down near the pool and was told no. The place was basically run down and the woman at the front desk was very unpleasant. Do yourself a favor and find a better motel in town. Most of them are and we have stayed at many.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I do apologize if your stay was unpleasant if in fact you did stay at the Heritage Inn. Your review states that you stayed here June of 2012 and that the pool chairs were not around the pool. For the last 40 years our pool has been opened every year for the Memorial Day weekend in May, so there is no question that all of the pool chairs are in place for the summer season i.e. June, July etc.... You state that you asked me for pool chairs in which case I can't ever think of anyone having to ask me for pool chairs as the pool is lined with chairs. You also described me as being "very unpleasant" which has never been an adjective used to describe me, other adjectives I am sure (lol)....but never unpleasant!!!!!
So I am confused to the validity of this review. I am also confused as to why you would wait almost a full year before writing the review. It all seems questionable to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent four days at The Heritage. No complaints! Perfect locale! Right across the street from the beach. Outdoor shopping mall a few short blocks away. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Room was spotless. Quiet and peaceful. Loved the rooftop deck and the stunning sunsets. Very friendly desk clerk. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Heritage Inn several times and are always pleased and comfortable. Gwen, Barbara and the rest of the family are friendly and courteous. The location is perfect...right across from the beach with wonderful ocean and sunrise views and a short pleasant walk into town. We prefer to stay a bit off-season in October and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 721 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.