We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn

Save Saved
You added Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heritage Inn
721 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 hotels in Cape May
1 review
“Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent four days at The Heritage. No complaints! Perfect locale! Right across the street from the beach. Outdoor shopping mall a few short blocks away. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Room was spotless. Quiet and peaceful. Loved the rooftop deck and the stunning sunsets. Very friendly desk clerk. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    72
    21
    20
    31
See reviews for
84
120
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Heritage Inn several times and are always pleased and comfortable. Gwen, Barbara and the rest of the family are friendly and courteous. The location is perfect...right across from the beach with wonderful ocean and sunrise views and a short pleasant walk into town. We prefer to stay a bit off-season in October and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Growing up, my dad and I stayed at the Heritage Inn every summer from when I was 2 to 16. Now I am 27 and returned to Cape May with my dad, step mom and younger step-brother and we HAD to stay at the Heritage Inn. Gwen remembered us 11 years later! She was wonderful and accomodating and we had an incredible time. She had great recommendations about where to eat and new things that we should explore. Plus, the Heritage Inn is right across from the best breakfast place in all of Cape May and is directly across from the ocean and arcades which makes it the perfect place for all ages. Thank you Gwen and your staff for a great vacation and I hope that you all weather this storm with minimal damage!

Room Tip: As with any ocean lodging beach side is always nice, but with their new roof top patio you can enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We've been spending vacations at the Heritage Inn for many years. It is a beautifully renovated hotel right aross the street from the ocean - great views! The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the best restaurants in Cape May and all the wonderful places to see in town. The hotel is a family-owned business with friendly, outstanding service. Guests are welcomed as family there. We stay in the third floor king deluxe rooms, where the view of the ocean, the town, and the sunset is amazing. Its a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It seems from other reviews that if you stayed in a room on the upper floors you might have a decent stay. However, we had the misfortune of staying in a room on the lower floor (Rm. 9) that turned out to be a disaster. The entire room reeked of mold and irritated out eyes. The rug smelled awful, we found mold in the bathroom and then (the most disgusting discovery of all) we found the coffee pot with about two cups worth of coffee in it from a previous guest with a layer of mold that looked to be at least a week old.
Initially, we tried to stay to remain open minded about the whole thing and believe the best of the owners in that perhaps they didn't know the room had a problem, but the coffee pot made that difficult to believe.
They did give us back our money for the second night we would have stayed. We would have left it to a bad experience, but when we read from a previous guest (see the August 16th review) that they also had stayed in Rm. 9 and described the same problem with the room. Since nothing apparently was done to rid the room of the mold problem, by the time we stayed in this room it was undoubtedly much worse than in August. We felt it inexcusable that they still rented this room and did not solve the problem which now expanded to the room not being cleaned throughly. They knew there was a problem with this room and they should have stayed on top of the mold problem its or just not rented it out anymore.
P.S. When we told the owners, they were attentive, but it was bit insulting to tell us that maybe a guest brought fish into the room and that was the cause of the smell. The presence of mold spoke to the cause of the stench.

Room Tip: Should you decide to take a chance and stay at this motel, get a room on an upper floor and check th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Where to start, Parking... around the corner in a poorly lit lot so you can worry about your car all night. Rooms, the first thing you notice is the funky odor but when you sit on the bed is the real treat. You notice that the bed and the pillows are wrapped in plastic covers. Presumably to keep the bedbugs at bay. Then there is the bathroom, the hair on the lip of the bowl was a nice touch that complimented to the mold and the tub that would not drain but the highlight of the bathroom was the two damp cleanish towels and two dry towels. I would have not minded the 20$ upcharge per night per child for each of my two children if they could have managed to get 4 useable towels and washcloths in the room.

After about 10 minutes we decided we would only spend one night there as opposed to the planned 2 night (We stayed one night because we were exhausted and it was late.) Upon informing the night manager that we would be leaving in the morning I was told to take up the matter of the refund for the second night with the day manager who was unavailable.

The day manager offered a credit for a future visit in lieu of a refund. We declined as we had no intention of spending another night in that place. So we ate the charges for the second night and found accommodations elsewhere.

I would sleep in the car before spending a nickel at that place again.

Room Tip: Pick a different establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
The real complaint here was not about the motel but about the fact that I would not refund you for the second night when you checked out at 3:30 pm after the Graduation Ceremony you attended was over. Our check out time is 10:00 a.m. not the middle of the afternoon. Additionally, we were kind enough to change your reservation dates several times at the last minute notice that you gave without any questions leaving the motel with a last minute vacancy. Fortunately we were able to fill that vacancy on both occasions. I think we were more than accommodating to you. Taking advantage once again by checking out in the middle of the afternoon and demanding a refund for that day is just one more example of your inconsideration. Again, your complaint is not with the motel it's self but with me not refunding your day's rent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle River, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Among the grand and great hotels of Cape May, The Heritage Inn is a gem. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a stay there. The folks there were so nice; advising us on places the "locals" dine etc. A totally terrific hotel!!!

Room Tip: Top floor # 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 721 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.