We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is our Home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Congress Hall to your Saves list
Congress Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% OFF Room Rates
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“It is our Home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We love Congress Hall! My husband, son and I have been staying here every summer* since my son was 3 and he is now 10! *
We stayed at the Beach Shack the first year it opened and really like that too.And the Star (both owned by the Congress owners)
However Congress Hall is truely our home away from home. We can't wait to come back to it every summer. The staff is always the most professional. The hotel is spotless and the historical charm is why we decided to try it on our first trip to Cape May. Our favorite place to eat is The Blue Pig our second is The Rusty Nail at the Beach Shack.
And the beach service is the best thing ever! I have over 4,000 photos from our visits to CM and half of them are of Congress Halls flower gardens. The owner and staff never disapoint!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    243
    98
    34
    33
See reviews for
191
346
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wayne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

just returned from a long weekend at the hotel

the hotel really looks nice and is in a great location-would like to return to the area in the summer season but not sure I would stay here again-see below for the good and the bad

booked a one bedroom ocean view room on the 4th floor-view was great and room was nicely furnished and bedding was nice as well-now for the bad-windows must be super old as all nigh the wind howled through them-also when the heat turns on and off it is super loud and runs loud as well-they need to winterize the windows or replace them-since the floors are not even(old hotel) there is a 2-4" open space by the door so all of the hallway noise is right in your room with you-the secondary door is just for decoration as it keeps no noise out-they need to put some rubber etc... on the bottom to eliminate some of the noise or replace the doors-if you are at all sensitive about noise don't stay here as you will be miserable for sure -it is too bad because it ruins the charm of the property-I felt like I was back in college with all of the noises that could be heard. The fitness center is a joke as well so don't plan on working out here during your stay either.

as for as things I enjoyed during my stay-drinks at the brown room-very comfortable and relaxing there-ate at the blue pig a few times-meals were good and so was the service-also went to the Ebbitt room at the Virigina for dinner-very good but on the expensive side-about $200 per couple but it was worth it

I got a good rate since it is the offseason but if I paid a full summer season rate I would have been extremely upset because of the noise situation -as it was we thought about leaving even though the rate was a good one

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

What a great hotel, location, atmosphere, staff everything was great. The club, though my wife and I did not go in, looked like a lot of fun too. We were here in February and the weather was cold so we didn't do anything outside, but the lawn and pool area look like they would be great in warmer months. They have chairs sitting on the lawn where you can enjoy a great view of the ocean too. My wife and I walked down the road a little to a great little Diner like restaurant called George's, the food was excellent and the staff was great as well, but they only take cash to keep that in mind.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neshanic station
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Loved everything about Congress Hall- the location was excellent, great room, great restaurants, wonderful staff! Our first visit to Cape May couldn't be more perfect-we are hoping to be back during the Christmas seaon

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We have been spending NY Eve at Cape May for 8 years the last 3 at CH. I just booked again for this year. We love Congress Hall the place is so warm and charming we always get an Ocean View. The location to everything is perfect. The staff has always been excellant. One New Year Eve my Son -in-law forgot his suit and relized it 1/2 hour before the Glitter Ball. The hotel got him a Tux (and it fit perfectly) and he made it on time for the ball. It is expensive, but a really nice treat.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
What a great story! Our goal is to provide our guests with the best possible service and accomodate their needs in any way we can. I am so glad to hear that we were able to make this happen for you last year. The Glitter Ball is one of the highlights of our year or a great way to start a new year! We look forward to seeing you this year at the Glitter Ball!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We headed to Cape May for our honeymoon. We happen to walk by Congress Hall and loved the building went in and grabbed lunch. Went back that night to have a few drinks at the bar - fell in love with the bartender Steve - if you go tell him Lisa & David say hi... We spent 4 nights with him and switched from a bed and breakfast to Congress hall and spent the rest of our honeymoon hardly leaving the hotel they have so much going on - rooms are great view is wonderful the staff is so nice. The bed we want to take home as well as the robes they have in the rooms. They are a block away from Washingston Street Mall and right across from the beach perfect location. We even enjoyed a day at the spa with massages. The bands Friday and Saturday night were great. We are coming back in December with the kids.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Congratulations on your wedding, we are glad you shared your honeymoon with us! I hope we have the honor of welcoming you back for your 1st Anniversary! Thank you for all your kind comments, we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Congress Hall is a lovely, large, hotel in Cape May. The guest rooms are somewhat small compared to the more modern hotels of today, but I think that was to be expected from 1816 when the hotel was built. It is very well maintained and extremely clean. The staff was very accomodating, and pleasant. The loation was excellent. We could walk to many nice restaurants, and shopping areas. The beautiful Adirondak chairs which overlooked the ocean were inviting, but unfortunately, the only day we had to sit, it rained. We enjoyed the coffee shop, and the rocking chairs on the porch.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
It is great to read your review. We work very hard to keep the historical side and still maintain the needs of our current guests. Thank you so much for you kind words. I hope on your next visit to Congress Hall we have beautiful sunshine so you can enjoy the adirondacks, it's the best seat in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.