We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Congress Hall to your Saves list
Congress Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% OFF Room Rates
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Haddon Heights
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Classic charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our first visit to Congress Hall. We were attending a wedding there and stayed for the night. This hotel is all about Victorian charm. We'll maintained, quaint rooms, comfortable beds, bars and restaurants that felt like a manor house. Even the slight tilt to the floor in our room was unique! Highly recommended for a weekend get away. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    230
    93
    31
    32
See reviews for
176
323
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I just returned home from a 2 day get-away to Congress Hall in Cape May, NJ and we are slowly coming back down to earth! We could not have asked for a better escape - the service was exceptional and the hotel is charming. So many personal touches -- elves that came into our room while we stepped out to tidy up, fluff our pillows; and staff waiting for us on the beach ready to set up our chairs, towels and umbrella. Everyone seemed to geniuinely care about us having a good time. The atmosphere of CH is like going back in time - from the large brass room keys, winding staircases with wonderful views at each landing, shuttered doors, and yes crooked floors (after all, this is a very, very old hotel). The decor is beautiful and our room was spotless. It was wonderful to wake up, grab a coffee and sit outside in a comfortable rocker to enjoy the view of the beach. We ate at the Blue Pig Tavern, drank in the Brown Room, and relaxed in the Boiler Room. The food was delicious and both the Brown and Boiler Rooms were comfortable and relaxing. My one and only complaint would be the cocktails - I drank about 7 glasses of my favorite cocktail and didn't feel the slightest buzz, which I attribute to lots of ice and very little alcohol. I totally avoided a hangover but feel like I spent too much money on what tasted like non-alcoholic drinks. Next time, I will just order a beer and save myself some money. Overall, I LOVED everything about CH, and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night to celebrate my best friend's birthday - hotel and valet services were friendly and professional. Rooms were inviting and tastefully decorated with respect paid to the vintage of the property. Pool area was lovely, adirondack chairs on the lawn overlooking the ocean were plentiful, and BEACH amenities were a nice touch. We have stayed here in the past, off-season, and though I've not stayed in other Cape May properties, my wonderful experiences at Congress Hall have made me a loyal guest when I'm in town. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Atlantic
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Congress Hall is a beautiful historic property ideally situated right across from the beach and next to the downtown pedestrian shopping/dining district. Much of Cape May is within walking or biking distance.

I expected an formal property but was happily surprised with the fresh decor and posh amenities in our room. The bed and linens, light beachy decor in the room were definitely on par with new upscale properties. The public spaces were updated and comfortable yet faithful to the architecture and quirks of a bygone era. The hotel appears much larger from the street and it was charming to find the interiors welcoming and more intimate than anticipated.

What I definitely didn't expect was the array of daily activities. There are movies on the lawn, games, events--all kinds of family pleasers rough out the day. In this way, Congress Hall reminded me of The Homestead or even a cruise in which you can choose whether or not to join in the festivities based on your interests or stamina. My kids loved it!

It is an expensive place to stay but given all the extras (bike rentals on-site, perfect location, spa, bakery shop with pain chocolat, pool, games etc) it is worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Staff is very rude and the WiFi was very slow and horrible. The rooms are nice but had many stains in the beds. just 2 beds and no pull out furniture. 1 bed for two 18 year olds and a 13 year old does not work! The thing we did enjoy was the view of the beach, but does not make up for when somebody goes to the bathroom next door, you can hear the toilet and showers etc. ew!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stay at Congress Hall a couple of times per year and the staff and atmosphere are excellent. John Daily (GM) continues to impress us very much with the way he manages the hotel. Everyone we dealt with was pleasant and knowledgeable. The Brown Room (bar) is a must visit, especially in the off season to enjoy a cocktail on the couch next to the wood fireplace.

Looking forward to a return trip in Feb.

Room Tip: Ocean views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just got married, and held our reception in Congress Hall. The ballroom was beautiful, food was delicious, and the attention to detail was impeccable. Our room was gorgeous simplicity, and the bed was super comfortable. We LOVE Congress Hall and will go back everytime we are in Cape May!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.