We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“found a new way to vacation at cape may....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hall

Save Saved
You added Congress Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Congress Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Branchburg, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“found a new way to vacation at cape may....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we have been going to Cape May for the past 20 years, renting a house mostly. Now that we can leave the 3 kids behind we tried Congress Hall. May I say thank you to management at Congress Hall! Bar was wonderful, Blue Pig outstanding, room service top notch and thank you to the beach guy....putting up my umbrella, setting up my lounge, giving me towels!!!! Thank you for the heated pool too and great location! Boiler room DJ...thank you for all the fun Sunday night! and the wedding on the beach that we watched from the window seat of our room....now I now where my daughters will say I do! Rooms are immaculate, ours was a bit small, but fine for two.

Only draw back....our room 406, was a bit unleval. Made me bit dizzy at times, but then again I am over 50 and everything seems to a bit off lately.

Can't wait to go back and take the entire family......loved our stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    212
    81
    27
    32
See reviews for
163
298
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Vintage hotels are usually a disappointment to me. A 200 year old building is going to have some wear. The question is, what wear is OK and what isn't. It may come down to taste, but I think Congress Hall got it right. Examples: bed, windows, shades, lockable safe, sink, bathroom tile...these are all the things that are in excellent shape. A creaky floor, slightly uneven steps, a pull chain light in the walk-in closet, circa 1980 phone. These are the things they haven't invested in. I think these are the right decisions. I got the advantages of a nice vintage hotel without paying the $100 premium to upgrade those things that I don't value. The lounge is great. The location is PERFECT - close to the walking mall and the beach. The homemade pizza was fantastic. The live music in the boiler room was great for dancing until 2 am. The staff was genuinely nice and efficient. The stay was a gift, so I can't speak to pricing...but I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at Congress Hall during April. It was a cold day. The fireplaces in the lobbies and restaurant were working. It was very cozy. Our room, blue and white with a large bathroom, felt like we were in a Victorian novel. It was charming. We enjoyed our meals in the Blue Pig Tavern, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Congress Hall is one of the large old establishements going back to the 1800's. Perfect location on Beach Ave. Large lawn with great views of the beach. The Hotel is old, and it shows. Not to say it is falling apart or dirty, but it could use some sprucing up. If your into creaky stairs, etc. you will love it here. Service was very good. Our room was large and bright. I liked what appeared to be mis matched furniture (old) . It was very comfortable. Next trip to Cape May will more than likely see us back here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I had one overnight while birding in Cape May. We loved the old Victorian flavor without being in a small B&B, which we dislike. All common spaces were open, plenty of room, Although the hotel was probably only half full. We are Young retirees and Congress Hall was full of similar couples, although there were young families as well. Definitely Not for singles in your 20-30s.

We found the bar to be delightful and very friendly. We chatted with great people and had great oysters! Dinner was just ok in The Blue Pig.

Early season pricing on travel site made it affordable, but a couple of staff members were not yet up to speed. A fire alarm at 4:30 am required all to evacuate while 3 hook and ladders arrived. All the guests chatted nicely outside in nightwear until a small electric fire was extinguished.

We would definitely go back, but only off season. We are not beach people, but there is so much to enjoy in Cape May.

Room Tip: Request main building. NOT over or near dining area or bar. We faced town center, worth lower pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Best location in Cape May! For the price we paid I was dissapointed with the overall value, I expected more and to be wowed. We would absolutely stay at Congress Hall again, but will look for a better deal in the off season. You can walk to all of the great Cape May shops/restaurants and the Boiler Room was a great spot to hang out at night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We thought that Congress Hall would be a first-class establishment...it was not. The Brown Room is old and outdated with tacky appointments and poor service; our room was not that nice, and the smell of onions and garlic wafted through the floor (we were in room 323); very noisy, even though there are signs all over the place that say "quiet." Ants were in the bathroom and the bedroom. The only good things we experienced was dinner at the Blue Pig and the spa.

Room Tip: Our tip to help travelers choose a good room? Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#13 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.