We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Inauspicious Start with a Great Ending” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hall

Save Saved
You added Congress Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Congress Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 42 hotels in Cape May
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Inauspicious Start with a Great Ending”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Congress Hall is many things; yes the floors are crooked and the fixtures are quirky. We booked this property expecting these elements. Considering this hotel is over 150 years old, that's part of the charm. We just returned from a two-night stay in an ocean view queen room with daily breakfast vouchers. Check in was smooth, but we were most unhappy with our third floor annex-building room--yes, the ocean was visible, as was the back side of a pancake house, dumpsters, and a parking lot. The room was small, and the bathroom was uneventful. After viewing the selection of room photos offered online, I was extremely, extremely disappointed--no old fashioned tub or graceful window view. I refused to unpack, phoned the front desk and then made an in-person visit. I was told that no other rooms were available, but they did offer a "better room" for us to be switched to for our second night. This is not at all what I wanted, and there was a bit of a standoff (mostly on my part). The manager spoke with us, and he said he could not offer us a different room until the following day, but did offer us a rate adjustment for the night (which was truly not was I was after) --but it seemed the only compromise if the hotel was indeed full. We were promised the room change for the following day by 12 noon.

Next morning, we were told to pack up our belongings and they would be moved to our "better" room. And BETTER it was. Large, sunny room with a king bed, fabulous tile and marble bathroom with soaking tub and separate glass shower, and best of all, a full sea view through a large double window. Exactly what I had anticipated for our getaway. We loved the room and location so much, we hated leaving the Congress. We'll be back, but will be very specific about the accommodations when we book.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms located in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    210
    81
    27
    32
See reviews for
162
297
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westmont, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at Congress Hall... the hotel is right on Beach and has excellent views of the ocean and right at Washington Street Mall. The staff was friendly and helpful! I must say I was impressed with my room. This hotel was built in the 1800's and since I did not see pictures of the rooms on the website I expected mediocre but found the room very nice and clean. W had breakfast at The Blue Pig and although it was very busy the service we had was very good. I would definitely stay here again. .

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view although the city view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here one night and being that this was our first time in Cape May this was a good choice. The location is great, there are bicycle rentals right outside and so is the beach. The beach across the property was wonderful. Our only issues were the room and the price. Our room didn't really have a view and the furniture was just a bit too dated for my taste. Also for what we paid (nearly $400 for the night in the summer) there were no perks, no breakfast or happy hours at the hotel bar (if there was one I didn't see it). Would come back only if we could stay with a discount or breakfast package.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Every year we visit Congress Hall in February / March. I would highly recommend staying. The Blue pig has the most professional staff that makes your dining experience relaxing.

The only thing i recommed is do not prepay. I had an emergency where i had to change the date 7 days in advanced and it appeared i hassled the rep that i spoke to. Although after a bit they did accomedate the change.

No matter what we love visiting Congress Hall and much appreciate the staff that takes excellent care of their occupents.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms with the Balcony is worth the trip and money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Congress Hall in March 2013. We've been to the hotel's Blue Pig bar several times in the past, but this was our first stay overnight. Our impression of the hotel has always been positive, and this stay was no exception. Congress Hall has an authentic feel, somewhat old-fashioned (in a good way). Luxurious, yet its employees make it an extremely welcoming place to stay.

INSIDE: it's an old hotel but it's been kept up nicely. Ocean or Town view, you can't go wrong with any room. Hotel has all the modern amenities. Our room was large, the bed was very comfortable, nice shower. We ordered room service that was delivered with no additional surcharge!

LOCATION: can't be beat! Steps from the beach, and a short walk to everywhere within Cape May, a block from the Washington Street Mall, etc.

Negatives: there is really only one. The fridge was pre-stocked with expensive items so there was no room to keep our own drinks.

Unquestionably one of the best NJ shore hotels, with a lot of character and history. We hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Congress Hall is perfectly situated on the shore of the Atlantic Ocean. The old fashioned hotel has been renovated, but was not overdone. The kept the old dark wood in the first floor bar, and this handy stop opens to a walkout veranda that is lined with rocking chairs for enjoyment while you sip your drink. The expansive lawn that separated you from the ocean is beautifully tended, and the lawn is the canvas for a wonderful garden of hydrangeas and roses. There is croquet available, too!

See? A step back in time! The rooms are charming. The are individually decorated in old fashioned colors. The floors creak and seem a bit uneven as you walk through the halls, but this just rinds you that you are in an old hotel!

The hotel restaurant features a great breakfast for an additional ( but reasonable) charge. Meals are available all day, and there is a choice of indoor or outside dining. Bike rentals are available on site. Try the Congress Hall Inn on your next visit to Victorian Cape May!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived very early and the front desk personnel were very accommodating. The room (407) was very clean but I was surprised to see how small it was and that it had a low ceiling. We had stayed here once before and were on the second floor. A very different experience, Much bigger with high ceilings. Disappointed that there is not complimentary coffee and tea. Something so simple could change the entire experience of a guest. Seems odd they can't figure this out. Nice stay but some of the little things were missing to make it a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors have high ceilings and are nicer than the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#13 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.