We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Congress Hall to your Saves list
Congress Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% OFF Room Rates
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed overnight this past weekend and had a very nice experience. First, the beds, pillows and comforter were the most comfortable I've ever slept on (they sell them in one of the shops). This was very important to me as comfort is paramount. We had a nice view of the grounds and the winter ocean.
We were having dinner with friends and they came to the hotel to pick us up (we were dining elsewhere). The Brown Room is a great place for drinks which we had pre and post-dinner. When we did come back, they had a piano player/singer and he was very good. It was a nice ending to a great evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    225
    91
    31
    32
See reviews for
175
315
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Secaucus, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We celebrated New Year's Eve at Congress Hall. It was a lovely place. I felt the new year's eve celebration was rushed...food came out a little too quickly. We had a great time because the band was great! The walls in our room were paper thin. Our neighbors came in at 3am with friends; while they were not overly boisterous, we could hear everything that was going on in their room. Our stay was just OK.

Room Tip: Oceanfront was really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, NJ
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We decided to celebrate new year's at Congress Hall this year. There was a 2 night minimun stay required - the cost was $ 417 per night, which did inclide a $20 voucher for breakfast for the 2 days and admisiion to their party, the Glitter Ball. I realize the hotel is old and some would call it quaint or charming, but $417 per night??? i did not get the type of room requested, which was oceanfront - I was on the side of the buidling with the huge Christmass tree with the lights on all night glaring into my room. I did ask about changing my room, but was told there was nothing they could do, yet I saw other people having their rooms changed. Cleaning staff congregated outside of the elevator on the 3rd floor while we were trying to get off of it - difficult time because of their carts blocking everything. They have an "evening" turn down service, but we were still in our room when housekeeping came along at 530pm. It was OK, had a good time with a great band at the party.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room 200 - has a balcony and a really nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel and room are well maintained and the service is very good. Lovely historical property with upgraded conveniences and historical charm. The Blue Pig Tavern is a great place for breakfast and The Brown Room had nice music and wine for a pre-dinner cocktail. The hotel is conveniently located to the Washington Mall area, beach, West Cape May and the entire area overall. We have been here before and are always happy with the accommodations. Although the linens were very clean and comfortable, the mattress was much softer than we are used to. It almost seemed worn out. That is probably not the case but it was not what we expected due to the rest of the "luxurious" atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 40th anniversary, but we made our plans a little late for the Christmas holiday season. I had always thought we would stay in one of the Bed & Breakfast Victorian homes. But by the time we were ready to book, pretty much everything was sold out. There were only a couple of rooms left in Congress Hall. We booked a Junior Suite as that was one of the two. It was a large room and even in bed, we could see the ocean from every window. That was fantastic! The place was decorated beautifully for Christmas and we stayed there 3 nights, and we enjoyed our stay very much. The service was very good, and the place was decorated so beautifully!! I would highly recommend staying there at Christmas. The biggest plus was such an excellent location and near the major shopping Mall area. Also, on weekdays, they serve breakfast until 12 noon and on weekends until 3 PM. My husband and I discussed that if we had stayed at a B & B we would have had to have gotten up and had breakfast by 9 AM and would have had to drag our luggage up lots of stairs, instead of the elevators which were there almost instantly even with a full hotel. The bar downstairs called The Brown Room has a blazing fireplace and was delightful and we like The Blue Pig Restaurant in the hotel as well. Fortunately, we were able to visit many of the B & B's during our stay with various tours that we took. They are lovely, but we plan on revisiting Cape May as we loved it there, and we plan on staying in Congress Hall again when we return...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for one night at Congress Hall last week and enjoyed it thoroughly. The room was large and the beds were comfy. The staff was excellent - the front desk was very helpful with our check-in and when I asked some questions later. The cleaning staff was up to the room giving us extra shampoo bottles within a few minutes of my request. The Aveda soap/shampoo was excellent.

The shops in the hotel are charming and the complimentary valet parking was very much appreciated on the cold, rainy day. Loved the fireplaces blazing downstairs and the Christmas decorations were wonderful.

Congress Hall is very conveniently located less than a block from the main shopping area and a short walk from the Ebbit Room at the Virginia Hotel, where we had a wonderful meal (part of the package we opted for when we made the room reservation at Congress Hall.

Classy place.

Room Tip: We saved money by picking a "town view" room - our view was perfectly fine (not a beach vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here a number of times over some recent Summers. However, due to outrageous rates we stopped but did give it a try over holiday break. The decor on the grounds and lobby made it very festive and looked terrific whole being tastefully done. Our room was not very clean the sink and shower were both backed up and the bathroom needed some cleaning. They did handle it and somewhat compensated us for it so we appreciated that. Also understand this is an older property but our windows really leakd in cold air. The rooms are very nice up to date and very comfortable. The restaurants we had dinner and breakfast I highly recommedn resonably priced and good food. The staff can be a bit more friendlier alomost have the attitude we dont need you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.