We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, Charm, Comfort, Class - I'd stay here as often as I can!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Congress Hall to your Saves list
Congress Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“History, Charm, Comfort, Class - I'd stay here as often as I can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I'm semi-local with family ties to Cape May Point. I saw this place when it was boarded up back in the 80s but now the old girl is back. Beautiful and so charming. The photos from the 1850s in the main hall connect you with those guests of the past who likely enjoyed the ambience of the hotel as we do today. The bar is great- get the fresh hummus. The rooms are beautiful- modern with elements of the past- the tilework is a reminder of how things used to be built. We love the hallways with each room having a Louvered door entrance - true beach charm. This place brings you back but and is a must stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    264
    101
    34
    35
See reviews for
208
375
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

while the decor, christmas trees and wood burning fireplaces were wonderful, it seems some amenities need to be addressed... The rooms were comfortable, quiet and well appointed.. the Brown Room Wine Menu posted on the bar states $7.00 but were charged $8.50 plus for house wine.. The Blue Pig breakfast not good..... hot tea $3.50 served in a mug with a Lipton Tea Bag slid across the table .. french toast $11.00 for a piece of french toast. (good taste) with not a piece of fruit or green to accompany it. .. coffee, orange juice $3.50.. what a rip off... such a shame .. with a bit of effort it could have been wonderful.....

Room Tip: rooms are comfortable, clean , there is elevator service.... with some improvements it could be Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My family and I go here every year because we just love it so much. The food is fantastic, incredible service and staff, and an incredible atmosphere. There's even beach service! Every time I go here I feel like royalty. I am treated so well and couldn't ask for anything better. The property is beautiful and well maintained. You can tell that the staff really cares about you and that they do their absolute best to not just meet your expectations but exceed them. Great hotel! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed same time last year and paid same amount of money for a much better room. The room was definitely not worth the high price. The location is great, but next time we will probably opt to stay someplace else.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a Monday late in December having spent the night before at their sister hotel, the Virginia. As usual, we are sp pleased with everything. Front desk staff is helpful and welcoming. The room is beautiful. We ate in front of the fireplace at the Blue Pig. Lovely Christmas decorations with a 13ft. Blue spruce in parlor. Never want to leave...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed with friends last week - 12/8/12 - and the place was decorated fantastic. Lots of hustle and bustle - and really put you in the holiday spirit.

The room - 22# - for over $200.00 a night - we got to hear the band in the "Boiler Room" until 1:00 am - we couldn't hear TV over the band. Not that I mind bands, music and fun - I just want to hear it - in the "Club"..or the lobby - doesn't matter - not my room.

The Front Desk - offered to turn down the noise???...Are you kidding? My point is that the "Front Desk" has to know far the band music travels - and don't book guests in those rooms unless they are warned...then charge $49.95 - like the Econo....Book the wedding parties there...or band lovers....or offer the paying guests - ear plugs.

I'll visit Congress Hall again - but not stay there.

Room Tip: If you love music - and like to stay awake until after 1:00 - ask for room 224 - because you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've stayed at Congress Hall and it is generally nice. The rooms are quaint. The Christmas ambiance is uplifting.

So this year we book a two night stay. Three weeks ago I am in accident - walking is now very difficult. We tried to cancel the reservation. READ THE FINE PRINT CANCELLATION POLICY.

YOU LOSE 100% IF YOU CANCEL WITHIN 21 DAYS OF YOUR STAY. Twenty-one days is unconscionable. 100% is unconscionable. Talk about adding insult to injury. Life is too unpredictable to justify this kind of penalty.

Too many other good places in Cape May to put up with this kind of rough business. We won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#9 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#14 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 42 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#8 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#11 Family Hotel in Cape May
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.