We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was Meh...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hall

Save Saved
You added Congress Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Congress Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct & Save 20%
Ranked #14 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Collingswood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“it was Meh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

view is great. location is awesome. service good. Food was very good. I get that you pay for all of those things and the romantic ambiance of Cape May but it's still overpriced.

You can pay the same rate for a room in New York City and get better service and food and services in NYC are not cheap.

The closet door doesn't close when you actually have clothes hanging in them. They jimmy the doors to close by scraping the wood to fit but it looks like it was done by a child rather than a legitimate carpenter. The floors in the entire hotel are uneven and I see the women at the wedding I was there for nearly twist their ankles in their high heels.

They need to update the place with cleaner floors and carpets, fix the sub floors, and just replace the fading wall papers. Hey just keepin' it real and hopefully they'll make the changes for the better.

Room Tip: So I purchased my room in advance. It was 10% off because there was no refunds. You'd think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    203
    77
    25
    32
See reviews for
147
295
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AMARILLO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you're looking for a shiny bright hotel, this isn't the place for you. If you want a place with charm and elegance, look no further! We stayed here a week after Hurricane Sandy hit. The weather was chilly but the hotel had cozy fireplaces in the lobby as well as the Brown Room and Blue Pig Tavern. The food was excellent, the room was clean and very attractive, the bathroom was spacious and well-appointed. The beach is just across the street so it was easy to walk over and then get back to the hotel to warm up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here just after Hurricane Sandy hit the NJ coast. Luckily Cape May was spared and we were able to make the trip as planned.
The hotel is charming....great lobby, cozy bar with complimentary hors d'oeuvres, Blue Pig Restaurant that feels like an old tavern, spacious rooms and bathrooms. The outside spaces looked inviting as well but it was too late in the season. Location across from the beach and near to town is also a plus.
This was our first trip to Cape May and will definitely plan to return, earlier in the off season to avoid crowds but enjoy the surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I purchased the Phantom Ball Package for which included a Friday and Saturday night stay for the hotel's annual Halloween party.

The package was just over $600 and also included tickets for the party, ghost tour tickets and two $20 vouchers for breakfast at the Blue Pig.

The service was great, the other guests are decent and the hotel and its grounds are beautiful.

The Boiler Room was so much fun but the Brown Room is good for those looking to have a quieter drink.

You get what you pay for...this hotel was worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We've stayed here several times and loved it. One of our most special visits was in December 2011. They had a mini Christmas village set up with a little train that you could take a ride on, hot chocolate, craft for purchase area and an opportunity to get your family/child picture taken with Santa on his sleigh on the Congress Hall lawn. The decorations of the hotel were also spectacular. We used photos taken here for our Christmas cards. We've had nothing but good service here and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms have high ceilings and renovated baths. The building is very historical so you get some really unique features like the doors. We stayed here with a 1 year old and they were nothing but accommodating. We loved strolling to local shops and restaurants. The Blue Pig restaurant onsite is always good and was family friendly. If you can - get an ocean view room. If you are traveling without children and looking for a more budget friendly option check out the Star Inn across the street. Same owners and decorating. Just a little more intimate.

Room Tip: Ocean view is very nice. You get a great view of the grounds and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights (Wed-Fri) in Room 340. It has a town view and since it is on the end (didn't ask for that - just lucky) it had 7 windows and was very open and spacious -- bathroom was spacious also (don't think all rooms are like this one. Although, the hallway outside smells like the kitchen since it is over the kitchen. The grounds are beautiful and everything well maintained for something built in the 1800s - very clean. Service was excellent. Great location with many places to walk to -- for eating and shopping. The beach is across a street like almost all hotels in this area. My only gripes (other than a few small maintenance items which I reported at checkout and they were grateful) are the very loud HVAC -- not used much since it was October. The other was sounds from adjacent room. The walls are sound proof enough but our room had the usual double door access to an adjoining room which allowed the voices of some loud talking people to penetrate well.

Many reviews say get the ocean view -- I have mixed feelings since it is an extra cost and unless you have a balcony, there is no panaromic viewpoint -- only through a window that is tall but not wide.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The property is beautiful and well maintained. Our room was clean and the bed was very soft and comfortable. There was no clock in the room, which seemed odd. Service was wonderful. The hotel is in a great location and we could walk anywhere we wanted to go.

We stayed 3 days/2 nights and there were weddings everyday. Our room was right over the lobby and the wedding guests were very loud throughout the night, but there is little the hotel staff can do about that.

The only issue I want to note is the WiFi. They advertise free WiFi but the signal was very poor and continually went in and out. We were just using it on our iPad to check out restaurants, but we kept getting kicked off or sometimes couldn't connect at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#13 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.