We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Queen Victoria to your Saves list
The Queen Victoria
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   102 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Greenbush
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Perfect Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I have vacationed in Cape May for 18 years, and have always considered the quaint, victorian town our home away from home. This year, my husband surprised me with a romantic getaway at the Queen Victoria in the Queen Victoria Room -- an Inn that I have always admired and desired to stay.

The Inn is quite beautiful and very well maintained by the owners and staff. Our room was like stepping back into time as it contained many period furniture pieces, and decorated to its original style. The attentiveness of the owners and staff to its guests was quite superb. I certainly felt like a "Queen" for the entire duration of our stay!

A table was set aside in the buidling where we stayed that enabled my husband and I to enjoy breakfast in a private setting. Doug and Anna Marie, the owners, were both very friendly and gracious hosts. At breakfast, Doug ensured that my coffee cup was always filled while we enjoyed the outstanding gourmet buffet breakfast served daily. Evening refreshments, includiing home baked desserts were absolutely delicious. Additionally, complimentary refreshments (bottled water, coffee, soda, etc.) were available at all times -- a nice treat for sitting on the outside porch and enjoying the cool ocean breeze in the wonderful rocking chairs .

We highly recommend the Queen Victoria, and look forward to returning once again.

Vittoria

Room Tip: While we stayed in the Queen Victoria Room -- a very spacious room with direct access to the front p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    47
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
568
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oradell, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This was our third visit to the QV and it's the only place we'll stay when visiting Cape May. The owners, Doug and Anna Marie, are a big part of the charm of this lovely Victorian B&B. They are always friendly, and are never too busy to chat or to make reservations for dinner, or an excursion. Breakfast each day consisted of a different hot selection in addition to an assortment of breads, muffins, cereals and fruits. Afternoon tea was just as delicious with both sweet and savory offerings. The beach, shopping, and restaurants are all within walking distance and the QV provides bicycles which are a great way to get out and explore, since the terrain is flat. We stayed in the Kew Garden room this visit. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and charmingly appointed, and we love the extras such as evening turn down service, bathrobes, beach chairs and towels, the gift shop, and the in-room safe. It is as lovely outside as it is inside, with wonderful wrap around porches and beautiful gardens. This is the B&B upon which we measure all others. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Queen Victoria for the 6th time and it was just as wonderful as all the previous trips. We stayed in the Prince Alfred room in the House of Royals because we love the wrap around porch for morning coffee and pre-dinner drinks. You can tell that Doug and AnnaMarie continuously invest in the property. The historic buildings are in fantastic condition. The reasons we love the Queen Victoria - - wonderful proprety, one block to the beach, delicious & plentiful breakfast, complimentary beach chairs & bikes, decadent tea treats, walking distance to historic shopping dining area, and the wonderful staff (AnnaMarie, Doug, Jayme, Maria....just to name a few)!! We will continue to return because it feels like home only it's at the shore! We already booked a stay for New Year's Eve weekend (we're trying a new room - Regents Park with a sitting area with a fireplace!)

Some wonderful dining experiences to consider - -

Peter Shields - the first time we stopped here in all our Cape May visits included wonderful staff and truly wonderful food with a fantastic view of the ocean. Jeff (the new owner) and two wonderful servers from Bulgaria, were so accomodating with our style of dining....it's BYOB but we still sat at a little bar they have in back and ordered small plates one at a time (everything was fabulous but the foie gras was to die for)... we even got up and sat on the front porch to have a drink after being seated at the bar. We're coming back here NYE!

Ebbitt Room - - recently renovated to include less formal styling (new wallpaper and upholstery) and a wonderful U-shaped bar that completely opens up the drining room and gives the space a more modern feel. We had a wonderful dinner at the bar with fantastic recommendations from the excellent young woman bartender.

Washington Inn - we sat at the bar (yes, you get the sense we often sit at the bar at restaurants because it's less formal and we share small plates one at time so we can try different things on our timing) and we tried many wonderful things. Plus we met a lot of nice people - - it felt like speed dating because we met two new couples on either side of us every 10 minutes as people had a cocktail before they went to their table.

I hope you have as wonderful a time in Cape May as my husband and I do evertime we visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This was our third stay at this lovely Cape May bed & breakfast. The innkeepers, Doug and Ann Marie, must have written the book on how to run a successful bed & breakfast. Just about every guest need has already been thought of and addressed. Most impressive is how guests are treated on their departure day. While check out is at 11:00 a.m., guests are invited to take advantage of the inn's facilities (beach chairs, outdoor showers, afternoon tea, etc.) until they are ready to leave Cape May. Our only quibble about our stay this time was that our bed was not that comfortable and creaked everytime we rolled over. Our main gripe on each visit has been the unreasonable parking rules in Cape May and the fact that the inn offers on site parking only if you book one or two of the higher priced suites.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit again. I'm very sorry that you experienced a problem with your bed. We were unaware of the problem until we saw it on comment card you filled out for us. I wish you would have mentioned it to us immediately so that we could have corrected the problem and made your stay with us even better.

I hope that we get to see you again next year.

Thanks again,

Doug McMain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was our second visit to The Queen Victoria and it was perfect. Their attention to detail is amazing and Anna Marie and Doug think of absolutely everything. I highly recommend a stay at this wonderful bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a five day visit to Cape May and our second stay at the Queen Victoria and we had the most wonderful time. We stayed in the Mayfair Room in Prince Albert Hall and the accomodations were very comfortable. Breakfast on the front porch was delicious each morning and the afternoon tea time was a nice opportunity to meet some of the other guests. Anna Marie is so welcoming and warm -- we had several nice conversations about the dolphin population on the Cape and about great restaurant options.

I'm sure we'll be going back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I went for our 20th anniversary and we go every year since! So clean, Anna Marie and Doug are so nice and the staff is helpful and friendly! It's like going home!! Delicious breakfasts and tea, you must get the cookbook!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Queen Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Victoria

Address: 102 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria is Cape May's Premier bed and breakfast, located one block from the beach and just steps from dining, shops and entertainment. We are open every day of the year and offer special holiday packages and seasonal specials. The Queen Victoria is truly the ultimate Cape May experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queen Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Victoria Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.