We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Cape May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Victoria

Save Saved
You added The Queen Victoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queen Victoria
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   102 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved Cape May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Loved this B&B. Great location to beach and resturants. Beautiful and romantic B&B. Great afternoon ice teas after a long warm day. Will definetly go back and stay here again and again. Great romantic getaway for all.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    713
    46
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
507
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I booked this place sight unseen as the base of operations for my wedding.

The staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful -- Doug even offered us the use of the place for our wedding ceremony, in case our beach wedding was rained out.

Breakfast was very nice, afternoon tea even better.

But the big, BIG surprise was that they have bikes that you can use at your leisure, and at no additional charge. For that point alone, it was worth staying there!

Also, the place is immaculately clean and pretty.

My sole quibble is that the photo of the room we booked looks MUCH larger on the Queen Vic website than it did in real life, and that was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've stayed at The Queen Victoria several times, and each visit is a treat. If you like B&Bs with a Victorian flair, this is definitely the place to be. The rooms have unique personalities and, in my experience, they have been flawless in every way. The hosts are delightful, striking just the right balance between attentive and respecting your privacy. The afternoon tea is relaxed, low-key, and absolutely delicious, varying from day to day with mouth-watering treats like quiche and fresh pastries. To sit in the parlor at the end of a wonderful day in Cape May, surrounded by beautiful objects from the past and present is one of life's great moments of pleasure and relaxation. The Queen Victoria offers comfort, atmosphere, and the perfect get-away for couples, groups, and individuals.

Room Tip: Aim for off-season or weekdays if you can. If you plan to stay on the weekend, book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

cute and clean room, warm and friendly staff, perfect location

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Queen Victoria Bed and Breakfast was really nice and quaint-as is the whole area of Cape May. The location was about two blocks from the beach. Its not beach front but in the House of Royals you can get an ocean view balcony room and because you are high up you see the beach! The view there was amazing! I believe this is the only one of their four buildings that has ocean view balconies or any balconies for that matter. The breakfast was good. I have had better but it was certainly not bad at all! They have Keurig Coffee Makers in all buildings as well as a sweet treat; sodas, waters etc available at all times was was really nice!! I love Keurig's! There was also a nice DVD collection too! They have bikes (beach cruisers) that you can use at any time which was nice to see the town! The rooms were ok size, the bathrooms were big and renovated. The inn keepers were nice! I cannot say anything bad at all =) The reason we might not stay here again is because I felt the price was a bit high and I am interested in Congress Hall Hotel right on the beach! We did wine tasting and had a wonderful time in Cape May. For dinner we went to the Lobster House which was great!! and right on the water! We ate and drank at some restaurants and bars within walking distance the rest of the trip. Next time we go, we will probably go in May when its a bit warmer and more things are open. The wineries were all great! go, go ,go !!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

What a wonderful B&B! Stayed at the marigold Prince Albert building right next to the main green building, and the Prince Albert building seemed much nicer and peppier. They serve the afternoon tea and breakfast from there and have lots of rocking chairs and seating on the porch.
The place is well manicured and taken care of. It seems like there more trees surrounding this property than the rest of the Victorians on Cape May, making it very cool on a hot 4th of July weekend. The staff was indeed very very nice, they served watermelon and crab quiche on 4th of July during tea time, and throughout our stay we were welcome to free beverages and sweets.
Free usage of beach chairs, bicycles, and outdoor showers all came in handy, and they weren't stingy or gave us a list of rules to follow either. It was really chill, and we had a great time there.
For just one night they let us stay there, and gave us a top floor wonderful room with cold ac and whirlpool tub. Everything in pristine condition for such an old building. We had a whole rooftop next to our room that was ours to use undisturbed as well.
A truly great experience and well worth the money for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwood, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

If you are looking for the perfect place to get away from it all, The Queen Victoria is for you. The innkeepers and staff go out of their way of make you feel at home. Our room was not only clean and comfortable, but beautifully decorated with antiques. Having a small refrigerator to chill our wine was terrific! The parlor right outside our door was equipped with a Keurig coffeemaker, sodas, ice, and treats. Each morning we were treated to a sumptuous breakfast with Doug constanty on duty with a coffee refill. Afternoon tea is a delight with not only tea, but delicious baked goodies and other treats. Both Anna Marie and Doug love to chat with the guests on the wraparound porch. From them, we learned the best restaurants to try, the events to attend, and the nearby attractions to visit. And the location!! The Queen Victoria is only one block from the beach! Forget the hassle of bringing your own chairs and towels - everything is provided for you to make your day, or evening, at the beach a relaxing one. Or, if you prefer to bike on the promenade in the early morning or through the streets of Cape May, a bicycle is ready and waiting for you. To say what we liked best about our stay is nearly impossible, but if we had to choose, it would be the friendliness of Anna Marie and Doug. They are like the good neighbors we all love to have. Give The Queen Victoria a try. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Queen Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Victoria

Address: 102 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Victoria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria is Cape May's Premier bed and breakfast, located one block from the beach and just steps from dining, shops and entertainment. We are open every day of the year and offer special holiday packages and seasonal specials. The Queen Victoria is truly the ultimate Cape May experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queen Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Victoria Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.