We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B Just Off the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mooring B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mooring B&B
Save
You added Mooring B&B to your Saves list
801 Stockton Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
Woodbury,CT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice B&B Just Off the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My wife and I greatly enjoyed the Mooring B&B, mostly because it was just a little bit off the beach and its bustle. The house itself is exactly what you would expect of a Cape May B&B. And the innkeeper was very helpful. Can't say enough about the caramel French toast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
66
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
JDW8456
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from our July respite at The Mooring. Let me start off by saying, “It is very hard to say exactly what’s BEST about Vince and Leslie”, only because they do so many good things right. With their attention to detail, they do an excellent job of running this B&B. A stop over at The Mooring certainly has to be at the top of any one’s… ”Must Stay While in Cape May” list…. that is anyone who knows anything about Cape May B&Bs.
The original purpose of The Mooring was as a Guest House. The ambience of the relaxed and refreshing B&B atmosphere that Vince and Leslie provide is reminiscent of those days of old. This, combined with a go out of their way attitude to ensure guest satisfaction, makes The Mooring a special experience. It is certainly one that we look forward to and enjoy as much as possible. So without getting into too much more detail, go experience The Mooring Guest House for yourself, and I’ll let Leslie and Vince do what they do best, everything.

Room Tip: Room #8 or #10 on the second floor has a semi private (just for those two rooms) balcony to enjoy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Islip, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Mooring is a better than average B&B with hosts who are very friendly and welcoming. Our 2nd floor room (#10) was beautifully appointed and had a shared outdoor porch with a partial ocean view. The window AC unit was undersized for the room and had difficulty keeping the entire room cool. The bathroom was very small and also very hot since it was on the opposite side of the room from the AC unit. Needless to say, if the weather was a bit cooler this would not have been an issue. The breakfasts were very good but not exceptional. Two standouts were the Greek Yogurt which is served daily and the blueberry french toast. Vince, one of the owners is very friendly and is often seen around the B&B. He is very happy to recommend a restaurant for dinner or just stop and chat for a few minutes. Although we enjoyed our stay at The Mooring, there are so many other wonderful B&B's in Cape May from which to choose that our next visit may include one of those.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Fantastic in every regard! Clean, comfortable and a great location. In addition, Vince, one of the owners, is a very warm, thoughtful and caring host. No question. We will definitely return here.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

As usual, Leslie and Vince were the consummate hosts. We loved our stay in Room 10, which is beautiful, cozy, and romantic. We loved the new mattress and carpeting. In addition to the terrific breakfasts, both savory and sweet, the wine and cheese tasting on Saturday was great. We always look forward to our stays at the Mooring, and can't wait till the next one!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
By the lake in Indiana
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

There are so many B&B's to chose from in Cape May and I think we chose wisely. Very clean, nice location - within walking distance of the beach and shopping/restaurants. You can tell the love and pride the owners have put into this old home. It is very well kept and decorated beautifully. Alot of different rooms and room sizes for everyone to chose from. They also offer great off season deals. We didn't get to see much of Leslie, but Vince was helpful, although very busy! Great cook, too!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We had an awesome time at the Mooring this weekend. This was our 5th time to Cape May to celebrate our anniversary. We like to try out many of the B & Bs in Cape May. The Mooring is one of the top B &B's we have stayed at! First of all the rooms are all very very beautiful, and the inn itself is impeccable and immaculate. The furnishings are all thoughtfully and tastefully displayed without being overly stuffy. Since the inn was build originally as a guest house, and not a summer cottage, the hallways are nice and wide and the staircase is stunning.

Vince was the perfect host - always there to answer any questions and help us with anything we needed. Leslie was very nice and helpful too. The afternoon tea and breakfasts were outstanding. Plenty to choose from and a different offering each day. Love the tables for 2 as we like to have breakfast to ourselves. Vince and Leslie thought of everything, and they make it look so easy....a good sign of an exceptionally run inn. We stayed on the top floor of the inn room 16. So quiet, comfortable, and luxurious. Of note, I am very picky and particular and I don't play around with where we lay our heads. No worries, everything surpassed our expectations. The bathroom looked recently renovated with a very stylish oversized glass shower and custom built-in sink with a hammered nickel sink. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. There was a flat screen tv with plenty of cable channels, and a great window seat overlooking Howard St. and offering a nice view of the ocean (between buildings, but still a nice view). Loved the location - we had an exceptionally warm weekend for the end of September and got to go to the beach both days. It was a very quick walk to the beach (one block), but also a quick walk to shopping and to restaurants. Loved that we had our own parking space too - a huge advantage in Cape May.

All in all I highly recommend this wonderful B &B if you are on the fence as to which one to choose. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mooring B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooring B&B

Address: 801 Stockton Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable elegance in a classic Second Empire inn ... originally built as a guesthouse in 1882. Nine uncluttered guest rooms and two suites, each with private bath, a few with ocean view. Gourmet breakfast served at individual tables for two. One building back from the beach; easy walking distance to town center with shops & restaurants. On-premise parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mooring B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.