We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing, accomodating,beautiful....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mission Inn
Save
You added The Mission Inn to your Saves list
1117 New Jersey Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
new jersey
1 review
“relaxing, accomodating,beautiful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I wanted my daughter & son in law to have a much needed getaway weekend, but not too far from home because of children's health issues. I found the Mission Inn on the web and I cannot tell you how much they enjoyed their stay! Being campers they are very used to doing everything for themselves so this would be very different. They enjoyed themselves so much, made possible by owners Susan & Ray! They felt pampered and the cuisine was taylored to their diet needs. They had a hard time at first getting used to having someone pamper them, but grew quickly to sit back and enjoy it! Their first Bed & Breakfast experience was wonderful! Thank you so much Susan & Ray for making my family feel at home with you and they got exactly what I wanted for them!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
320
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia area
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My boyfriend and I gave ourselves a romantic weekend for our Christmas present this year and it was one of the best presents ever. Susan and Ray are wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. The room was everything we had imagined with a comfortable bed, warm and cozy fireplace, relaxing tub and invigorating spa shower. The breakfasts and afternoon snacks were delicious. We are definitely planning on returning sometime in 2010.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We chose this place because of the way it looked, but when we arrived, we were more than pleasantly surprised that it was just not about the beautiful way the Inn is presented, but about it's hosts being to warm and friendly as well. We had a wonderful and relaxing time, and will definitely visit again. Food was fabulous as well!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

We were looking for a slight deviation from our typical Jersey Shore vacation - and found a wonderful place where we'll return to again and again. We stayed at the Mission Inn and overall were extreemly impressed.
Thank you, Susan, for a lovely time. Breakfasts were fantastic each and every day. ( my wife is insisting I mention the honeydew & coconut "soup" we had one morning....) We enjoyed eating outside on the patio each morning. In addition, late afternoon snacks were always delish!
The Mission Inn is in a wonderful location - close to the beach and yet far enough away from the busy Cape May town center. Beach chairs, tags, towels & bikes are all offered to guests. They had everything covered in the room - spa shower, plenty of storage space, large bathroom, in suite fireplace, and comphy bed... I could go on....
We surprised my parents with a weekend get away & they loved it as well. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My significant other and I chose the Mission Inn for a long weekend of rest and relaxation. We could not have been happier with EVERYTHING. The hosts, Susan and Ray, made us feel at home the moment we stepped inside their beautiful inn. They are so warm and generous and make you feel like you've known them for years. Our room was gorgeous and clean. Susan is an incredible cook and makes the most creative breakfasts; you will be amazed at what she comes up with. We had such a great time and can't wait to return again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA Dutch Country
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

A surprise trip, a sublime Mission Inn stay in Cape May NJ - caring & cheery hosts (even champagne!), wonderful food, comfy bed, bubbly jacuzzi, peaceful beach walks. We're coming back in October!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Do yourself a favor and treat yourself- you probably won't find a more hospitable or charming B&B in Cape May than the Mission Inn. It is a refreshing option to the Victorian style B&Bs- The hosts, Susan and Ray, as well as their small staff do everything to make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms and bathrooms are beautifully decorated and the inn itself is a perfect place to relax. The breakfasts are quite a treat, especially if the weather is warm enough to eat out on their veranda. It's a one block walk to the beach and bikes, chairs, umbrellas are readily available. The afternoon snacks are gourmet!
We have tried to make this place a yearly stop and have never been disappointed. We have stayed in a number of other Cape May B&B's, and so far this one tops them all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn

Address: 1117 New Jersey Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the 2015 Travelers Choice Award for B&B & Inns by Trip Advisor as the #1 B&B Cape May, NJ, # 3 in the USA and # 17 in the World. The Mission Inn Bed and Breakfast is not your typical Cape May B&B. Susan Babineau-Roberts and her husband Raymond Roberts cordially invite you to experience the charm of their California Spanish Mission Style Bed and Breakfast. You will find The Mission Inn guest rooms to be bright, airy, tastefully decorated, creative restful place for the weary traveler as was the purpose of the original twenty-one (21) California missions.Each guest room was themed after one of the missions, using colors and designs Susan had observed on her trip. The common areas were themed to reflect the warmth of the missions. Each year additional improvements are planned and implemented. Return guests are always finding the "little changes" that reflect the attention to detail so noticeable at the Inn.Book one of our 8 Rooms before they fill up! We are an Inn for all seasons and open all year round. In 2014 we were crowned a top 3 Bed and Breakfast in the USA as well as a 2013 Travelers Choice Award winner for excellence. Call today to experience the Mission Inn today! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.