We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Cape May!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mission Inn
1117 New Jersey Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 or 2 Night Reservations
Ranked #1 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Berwick, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Cape May!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I have never stayed at a B&B before, we have always stayed at hotels. But for our anniversary we wanted to try the Mission Inn. We couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable, welcoming, beautiful place to stay. Sue and Ray make you feel so at home and go above and beyond accommodating your needs. The food is fabulous! The rooms are down to the very detail amazing! I would recommend to go to the Mission Inn any time of the year! Our Anniversary is in October and we loved it! Can't wait to go back! Especially for the oatmeal cookies!! Thank you again Sue and Ray for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
270
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Anyone looking for a place to stay in the lovely Victorian seashore city of Cape May, New Jersey must absolutely try “The Mission Inn” on New Jersey Avenue. Owned by Susan and Ray, it offers all of the warmth and comfort of home with the pampering of the vacation that it is. Susan’s attention to detail, both in her rooms which are a tribute to the California Missions, and her wonderful breakfast and afternoon hors d’oeuvres, is unmatched. For time at the beach they provide all you need and the rest of the year a great place to enjoy everything else Cape May has to offer. Each time we return we feel welcomed home by good friends. We can’t wait for the next trip!

Carol and Xavier
Andover, NJ

Room Tip: Make reservation early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very welcoming, Warm reception, and friendly B&B for our weekend anniversary getaway! Great innkeepers who make you feel right at home! Great breakfasts! Quiet rooms offer plenty of privacy! For colder days in the fall and winter months, the inn offers a large living room/lounge area to spread out and meet other guests and the innkeepers! Also plenty of added amenities in the lounge area to help make our stay comfortable! Parking and convenient to the beach! We will go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had a wonderful and relaxing experience at The Mission Inn. We booked a stay on recommendation and were thrilled. Owners Susan and Ray were welcoming, warm and so accommodating to all our needs, even booking dinner reservations for us on our behalf. The breakfast and appetizers they prepared each day were delicious.

I would high recommend a stay at The Mission Inn in Cape May!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We wanted to celebrate our anniversary in Cape May at a bed and breakfast Since we have very little experience wit B & B's we used Trip Advisor as our information resource. The one name that stood out from the crowd was The Mission Inn. Even though it wasn't the Victorian style like most amend even though it wasn't in the heart of downtown we went with the recommendations. The inn is fabulous It could not have been nicer. From the physical property, which is California mission style, to the food, to the hosts and their staff, everything was wonderful. Every room is different, but in its own way a work of art, as was the common areas, which were beautiful as well as comfortable. The snacks and drinks each day were truly of gourmet quality. And the breakfasts were delicious ams well as spectacular. Our hosts, Susan and Ray, could not have been more helpful. By the time we left, we felt like we had been long-time friends.

In summary, I could not imagine a better Bed and Breakfast experience. If we return to Cape May again, I won't need Trip Advisor, I know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent one night at the Mission Inn for our 26th wedding anniversary. We were in the San Diego de Alcala room, which is right off the main central room of the inn. The owners Sue and Ray go out of their way to make you feel welcome and happy in the inn. They are perfectionists as to how they run their inn, and attend to their guests.

We loved our room, with the detailed painted walls and headboard. Nice corner air jet tub, large dual head shower, warming fireplace and heated floors.

They put out a nice selection of appetizers at around 4 PM, and there was white wine and port available for the guests.

Bonus was the inn is only a short walk to our dinner at the Peter Shields Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our second visit to the Mission Inn. There simply is not a better place to stay than this. From the moment Susan greeted us at the door with "welcome home", to breakfast the following morning, it was just perfection. Many reviews have stressed the amenities, which are all top notch. The rooms are beautiful and clean, the snacks in the sun room are great, and Leslie's breakfasts are delicious. Each room is different, and as many have stated, you can't go wrong with whatever room you choose. The late afternoon snacks are wonderful, and I especially enjoy a glass of port on our return later in the evening.

What stands out to us is summed up in Susan's "welcome home" on our arrival. It was not phony, or scripted; it was heartfelt. Whether this is your first visit, or a return visit, she makes you feel truly welcome and valued in her home. She really wants you to feel like it is your home also during your stay. Susan is most informative about Cape May, and interested in what you have to say. You feel like you have known her all your life. We will definetly return again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. We've have stayed in the Santa Clara and the San Francisco de Asis . Both a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn

Address: 1117 New Jersey Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the 2013 Travelers Choice Award for Travel by Trip Advisor. The Mission Inn Bed and Breakfast is not your typical Cape May B&B. Susan Babineau-Roberts and her husband Raymond Roberts cordially invite you to experience the charm of their California Spanish Mission Style Bed and Breakfast. You will find The Mission Inn guest rooms to be bright, airy, tastefully decorated, creative restful place for the weary traveler as was the purpose of the original twenty-one (21) California missions.Each guest room was themed after one of the missions, using colors and designs Susan had observed on her trip. The common areas were themed to reflect the warmth of the missions. Each year additional improvements are planned and implemented. Return guests are always finding the "little changes" that reflect the attention to detail so noticeable at the Inn.Book one of our 8 Rooms before they fill up! We are an Inn for all seasons and open all year round. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Mission Inn to your Saves list