We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leith Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Leith Hall to your Saves list
Leith Hall
22 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Philadelphia
2 reviews
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Genuine friendliness stood out during our four night stay at Leith Hall. The owners and staff helped us to feel so relaxed it was just like home. The food is all wonderful. French toast is so light, delicious and fluffy it could levitate off the plate. The daily baked goods served at tea time are so scrumptious they are a a good reason to pick this inn again and again. The portions of everything are generous. Rooms and suites are very clean, Victorian and very creative. We're already planning our next trip there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    20
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

A quaint, authentically restored Victorian bed and breakfast, a block away from the beach and in the heart of the Cape May historic district, Washington mall and restaurants.
Elan and Susan the owners/hosts were warm and hospitable.
Elan has many a story and adventure to narrate and keep you entertained while you enjoy the breakfast and afternoon lemonade and goodies.

The only down side is that parking was a few blocks away. But we didn't need a car anyways.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed at the delightful Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast in historic Cape May New Jersey. It is at 22 Ocean St, just 1/2 block from the beach and within walking distance of some of the finest restaurants in Cape May. Elan and Susan are excellent hosts; they clearly enjoy what they do and they do it very well. Even rainy days are a pleasure on the cozy wrap around porch. We look forward to our stay each year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

I recently bought a weekend getaway for my parents at the Leith BnB in Cape May. Due to health issues, I had to postpone the visit two times. The staff was more than understanding and worked with me to arrange new reservations. My parents had a wonderful and relaxing time. The atmosphere was great, the food was outstanding and the service was fabulous. My dad wants to go back for more of the orange cakes! I have nothing bad to say. Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westfield, nj
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Cape May has dozens of similar B&Bs located within blocks of each other, so shopping for pricing specials is wise. Leith Hall is half a block from the beach and only a few blocks from Washington Mall, so its location is excellent. The innkeepers are nice and efficient; the place is clean and pretty; the porch is inviting; and the quality of the food very good.

However, there is no main sitting room; some rooms do not have on-site parking and the breakfast of hot entree, granola and fruit pieces would benefit from the addition of muffins or banana bread, etc, as if you do not care for the entree (e.g., eggs or french toast) you will go away hungry and with no beach snack. There is no outdoor shower (a major pain, as the beaches lack showers so you cannot shower after going to the beach on checkout day), loaner bicycle or umbrellas. The ocean views are more beach views.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

It appeared to us that, the information is not reflective of the inn. For instance, while it is true that one has an ocean view from the porch, you must be standing in order to view a portion of the water. As for a "beach view," forget it. The rooms were in dire need of some TLC and, what antiques might have adorned the living quarters, were not in concert with one another. Our bathroom, having lost a shower door, had an ill fitted curtain. The matress on our bed did not fit the frame and had to have a bolster cushion in order to not have the pillow fall to the floor. We had the same small bar of soap for three dyas before it was changed. Food is located over three different areas. Juice in one room, food in another and, coffee/tea on the porch. To sum up, it appeared to us that everything was "good enough." There seems to be a lack of attention to detail. For the price of over $200.00 a night, I would advise that one look elsewhere. We would certainly not recommend this B&B to a fellow traveler. If you do decide to venture a stay, let me further advise you to room on either the first or third floor. If you are on the second, you'll have quite a walk to where you are permitted to park. Only those on the first and third are allowed to park on site.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Elan and Susan, Inn Keepers of Leith Hall, Cape May, N.J. Elan cooks brealfast RHE BEST! and also makes dessert for afternoon tea.
They are world travelers and are very informed.
Very excellent hosts.
We always enjoy our stay with them, pleasure or business.
From our room we can see and hear the ocean, very few B&B's have this plus.
Each room is decorated different, but breakfast is always the same delicious!!!!
We were there to do an Antique show. Miriam and Lyle Turner, Mountain Top, Pa.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Leith Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leith Hall

Address: 22 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leith Hall bed and breakfast is an elegantly restored 1880s home in the heart of the Victorian Historic District. Only one-half block from the beach and two and a half blocks from the main street of town, Leith Hall offers Ocean Views from every second and third floor bedroom and antiques, oriental carpets and lace curtains at the windows. We serve a full breakfast in the morning and afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Leith Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leith Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.