We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Cozy in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
22 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
“Charming and Cozy in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Leith Hall is beautifully and lovingly restored to Victorian splender by an expert...the owner is also the curator for the Physick Estate in Cape May. Their B&B is a stones throw from the beach and has a wonderful front porch, where breakfast is served in the morning and tea in the afternoon in good weather. The reasons my husband and I keep coming back, however, are charming owners, Susan and Elan. They are almost always around during breakfast and tea to "chew the fat", as we used to say in the good ole days!

Room Tip: Pictures of each room are available on their Website with room descriptions that are very accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    23
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
54
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed at this B&B 5 times after staying elsewhere. It has a wonderful location, a block off the beach on Ocean Ave and within casual walking distance of the Pedestrian Mall (Washington St). One can sit on the porch and see the beach -- and, even better, can look out the window of either of the front suites and see the ocean. The hosts are friendly and courteous and Elan is an excellent cook who produces wonderful breakfasts and luscious tea time sweets. it also helps that Elan is a master of Victorain history in general and Cape May history in particular and he loves to talk about it. We are headed back next year as well.

Room Tip: Take one of the two front suites -- 2nd floor or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The couple really knows their Victoriana. Elan is curator at the Physick House (site worth seeing). The interior of the B&B reflects it. And also shows a sense of humor. So much to notice. We've stayed in different rooms. Each room has a name that indicates a theme which is then carried out within the room. Very cleverly done. (I learned some lines from Robert Burns in one. In a different room I was able to identify Rasputin.) Our rooms and beds have been comfortable and when air conditioning is needed, it works very well. Sleep is never a problem.
The cooking, by Elan the master of the house, is excellent including breakfast. Freshly cooked muffins...super. It's quite easy to overeat the treats that are prepared for tea. The mistress of the house makes sure that everything runs smoothly...and it does. Location, location, location few B&B are closer to the beach. Unobstructed views to the ocean. A short walk to Washington Street Mall and the beautiful streets of Historic Cape May.
Both of the couple are charming, can talk on a very large variety of topics, and like to laugh a lot. It's contagious. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: The entry steps and ceilings are typically high. Make sure you understand the number of steps to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed one summer night and were very pleased with the location, the ambiance, and the hospitality. We enjoyed afternoon tea and goodies on the large front porch while chatting with innkeeper Elon about the history of the region (this is the place to stay if you are a history and/or restoration enthusiast). The porch was also the location for our delicious breakfast, which we enjoyed after a short walk to the beach. Beach chairs and towels are provided, making our morning absolutely lovely. We stayed in the Maple Suite on the 3rd floor, which is decorated with charming antiques and furnishings and include views of the ocean from bed and bathroom! We could walk everywhere we wanted to be easily - a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I just returned from three days at Leith Hall B&B. It was my first time in Cape May. We had such a great time. The Leith Hall location is superb - half a block from the ocean and a few blocks from the center of town. But what really made the visit special were our hosts, Susan and Elon. They are warm, welcoming, and just interesting folks. My wife and I highly recommend Leith Hall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I happened across Leith Hall when searching for an in near the beach and near the Washington Mall. We stayed for only one night, and I was very sad to leave as early as I did. Susan checked us in much earlier than the stated check-in time, giving us a thorough description of the inn, the town, and the meals. In conversation, it came up that Elon had been involved in the renovation and administration of the Physick house, which added another great experience to the trip.

We stayed in the Celebrity room. All in all, our room was small but well appointed. The air conditioning was sufficient to keep the room cool during 100 degree heat. The location was within walking distance to most of the town. Afternoon tea was a refreshing treat that we did not expect (Elon's homemade baked goods were brilliant!). The challah french toast in the morning was fluffy and flavorful. I was stunned by the decor, thrilled with the food, and charmed by the innkeepers. I would absolutely return.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the parking spot that comes with your room. Many rooms come with a spot a few bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Innkeepers Susan and Elon are the perfect host, they were very attentive and extremely friendly. Leith Hall is located 1/4 block from the beach and a few blocks from the center of town.
I stayed only one night in the checkerboard room, which does not have a bathroom ensuite. I was concerned about not having a bathroom in the room but, soon got over it when I learned that the bathroom was close by and was not used by any of the other quests. I recommend that you get up early and go to bed late so that you can enjoy the great wrap around porch.
I will be returning the next time I am in Cape May. M. Cort

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#10 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#16 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#8 of 42 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 42 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#13 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#14 of 42 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast is an elegantly restored inn that is nestled in the heart of the Karen Akers Victorian Historic District. This ornate Victorian style bed and breakfast is only a half of a block away from the beach and offers breathtaking ocean views, full gourmet breakfasts, antiques, and afternoon tea. Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast also offers modern day amenities such as air conditioning, wireless internet, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and free parking. Our bed and breakfast is ideally located for a vacation where you can relax and enjoy the warmth and hospitality of Cape May. Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast is the only professionally restored bed and breakfast in Cape May. While visiting Cape May you will step back into by being surrounded by the elegant Victorian style but, this town carries an atmosphere that is casual and relaxed. Our guests at Leith Hall will help themselves to a hearty full breakfast partnered with a lounge on the porch while enjoying a nice conversation with hosts and other guests. The aroma of freshly brewed coffee and home baked breads flows through the inn and is the most delightful way to wake up. Our breakfast’s that include decadent quiches, crepes, and egg entrees grant you the energy that you need for a day at the beach. Enjoy a relaxing afternoon tea time that includes fresh, homemade cakes and pastries served with hot English tea during the winter and iced tea or lemonade during the summer. Come stay at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast and experience this elegant Victorian inn that offers a casual and relaxed atmosphere with breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.