We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasant stay (annual visitors)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leith Hall

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Leith Hall
22 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant stay (annual visitors)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The couple really knows their Victoriana. Elan is curator at the Physick House (site worth seeing). The interior of the B&B reflects it. And also shows a sense of humor. So much to notice. We've stayed in different rooms. Each room has a name that indicates a theme which is then carried out within the room. Very cleverly done. (I learned some lines from Robert Burns in one. In a different room I was able to identify Rasputin.) Our rooms and beds have been comfortable and when air conditioning is needed, it works very well. Sleep is never a problem.
The cooking, by Elan the master of the house, is excellent including breakfast. Freshly cooked muffins...super. It's quite easy to overeat the treats that are prepared for tea. The mistress of the house makes sure that everything runs smoothly...and it does. Location, location, location few B&B are closer to the beach. Unobstructed views to the ocean. A short walk to Washington Street Mall and the beautiful streets of Historic Cape May.
Both of the couple are charming, can talk on a very large variety of topics, and like to laugh a lot. It's contagious. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: The entry steps and ceilings are typically high. Make sure you understand the number of steps to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    15
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed one summer night and were very pleased with the location, the ambiance, and the hospitality. We enjoyed afternoon tea and goodies on the large front porch while chatting with innkeeper Elon about the history of the region (this is the place to stay if you are a history and/or restoration enthusiast). The porch was also the location for our delicious breakfast, which we enjoyed after a short walk to the beach. Beach chairs and towels are provided, making our morning absolutely lovely. We stayed in the Maple Suite on the 3rd floor, which is decorated with charming antiques and furnishings and include views of the ocean from bed and bathroom! We could walk everywhere we wanted to be easily - a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I just returned from three days at Leith Hall B&B. It was my first time in Cape May. We had such a great time. The Leith Hall location is superb - half a block from the ocean and a few blocks from the center of town. But what really made the visit special were our hosts, Susan and Elon. They are warm, welcoming, and just interesting folks. My wife and I highly recommend Leith Hall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I happened across Leith Hall when searching for an in near the beach and near the Washington Mall. We stayed for only one night, and I was very sad to leave as early as I did. Susan checked us in much earlier than the stated check-in time, giving us a thorough description of the inn, the town, and the meals. In conversation, it came up that Elon had been involved in the renovation and administration of the Physick house, which added another great experience to the trip.

We stayed in the Celebrity room. All in all, our room was small but well appointed. The air conditioning was sufficient to keep the room cool during 100 degree heat. The location was within walking distance to most of the town. Afternoon tea was a refreshing treat that we did not expect (Elon's homemade baked goods were brilliant!). The challah french toast in the morning was fluffy and flavorful. I was stunned by the decor, thrilled with the food, and charmed by the innkeepers. I would absolutely return.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the parking spot that comes with your room. Many rooms come with a spot a few bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Innkeepers Susan and Elon are the perfect host, they were very attentive and extremely friendly. Leith Hall is located 1/4 block from the beach and a few blocks from the center of town.
I stayed only one night in the checkerboard room, which does not have a bathroom ensuite. I was concerned about not having a bathroom in the room but, soon got over it when I learned that the bathroom was close by and was not used by any of the other quests. I recommend that you get up early and go to bed late so that you can enjoy the great wrap around porch.
I will be returning the next time I am in Cape May. M. Cort

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Du Quoin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at Leith Hall for three days. The breakfasts were delicious and the service was very good. Susan was extremely helpful and very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

To say Susan and Elan are wonderful innkeepers is, indeed, an understatement, as they really went out of their way to be helpful. The accommodations, food, and services were certainly beyond reproach, and both Susan and Elan were constantly attentive to their guests' needs. Leith Hall is, indeed, highly recommended, and certain hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leith Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leith Hall

Address: 22 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leith Hall bed and breakfast is an elegantly restored 1880s home in the heart of the Victorian Historic District. Only one-half block from the beach and two and a half blocks from the main street of town, Leith Hall offers Ocean Views from every second and third floor bedroom and antiques, oriental carpets and lace curtains at the windows. We serve a full breakfast in the morning and afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leith Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leith Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Leith Hall to your Saves list