We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
22 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
Princeton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I just returned from three days at Leith Hall B&B. It was my first time in Cape May. We had such a great time. The Leith Hall location is superb - half a block from the ocean and a few blocks from the center of town. But what really made the visit special were our hosts, Susan and Elon. They are warm, welcoming, and just interesting folks. My wife and I highly recommend Leith Hall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    20
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I happened across Leith Hall when searching for an in near the beach and near the Washington Mall. We stayed for only one night, and I was very sad to leave as early as I did. Susan checked us in much earlier than the stated check-in time, giving us a thorough description of the inn, the town, and the meals. In conversation, it came up that Elon had been involved in the renovation and administration of the Physick house, which added another great experience to the trip.

We stayed in the Celebrity room. All in all, our room was small but well appointed. The air conditioning was sufficient to keep the room cool during 100 degree heat. The location was within walking distance to most of the town. Afternoon tea was a refreshing treat that we did not expect (Elon's homemade baked goods were brilliant!). The challah french toast in the morning was fluffy and flavorful. I was stunned by the decor, thrilled with the food, and charmed by the innkeepers. I would absolutely return.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the parking spot that comes with your room. Many rooms come with a spot a few bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Innkeepers Susan and Elon are the perfect host, they were very attentive and extremely friendly. Leith Hall is located 1/4 block from the beach and a few blocks from the center of town.
I stayed only one night in the checkerboard room, which does not have a bathroom ensuite. I was concerned about not having a bathroom in the room but, soon got over it when I learned that the bathroom was close by and was not used by any of the other quests. I recommend that you get up early and go to bed late so that you can enjoy the great wrap around porch.
I will be returning the next time I am in Cape May. M. Cort

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Du Quoin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at Leith Hall for three days. The breakfasts were delicious and the service was very good. Susan was extremely helpful and very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

To say Susan and Elan are wonderful innkeepers is, indeed, an understatement, as they really went out of their way to be helpful. The accommodations, food, and services were certainly beyond reproach, and both Susan and Elan were constantly attentive to their guests' needs. Leith Hall is, indeed, highly recommended, and certain hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I'll keep it simple. The 3 G's, Great room, Great food,Great service. The hosts are fantastic.
Close to the beach (1/2 block) and centrally located. We will be returning the next time we are in
Cape May.
Stan Kanowicz

Room Tip: We were happy with the the Empire Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our much anticipated getaway to Cape May exceeded all expectations!
The comfort and Victorian beauty of our Turkish Room and stimulating breakfast conversation, accompanied by a delicious breakfast all made for a perfect weekend.
Of course, our sincere appreciation to Elon for a birthday cake that was truly an epicurean delight. We certainly look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast is an elegantly restored inn that is nestled in the heart of the Karen Akers Victorian Historic District. This ornate Victorian style bed and breakfast is only a half of a block away from the beach and offers breathtaking ocean views, full gourmet breakfasts, antiques, and afternoon tea. Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast also offers modern day amenities such as air conditioning, wireless internet, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and free parking. Our bed and breakfast is ideally located for a vacation where you can relax and enjoy the warmth and hospitality of Cape May. Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast is the only professionally restored bed and breakfast in Cape May. While visiting Cape May you will step back into by being surrounded by the elegant Victorian style but, this town carries an atmosphere that is casual and relaxed. Our guests at Leith Hall will help themselves to a hearty full breakfast partnered with a lounge on the porch while enjoying a nice conversation with hosts and other guests. The aroma of freshly brewed coffee and home baked breads flows through the inn and is the most delightful way to wake up. Our breakfast’s that include decadent quiches, crepes, and egg entrees grant you the energy that you need for a day at the beach. Enjoy a relaxing afternoon tea time that includes fresh, homemade cakes and pastries served with hot English tea during the winter and iced tea or lemonade during the summer. Come stay at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast and experience this elegant Victorian inn that offers a casual and relaxed atmosphere with breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.