We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Heaven in Cape May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humphrey Hughes House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Humphrey Hughes House
Save
You added Humphrey Hughes House to your Saves list
29 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
binghamton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of Heaven in Cape May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a return trip for us! A beautiful room, excellent service and a gourmet breakfast every morning served on the porch...the Humphrey Hughes House is a wonderful place to relax. Close to the beach and the "downtown" area of Cape May Enjoy the porch....make new friends and leave your worries at the door step!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
77
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This B&B is in the heart of everything. It's on the ocean block (5 houses down from beach) and is a 1 block walk (5 min) to the Washington Street Mall, which is full of cute boutiques, restaurants, and mom and pop stores. The breakfast was amazing all 3 days...see pic. The front porch of this B&B is HUGE allowing you plenty of privacy if you want it as you relax. Breakfast was served at little tables for 2 on the porch at one seating (9am) so this is perfect for a romantic getaway as you can spend all your time together without having to socialize with other guests. We took a trolley tour and they mentioned our B&B as we passed by. We also got to see the location of dozens of other B&B's and HH House is by far in the best location at a fair price. Internet access signal was very strong in our room, not so strong on the porch. We stayed in a small room and paid less than the larger rooms. I would definitely stay here again. It was the best of both worlds...the comfort of a B&B and the ease and come and go feel of a hotel right in the heart of Cape May.

Room Tip: If you want a deal choose a smaller room. The Dr's Suite has its own outside entrance. Very cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, PA, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the HHH several times and would not consider staying anywhere else. Gorgeous rooms and hosts who anticipate your every need make this THE place to stay in Cape May. Breakfast is a feast for the eyes as well as the palate and the location makes walking to the beach, shopping or dining effortless. Worth a trip!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

For our first experience at a B&B, we were very pleased with our stay at the Humphrey Hughes House. We were pleasantly surprised by the charming accomodations, including Victorian decor and elegant bedroom suite. The professional staff went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. The manager, Tiffany, did a great job of giving us a quick and comprehensive orientation of the inn. The breakfast on the porch was lovely each morning, and their exceptional service made us feel very special. Every detail of the breakfast was beyond our expectations. We also enjoyed the porch in the evening, when we could relax and mingle with the other guests. Overall, we were delighted with our stay and we are already planning our return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent all the way around. Immaculate, wonderful breakfasts on the huge front porch, and comfortable bed. Highly recommend this great bed and breakfast. One block to the beach and short walk to town. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay at the Humphrey Hughes House over the 4th of July. We were surprised each morning with a beautifully orchestrated breakfast. Not only was it delicious but the presentation was amazing. We also met delightful people. According to most of them this is there 10th or 15th year in a row staying at the Humphrey Hughes House. That says a lot for the place. My husband & I are looking forward to our next visit.
T& L

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went to this B&B for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The rooms are spacious and very clean. There's a huge balcony with many rocking chairs and small tables for all guests. Inside there's also a nice porch to relax, take tea or wine in the afternoon. The place is a few feet from the beach and a very short walk to Washington street where many restaurants are. I would strongly recomment this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Humphrey Hughes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphrey Hughes House

Address: 29 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humphrey Hughes House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.