We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in Beautiful Cape May!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerbread House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gingerbread House
Save
You added Gingerbread House to your Saves list
28 Gurney Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Metuchen, New Jersey
1 review
“Lovely B&B in Beautiful Cape May!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our first visit to the Gingerbread House, and hopefully, it won't be our last. The rooms are impeccably clean and charming and the breakfasts were delicious! We ended up staying in the front deluxe room with the huge balcony on our last night, and it was a delight! The Gingerbread House is on a quiet street that is a couple of blocks away from the town center (but still very close) and literally a block from the beach. They provide guests with beach chairs and beach towels, and although we didn't use them, bicycles were available also. Joan and Fred were friendly and helpful, as well as McKinley who helped us check in--all had great eating recommendations as well. The house has stunningly beautiful decor without being stuffy or museum-like. It made a great home base for our exploration of Cape May!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    32
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
74
202
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Gingerbread House the weekend after Labor Day ... we lucked out with delightful weather! I had booked this for a 60th birthday surprise for my husband, and it just so happened to be our 38th wedding anniversary, as well! This was our first experience with a B&B and will definitely not be our last. Fred and Joan, the owners, were friendly and welcoming, as was Mac, who speedily checked us in and gave us some tips on where to eat and what we might do for fun. The breakfasts were dee-lish! They even had a Keurig coffee maker, so we could make coffee whenever we wanted. As a previous reviewer stated, our room was made up while we were having breakfast. The house itself was decorated so adorably and classical music played in the background. We spent time sitting and reading on the lovely porch. It was enjoyable having breakfast in the dining room with the other guests and conversing with them, too. Highly recommend The Gingerbread House for a nice relaxing Cape May weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balto.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I can't imagine a better experience than the Gingerbread House. Everything is first class and well kept from Fred's maintenance of the property to Joan's well prepared meals and an attentive staff there's no reason to go anywhere else. We eagerly anticipate our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting the Gingerbread House for quite a few years now, and I can honestly say this is the first place I feel like I am at home. Not in the decor; which is tasteful and beautiful, but by the hospitality of Joan and Fred. They are great innkeepers and have become something of our friends away from home. You will not be disappointed with the food and the location is great. Walking distance to the beach, the town, and great restaurants. The rooms on the third floor all share a bath; but don't shy away. I am a stickler for cleanliness and I'm telling you that this bath is cleaner than some homes of friends and family I have been in. They also have rooms with private baths. So, come down and enjoy Cape May in one of the friendliest places I know :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Gingerbread House is a beautifully furnished inn. It's greatest asset; however, is its owners. Joan makes you feel right at home and her hot breakfasts are delicious. Housekeeping is also very speedy. Your room is made up when you get back from breakfast. The inn is in a convenient location near the beach & not too far from the mall. One of the only faults I find is that it is quite difficult to find a parking space in the busy season. If you plan on coming and going a lot you could end up walking a few blocks. There is no assigned lot so you need to use street parking. The inn also does not take credit cards which for some may be problematic. Overall we had a wonderful stay and met wonderful people.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gingerbreadhousemgmt, Owner at Gingerbread House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We have a small 6 room inn and we've been running this successful business for 34 years. We've decided to take Visa/Mc for last minute reservations. However, in an effort to keep our prices competitive, which gets more difficult each year, we have elected not to take credit cards for balances of a reservation. We're more than happy to take a personal check for the balance. Normally we take a personal check for the deposit and balance due for the reservation. Our policies are expressed to all people when we take a reservation and the policies are written on our confirmation letters.

The reason why we don't offer REMOTE LOT parking is because the lots are farther away from our Inn than finding street parking a few blocks away. I son't think our guests would be happy having to walk 5 blocks to a remote lot in the dark when they could park a few blocks away or as close as across the street from our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband, myself, and our four older daughters had a wonderful stay at the Gingerbread House! Throughout our visit in this lovingly cared for - picturesque home, we fell in love with Cape May, as well as Joan and Fred, the owners of the Gingerbread House. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Gingerbread House is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Cape May. The house is impeccable and very comfortable. Joan serves a delicious breakfast each morning and snacks are available throughout the day. You can park your car and walk to everything. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gingerbread House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread House

Address: 28 Gurney Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously and elegantly restored 1869 Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn situated in the historical district and 1/2 block to beach. Period antiques, original watercolors, classical music, Fred's photographs and exquisite woodwork combine with friendly service and attention to detail. Delightful breezes and the sounds of the sea create a comfortable setting amidst the wonderful furnishing of a golden age. Breakfast, fireplace, private baths and guest veranda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gingerbread House Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerbread House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.