We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Gingerbread House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerbread House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gingerbread House
Save
You added Gingerbread House to your Saves list
28 Gurney Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Brewerton, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Gingerbread House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the Gingerbread House recently with my mother- what a great trip! The Gingerbread House has got to be the best B & B in Cape May, in all categories. The location is outstanding, the property is beautiful and Joan is a wonderful hostess (not to mention a great chef- breakfasts were fantastic and we skipped lunch both days we were there!) We were in room 1 upstairs with the porch- huge room with everything we could possibly want. We can't wait to go back, which hopefully will be sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    32
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
74
202
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed with Fred and Joan many times, and as always, everything was wonderful- the room was immaculate, the food (breakfast) was incredible, and the area restaurants were awesome! (The weather was fantastic, too! and the beach was all ours!)

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms shared the bathroom, however, in the fall, generally only one couple is on 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. It was conveniently located so that walking to both the beach and the shops was both enjoyable and hassle-free. But most importantly, the service and customer care we received was exceptional. The owners are such pleasant people that genuinely care about your comfort and are very willing to share restaurant and activity recommendations. The rooms themselves were accurately decorated to the house's time period which was a joy to experience, plus the rooms are adequately supplied with everything you should need during your stay. The Gingerbread House definitely made my visit to Cape May more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My girlfriend and myself decided to treat ourselves to a Girlfriend Getaway and we stayed at The Gingerbread House. What a delightful experience! We were warmly welcomed by McKinley who carried our luggage to our beautifully appointed and very large suite. There were two, extremely comfortable double, wrought iron beds each complete with the most adorable little bunny rabbits crafted from towels. Some of the amenities included very plush beach towels, beach chairs, a very spacious outdoor shower complete with soaps, shampoos, conditioners and many towels. We relaxed and rocked away the evening on our private porch. The sound of the horse-drawn carriages added to the charm of this wonderful bed and breakfast. All our desires were fulfilled even down to the wine glasses complete with ice in the evening along with the breakfast menu for the following morning. There were always cookies/brownies and coffee available. We were within walking distance of restaurants, shops, Churches, and, of course, the beach. Joan and Fred you have certainly created a true, liveable fantasy in your extraordinary Gingerbread House complete with the warm, inviting scent of gingerbread. And did I say how wonderfully delicious the breakfasts were! We are looking forward to next year's Girlfriend Getaway!

Room Tip: The luxury suite is perfect with the private front porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Gingerbread House after having to change travel plans due to the hurricanes at the end of August. Luckily for us, Joan had a last minute cancellation and we were able to book a stay. To say the least we were very disappointed that we would not be cruising to the balmy Caribbean (as we do not vacation very often) but our disappointment changed to delight as we pulled up to the charming Victorian.
Simply put, Cape May is a throw back to a time where gas lit street lanterns and horse drawn carriages were the norm. It is homey, relaxing, clean, and so naturally beautiful. The Gingerbread House and most importantly Fred and Joan, were the perfect representatives of this charming town. They clearly love the area and take pride in all of the work that they have done to keep their home looking as pristine and authentic as it does. Both my husband and I have severe food allergies and Joan went out of her way to buy us gluten free cereal and almond milk! So thoughtful! We stayed in the room with the porch, which was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Sitting out on the porch in the morning and the end of the day was so relaxing too. The Gingerbread House is a must stay, it is centrally located (walk to everything) and full of character. Expect to be taken care of and welcomed home by Fred and Joan. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Get the bedroom with the front porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Point, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and it was great! We had never been to Cape May and I had checked trip advisor for good B & B's. Luckily some of the B & B's that were rated higher on the site were sold out because the Gingerbread House was great! The location was perfect!! Half a block from the beach and a block or two from town. Also there's a bike shop right across the street to rent bikes if you want to. We didn't need a car the whole weekend! Joan was wonderful, the house was charming and the food was delicious! Plus the price was great too. We will definetly be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Our recent stay at Gingerbread House in Cape May was excellent. It's a beautiful old Victorian Home with tremendous charm and very well appointed. We had the room with the front porch and used it every evening we were there.

The location is terrific -- less than 1/2 block from the Beach and new Convention Center.

My kids and I really enjoyed the atmosphere at breakfast each morning with Joan and the other guests. Joan was very helpful in recommending daily activities for our family and we greatly appreciated it.

My kids range in age from 11 to 20 and all were very comfortable and happy with our rooms. Thanks Joan.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gingerbread House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread House

Address: 28 Gurney Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously and elegantly restored 1869 Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn situated in the historical district and 1/2 block to beach. Period antiques, original watercolors, classical music, Fred's photographs and exquisite woodwork combine with friendly service and attention to detail. Delightful breezes and the sounds of the sea create a comfortable setting amidst the wonderful furnishing of a golden age. Breakfast, fireplace, private baths and guest veranda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gingerbread House Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerbread House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.