We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerbread House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gingerbread House
28 Gurney Street, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Gingerbread House after having to change travel plans due to the hurricanes at the end of August. Luckily for us, Joan had a last minute cancellation and we were able to book a stay. To say the least we were very disappointed that we would not be cruising to the balmy Caribbean (as we do not vacation very often) but our disappointment changed to delight as we pulled up to the charming Victorian.
Simply put, Cape May is a throw back to a time where gas lit street lanterns and horse drawn carriages were the norm. It is homey, relaxing, clean, and so naturally beautiful. The Gingerbread House and most importantly Fred and Joan, were the perfect representatives of this charming town. They clearly love the area and take pride in all of the work that they have done to keep their home looking as pristine and authentic as it does. Both my husband and I have severe food allergies and Joan went out of her way to buy us gluten free cereal and almond milk! So thoughtful! We stayed in the room with the porch, which was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Sitting out on the porch in the morning and the end of the day was so relaxing too. The Gingerbread House is a must stay, it is centrally located (walk to everything) and full of character. Expect to be taken care of and welcomed home by Fred and Joan. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Get the bedroom with the front porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    31
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
68
177
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stony Point, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and it was great! We had never been to Cape May and I had checked trip advisor for good B & B's. Luckily some of the B & B's that were rated higher on the site were sold out because the Gingerbread House was great! The location was perfect!! Half a block from the beach and a block or two from town. Also there's a bike shop right across the street to rent bikes if you want to. We didn't need a car the whole weekend! Joan was wonderful, the house was charming and the food was delicious! Plus the price was great too. We will definetly be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Our recent stay at Gingerbread House in Cape May was excellent. It's a beautiful old Victorian Home with tremendous charm and very well appointed. We had the room with the front porch and used it every evening we were there.

The location is terrific -- less than 1/2 block from the Beach and new Convention Center.

My kids and I really enjoyed the atmosphere at breakfast each morning with Joan and the other guests. Joan was very helpful in recommending daily activities for our family and we greatly appreciated it.

My kids range in age from 11 to 20 and all were very comfortable and happy with our rooms. Thanks Joan.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great stay, Fred and Joan have always been fantastic. The location, the food, the hosts, the staff, are all perfect. We will be returning again next summer for sure and every summer after that! I seriously cant wait, we have even contemplated booking reservations during the Fall/Winter season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first time visiting Cape May. We were looking for a place to stay and got very lucky that someone canceled their reservation. We stayed on the third floor with the shared bathroom between two other rooms and we didn't experience any problems. The food was delicious, the hosts were very generous, and the location was close to everything. Ultimately, we had a very lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our first time visiting Cape May, and by luck we picked the perfect "home base" for our visit! The Gingerbread House turned out to be exactly what we were looking for. It is beautiful, comfortable, and convenient to everything. Everybody was so nice, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catasauqua, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I give our stay at the Gingerbread house nothing short of a perfect Review. First I would like to say that they had an early check in policy which was 12:00 Noon which allowed My wife an I to enjoy some valuable beach time. We were greeted by a very loyal employee who spoke very Kindly of the Gingerbread house and Fred and Joan. It is always great to hear what employees have to say about there employers. It speaks volumes to me about the Owners.

Our room was Decorated in a Beautiful Victorian Style, and was immaculately kept throughout our stay. On our way to our Room we noticed that most of the doors to the rooms were open because the new guest had not yet arrived. These rooms were also beautiful, decorated with Victorian antiques with their own distinct charm, and once again extremely well kept and clean.

The front porch ,dining room, living room, were beautiful as well. These rooms were also decorated with furniture from the period this house was built( 1869 stated on the sign on this Historic Home).

In the Morning we woke up to the smell of Fresh food and Coffee which permeated throughout the house. Then we met Joan the owner who cooked the food, greeted us, served us, and had nice conversation with us. She made us feel like we were somewhere between family and royalty with the food quality, taste, and her attentiveness.

Joan was not only concerned about our stay in the B&B. She also was very concerned that we had a good time in town, offering very good advice on local attractions, and places to eat.

To end our trip we were told we could use the facilities and towels in a very nice outdoor shower 4 hours after we checked out and were treated to another wonderful breakfast. Beyond this she kept coffees, teas, and light snacks available in the living and dining ares throughout the day.

My wife and I have stayed at about 4 Bed and Breakfast since we have been going to Cape May. I consider this our Best experience and the standard for others to achieve.

PS Did I mention we were a half block from the Beach!!!! Loved It!! Thank you, Mickey

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gingerbread House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread House

Address: 28 Gurney Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously and elegantly restored 1869 Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn situated in the historical district and 1/2 block to beach. Period antiques, original watercolors, classical music, Fred's photographs and exquisite woodwork combine with friendly service and attention to detail. Delightful breezes and the sounds of the sea create a comfortable setting amidst the wonderful furnishing of a golden age. Breakfast, fireplace, private baths and guest veranda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gingerbread House Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerbread House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gingerbread House to your Saves list