We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“step back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Southern Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Southern Mansion to your Saves list
The Southern Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Washington ST, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our two night stay with a "living social" discount was perfect. The hotel is beautifully restored, so if you enjoy history and luxury, this is a great place. It's also conveniently situated, a short walk to the downtown restaurants, shops, and tourist services. The staff people were friendly and happy to help with anything. My husband and I felt very pampered. Breakfast (included) was delicious, starting with a really good buffet, and then table seating with a menu and a waiter to deliver a hot meal (strawberry French toast was delicious, omelets were as good as any I've ever had). We were so pleased to have chosen The Southern Mansion for our stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    33
    11
    18
    4
See reviews for
13
130
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our family stayed at the Mansion and held our rehearsal dinner there. Andreea was so helpful and responsive. She was creative and calming when I needed it.
The mansion is a gorgeous venue for an occasion like this. The event was magical.
The rooms are gorgeous and all different. But as a caution, you have to be able to do stairs to fully enjoy the experience.
The staff was wonderful and the food was excellent.
It is not on the beach but that was not the focus of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our stay at Southern Mansion September 15-18, 2013 was in perfect alignment with everything that we were looking for.
.
From the warm welcome of Rita at the front desk..-the charming mansion...-the weather-... wonderful made to order "everything omelette"......topped off by a beautiful wedding that took place in the garden.

The spiral staircase provided the perfect back drop to the glowing bride.

It was a magical first time experience . Rita offered suggestions to complement our stay that was a fit for us.

Room 22 is awesome. We plan to return soon to "our room."

Our Camryn said "Hi" to your Camryn.

Myers

Room Tip: Ask Rita who works at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Booked one of the more expensive rooms for a 2 night stay.
Positives- good location in town, and the breakfast offered was excellent.
Negatives- The room was on the second floor and required ascent of a bizarre, almost vertical, narrow staircase. Two trips of schlepping luggage up this passageway and I was exhausted. No bellhops here. This room would not be suited to the elderly or anyone with an orthopedic handicap. The room was spacious, but also bizarre. The King bed was in a loft requiring another steep ascent up a spiral stair. The ceiling in the loft must have been designed for little people- over 4 ft tall and you whack you head on the ceiling. Any approach to the bed required stooping. At night, a bathroom call included 2 head bumps and a treacherous descent down the dark narrow spiral staircase. Oh boy. Considered purchasing a chamberpot. The bathroom had a small shower and toilet. No room for the sink, so it was out in the living area????? Huh? The "solarium" would be better named as a small sitting room. The window faced north, ergo no sun in the "solarium". No WiFi in the rooms- have to go to the central room to get on the internet. No minifridge in the room, and the ice machine was down 2 floors. On checking out, the desk person, a grumpy older woman, did not even look up from her calculator to ask if we had a pleasant stay- just "Key please" like the Goblin in Harry Potter.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernmansion, Manager at The Southern Mansion, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are so very sorry that there were problems with your stay! Our guests are our number one priority, and any rudeness is unacceptable so we apologize profusely!
Unfortunately you did not mention any of your concerns to us before you left because we would have been happy to make any changes possible to accommodate you and facilitate a great experience. If you don't talk to us it is sadly impossible to help you.
Your room choice was chosen by you and booked online. The online description of a bi-level loft room is extremely descriptive and exact, as are the pictures. Though that room is loved by many many guests, we would never have recommend it to anyone who disliked or had a hard time with stairs. it appears the house was basically sold out when you booked but had you let us know you were unhappy when you arrived we would have been happy to try to have moved you to a large high ceiling first floor room that would have made you happy. I was also very concerned also about the "no bell-hop" comment as we have a man available to carry bags,and even the check-in staff are happy to take your bags to the room and they are trained to inquire if you need help with your bags when you arrive. As for the solarium I am a wee confused as with a 15 ft wall of glass and sunlight streaming in during different times of day , I don't think I'd call the 15ft x16ft room a small porch. Please call our manager Denise at 609-884-7171 we would love to do something to make you happy and learn to improve from your comments. Thank you Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent (3) nights at the Southern Mansion. It was our 1st time, there. Our 1st night was a nightmare. A loud & constant noise prevented us from sleeping. My husband described it as a diesel engine idling. I would describe it as the sound of a jack hammer. The next morning, we told the front desk about it. They offered to move us to a different room. We jumped at the chance. The remainder of our stay was VERY enjoyable. Altho, I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we could hear thru the walls & it is quite a distance to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernmansion, Manager at The Southern Mansion, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments! We look forward to having you stay with us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Expensive (even in the off-season) but beautiful, especially for people who love historic homes (this one built in the 1860s). Lovingly restored, it includes lots of antiques (including in guest rooms), many of which had been stored when the early owners passed away and were discovered when the house was purchased (acc. to one of the staff). The staff were very nice and friendly, the breakfast servers delightful! Breakfasts were nice and included not only a buffet of pastries, fresh fruit, smoked salmon and more, but also on top of that an entree you could order (omelettes, pancakes or French toast, etc.) We loved lingering on the wicker chaises on the front porch reading and enjoying the gardens, and the walk to the beach is just a few blocks. (By the way, the house has beach chairs and towels for guests' use.) Overall, a lovely stay.

Room Tip: One caveat: We stayed in Room #11 and when the room next to us was occupied, we could hear the noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is well worth the cost>a bit pricy but something to see Each room is different ,the staff is wonderful and the breakfast is over the top .You also get a tour of the Mansion that was really interesting .Located 2 streets from a downtown plaza filled with restaurants ,small shops and open till late at night .A walk to the beach but not that far

Room Tip: talk to staff when booking and ask them to describe rooms that are avail
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Southern Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southern Mansion

Address: 720 Washington ST, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#11 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southern Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Southern Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
Southern Mansion Cape May
Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Southern Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.