We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Southern Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Southern Mansion to your Saves list
The Southern Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Washington ST, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$159 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Everyone that works at the South Mansion is GREAT, they Treat you like Family..go visit them and you will be back again & again!! It is close to everything and the property and grounds are beautiful. If you need recommendations or anything at all the staff is happy to help you.. Breakfast was wonderful in the sun room. We loved sitting on the outside deck having a glass a wine and enjoying fresh air.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    33
    11
    18
    4
See reviews for
13
130
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose the Southern Mansion in Cape May for our wedding venue. This is an absolutely gorgeous B&B in historical Cape May NJ. The rooms are simply beautiful, each one decorated in period Victorian motif. We can't say enough about our experience at the mansion. The staff is excellent. Our wedding guests were amazed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Point, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Beautiful old mansion with very spacious rooms. Very good breakfast and a very accommodating staff. Location was very good and within biking distance of shopping, beaches and tourist sites. It is not within easy walking distance of the beach which could be an issue if you went in the summer but as we were there in the fall that was not an issue. We would have liked better lighting in the rooms and common areas to facilitate reading and computer use. Would definitely stay there again. Recommend bringing bikes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernmansion, Manager at The Southern Mansion, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We try to make the rooms big beautiful jewel boxes, each one different, so you can enjoy their beauty, and uniqueness in total comfort! The most important event to us, is that you have a wonderful, and memorable stay. We truly want to make you happy, and we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, N.J.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We decided to take a mini, mid week, winter get away and booked into the Southern Mansion, a bed and breakfast in Cape May, which is a Historical Landmark, filled with Victorian Era structures. The property is breathtaking, an no expense was spared in renovation and restoration of this magnificent piece of history. Our accommodations were like none other, being finely appointed with period furnishings and original character. Upon check in, we found the front desk personnel to be very friendly and informative about current events and the history of the building. Our room was comfortable, service was wonderful, breakfast was delicious (cooked to order along with buffet of assorted fruits and cereals), and the entire property was clean and well kept, as per my wife a clean freak, who has been in the hospitality business her entire adult life, She tends to be a little critical, and could find nothing but wonderful things to say about this beautiful property. It was very relaxing to sit in the elegantly decorated ballroom, with the 15 foot Christmas tree and other trimmings and dual working fireplaces, while writing out our Christmas Cards. The entire property has been decorated for the Christmas Holiday and that is a spectacular sight to behold. Although living only 10 miles from the Southern Mansion, we will be repeating our experience throughout the years to come. A definite five star experience!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tiffany Room, with a cupola that extended above the roof, which is a feature that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernmansion, Manager at The Southern Mansion, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed the special luxurious, warm, and comfortable ambiance the Southern Mansion offers at the holiday. Sitting and relaxing in front of the fireplaces is such a wonderful relaxing experience. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to having you as our guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We wanted a non traditional venue for our fall wedding. We found The Southern Mansion during one of our internet searches and were taken aback my the beautiful pictures. Not only is it gorgeous, its just as spacious. We spoke and emailed the wedding coordinator Andreea, who was such a big help; we booked our wedding date before even taking the tour!! The planning process was so easy as Andreea responded prompted to ALL my emails. Other staff members were just as helpful to us as well as our guests. Our wedding took place 2 weeks after Hurricane Sandy hit...we sent out our prayers to those that were affected in Cape May and surrounding areas..and send special thanks to Andreea and all The Southern Mansion staff that made our day as perfect as we planned for. From the hello at the front door to the bartenders mixing martinis! A wonderful weekend...cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, a bonus is one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We have never considered ourselves the B&B types but I want to stay in places that are quaint, charming, and memorable. The Southern Mansion is all of these. It is just the perfect blend of personal attention and privacy. The room was fabulous. When we arrived, there were homemade cookies and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. Every detail was taken care of down to books on the nightstand. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. And it's within walking distance of the shopping area. We had a great time.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernmansion, Manager at The Southern Mansion, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! We can't wait to have you stay with us again!
Denise Cortina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is the place where we got married - the wedding was in the parlor, dinner was on the porch and the reception was downstairs. Love the variety of rooms (#3, #4, #11, #25 and #1), love the breakfasts. It's a fabulous place to stay, no matter what season and within easy walking distance of the pedestrian mall.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernmansion, Manager at The Southern Mansion, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We are glad you loved your wedding! It was beautiful! But more than anything we appreciate your return business ! Thank you for your compliments!
Denise Cortina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Southern Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southern Mansion

Address: 720 Washington ST, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#11 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southern Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Southern Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
Southern Mansion Cape May
Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Southern Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.