We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Relaxing Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angel of the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Angel of the Sea to your Saves list
Angel of the Sea
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5-7 Trenton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing, Relaxing Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We traveled down to Cape May for our 3rd Anniversary. The staff at Angel By the Sea really made our weekend a special one. The location is perfect. Across the street from the beach, far enough away (but still within walking distance) of the touristy areas. The cruiser bikes supplied by Angel By the Sea as part of our stay made it fun and easy to get around town. We parked our car and didn't get in it again until we left 3 days later. The breakfasts, Afternoon Tea and Wine and Cheese in the early evening made it tough to find a reason to eat out more than once a day. Our room was nice, old-style Victorian. It was clean and well kept. However, hanging out in our room all day was not on the top of our list. The outdoor balconies and porches at Angel by the Sea, the complimentary bikes, beach chairs / towels / umbrellas and the incredible weather made it impossible to want to stay inside during daylight hours. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and so much fun. We felt like we were staying with people who really loved Cape May and where they worked. They took pride in what they do and treated guests as family, even leaving a Happy Anniversary card in our room upon our arrival. Awesome stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    52
    34
    20
    9
See reviews for
22
172
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I have been staying at the Angel of the Sea 2 or 3 times every year for the past 20+ years and we have loved every minute of every stay. The Inn and the employees are the most accommodating of any other Inn we have stayed. We have stayed in atleast a dozen different rooms and they all have their own caracter and victorian charm. We always ask the staff to make our dinner reservations at the different restaurants in Cape May, many times they were able to get us a reservation when the restaurant was booked and we were not able to get one on our own. We have stayed at many other B & Bs in Cape May, when the Angel was booked full and some of them are fine but not one other Cape May B & B can come close to the charm and hospitality of the Angels of the Sea.

Room Tip: The Inn has 3 or 4 different classes of rooms so of course the higher the price of the room the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for one night as a wedding gift and that was long enough. My biggest complaint was the mattress was so old, it was U-shaped. I know a lot of people like the old victorian era stuff but I think it's just old, broken, creaky, and dirty looking. The breakfast was plain lousy. Some sort of kish egg/potato square? Thank goodness we were there early in the season with cool outside air. In the summer I'd imagine this place is a furnace. The staff tried to be friendly but forgot our complimentary champagne even after we asked for it. Housekeeping knocked once around 11 am and immediately unlocked the door to find us sitting there half naked. They apologized and immediately shut the door. At $300 per night it was not a good value.
The pluses were walking on the beach, bike riding around town and tea or coffee with sweets, the cheese and crackers with wine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have been going to the Angel for 20 years now, several times a year. You could say we are regulars. Its our home away from home. And we have never had a bad experience there.
The staff is always friendly and informative. Ask them any question and you always get a polite answer. The owners, Lori and Charles, go above and beyond what is expected of them. From the redecorating, to the cooking, to the daily preparation they are the best. The food is always outstanding, breakfast, coffee, tea time, wine and cheese never disappoint. The hosts, the maid service, maintenance, all are fantastic. Everyone makes you feel at home. Free bikes, umbrellas, towels, chairs, and more. Walk to the beach.
We plan on continuing our visits for many years to come. We highly recommend the Angel of the Sea to all who want a memorable vacation.
Jeff and Darlene from Bucks County Pa.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but if you can, go for the Angel Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amityville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just returned from our annual pre Memorial day stay at the Angel.When you arrive Chet is always there too greet you you with a great big smile!Laurie the owner and Chalres her husband are great Inn keepers.Beach is across the street.Can't beat tea time and all the goodies.Breakfast is the highlight of the day,along with seeing all of our Angel friends,wich are easy to make,can't wait for next year already booked our room!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was so looking forward to staying here after many years admiring the B & B from the outside and visiting on a tour in late 1990's. Sorry to share Angel of the Sea really didn't feel or present it's self to the high standards of other well known Cape May B & B's. Improvements in cleaning of rooms, our wood floors had a layer of dust, bath towels rough, pillows old and wall paper showing age. B & B is decorated not in beautiful antiques, but it seemed like yard sale old items. Walls are thin between rooms, be prepared to hear other guest from their tv's to conversations.
Breakfast too many guest staying at B & B not enough setting, line for buffet items blocks entrance to dining room. Food okay, nothing special, egg dish burnt on bottom. Coffee was good.
Best thing about B & B is the views from porches and how it looks on outside.
Will not be staying here again. Will stay at other well known B & B right in front, that's a five star.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I'll never forget my stay here. It's really close to the beach and offers tons of amenities. They have bikes you can use to explore the shore... You'll see it's the way most locals travel around. The staff was very knowledgeable of the area. I would recommend this gem to anyone!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angel of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel of the Sea

Address: 5-7 Trenton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn located opposite the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Hotwire so you can book your Angel of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Of The Sea Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel of the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.