We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence on the old Highway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reeves Motel

Reeves Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reeves Motel
Save
You added Reeves Motel to your Saves list
587 US 9, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Ashland,VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellence on the old Highway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Reeves Motel is a small 25 unit or so roadside motel about halfway between Cape May and Wildwood, NJ. It is on US Route 9, which is now lightly trafficked, and the staff, the rooms, the pool, and the general appearance are excellent. Margaret et al. were incredibly nice. They had a nice picnic area with a gas grill, and that coastal mainstay, a shuffleboard court. I highly recommend it if you don't have the green for Cape May, and want to avoid the very cool and very retro, but kinda crowded scene at Wildwood. Going back soon I think, and looking forward to it.

Room Tip: the last 2 things were not applicable. Regular rooms and kitchenettes available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I certainly appreciate the fact that the Reeves Motel is under $100 which is quite a deal in Cape May; however, is it necessary that the towels feel like sandpaper? If this had been a pleasure trip and not business, I probably would have been more displeased with this accommodation. As it was, my husband had an art show on the beach. This worked. The room was large enough and clean enough. It also had a small kitchen area with microwave and frig. The blanket, though clean was quite old and ragged. Though very plain, this would have been an excellent bargain if they only spent a few hundred dollars on new blankets and softer towels. I do commend them for the lovely grounds and very clean pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

If you do not want to spend big bucks to be by the ocean or at a fancy hotel or B&B in town, then you should consider the Reeves. Think an older style motel with shuffle board courts to get the picture. But, it is clean and very reasonable. Our room, even not an efficiency unit, had a microwave, small refridge and toaster and coffee maker but no eating dishes or utensils - so if you want a little breakast in, head to the Acme in Cape May or a Wawa convenience store for those items plus something to eat. You would need to drive or bike to the beaches, but there is a bike trail nearby (not sure where it goes though). The owners are on site and very friendly and have coffee in the office in the morning. It is also close to the ferry to Delaware. And, there is a very nice looking pool although it was too cold to use during our stay. I think this is good place for families in the summer as long as everyone quiets down when others want to sleep. I have the feeling the walls may be thin, but we had no noise at all even though the next room was occupied.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Reeves is a family operated motel, and caters to the economy minded tourist. The staff is all family, and treats its guest as family. It is clean and quiet, with a pool for the kids after a long day at the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but clean and well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

This place is great! It is family owned and run and the service is impeccable. The pool is beautiful and the staff has even started passing out popsicles to the kids. :-) The rooms are always clean and there is a large yard for the kids to play in. Plus, there is a grill and patio to use. It is located 4 miles between both Cape May & Wildwood beaches. Plus, they are the best rates in town!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Have stayed both on the boardwalk in Wildwood/W. Crest (noisy, incredibly expensive) and out-of-town motels like this one (tiny rooms, dirty, damaged, smelly). The Reeves is a place we have passed by on bicycles and made a note of, and this year we couldn't book at our usual spot and gave it a try. The rooms are hardly suites, but they are on par with a typical hotel room, not cramped at all. Small fridge is included, powerful wall air conditioner, and small but excellent pool - sign said 6' deep at deep end, actually ore like 7' deep, a tremendous improvement over the 4' pools at most of these type places. But the huge, huge pleasant suprise - with one exception I'll cover in a moment - was that the pool, the room, and indeed everything was meticulously clean. The pool had very little chlorine in it, it didn't need it. The room didn't have a gallon of air freshener sprayed, it didn't need it. No puddles of rusty water, no smashed mirrors. Just a nice clean place, which sad to say is practically impossible to get at the Shore for under $250 a night - unless you stay at the Reeves.

No, not everything is perfect. The bed was a bit soggy - needs a new, firm mattress (but no worse than practically every other shore location). And for some reason, there were flies in the room the first night - the room even came with its own fly swatter so it must be a constant problem. They certainly weren't breeding in the room and we couldn't find anyplace they were coming in from, so they must have flown in while we were unloading the car. Strange, because I never say a fly while outside...but this is The Shore, and there are swamps to the west that sweep in hordes of flies (including some nasty meat eaters) when the wind is right. They rarely make it to the boardwalk but they are one of the "features" of living at The Shore whereever you go.

Two miles north you intersect with 47, the main road heading into Wildwood, with lots of restaraunts and shops (but Dock Mike's is now gone, R.I.P. the best nearest pancakes and ham), Literally a hundred yard to the south is the bike path leading into Cape May proper (the "Island"), the lighthouse, and the quaint shops. Since north is by car and south is generally by bike, in a very real sense The Reeves is actually better situated than the motels we usually stay at, which are strung out along 47.Biking from, for example, the Meadowview all the way down to Cape May Point is downright exhausting, but from The Reeves it's a very pleasant jaunt; while driving into Wildwood by car will add only three minutes to your trip.

The Reeves was inexpensive, friendly, perfectly situated (short of being on the beach), and clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We had a very nice stay at the Reeves Hotel. Our room was an efficiency. It was roomy and clean. The beds were comfortable. The kitchenette was stock with dishes, pots, toaster, coffee pot, microwave and utensils. You do need to bring some basics -- hair dryer and a clock, as those are not provided. Also, only small soaps provided, so, depending on the length of your stay, you may want to bring your own soap. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reeves Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reeves Motel

Address: 587 US 9, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reeves Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.