We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent World Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of M’ocean

M’ocean
429 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
+1 609-884-1925
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 95 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: American, Fusion, Eclectic, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our ocean-inspired restaurant and raw bar, located in Cape May, New Jersey, strikes a perfect balance of fresh coastal cuisine and fine dining. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and featuring simplistic menu options that reflect the simplicity of fresh ingredients and a cool ocean breeze, M'ocean delivers an evolving dining experience that stimulates all of your senses.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent World Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The call it Tapas but I think it has an international flavor to the food. I spoke with the owner for awhile and she said they like to travel and I think it is reflected in the flavor of the food. I like almost all the small plates appetizers especially the tuna with the rice cake. Appts were nice portion and fun to share and I wish they didn't have an entree minimum cuz I would have just eaten all appts and have been just fine with it. Bring friends to share and BTW, the live music was also a nice touch.

Bonus: The staff was also very pretty to look at not a bad looker in sight :-)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    80
    26
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to eat there again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I had a coupon from Restaurant.com for Martini Beach and wanted to use it, so we went. I wasn't sure what to expect but we loved it. We had the filet mignon. My husband is very picky about steak so since he was very happy with it, I can say without doubt that it was a quality steak. We loved the drinks and sat where we had a nice view of the ocean across the street. I would recommend it to anyone and will be going back again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Started in the bar for Happy Hour and even though it was a good value ($5 martinis in Cape May on Labor Day was cheap in comparison) the drinks left a lot to be desired. So we went elsewhere for cocktails but did come back for dinner. They have a nice selection of tapas and it was good but not great. The best part of the evening was their Elderflower signature cocktail - which was fantastic! Definitely a must-try if you visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worst Tapas Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I have been eating in Cape May for the past 14 years and we definitely have our favorite restaurants that we frequent. It had been years since we had been to Martini Beach and thought we would give it another try, this past Monday. It was one of the worst meals that I have had in quite some time. We ordered 4 tapas and only one of them was edible. The mushrooms were supposed to be in a sherry broth, however, the only broth they were swimming in was their own tasteless mushroom water. Absolutely no seasoning in them. The octopus was bland and chewy. The clams with pork were overwhelmed with garlic from a jar. The mac and cheese was the only thing edible and even that wasn't very good. There are too many other good places for a meal in Cape May.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So-so food, great location for cocktails.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went to the bar for happy hour, but were too late for the drink specials. The ambiance was great and the martini selection was pretty extensive. We ordered the Cucumber-Basil Gimlet and the Caribbean, We also ordered crab cakes and chicken skewers. The drinks were fantastic but pricey, around $12.00 each. The food was a big let-down. Very small portions and lackluster quality. I definitely expected more given the other reviews. The servers and bartenders were all very friendly, though, and if you can make it for the happy hour specials you're guaranteed a good start to your evening.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M’ocean also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to M’ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M’ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.