We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape May's Exquisite Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Grill

Island Grill
311 Mansion Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
+1 609-884-0200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 95 Restaurants in Cape May
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: American Coastal Cuisine inspired by the land and the sea, featuring locally-sourced, seasonal ingredients.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cape May's Exquisite Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Cape May has many fabulous places to eat, but everything about Island Grill was perfect. The atmosphere was casual and friendly, the waitstaff professional and knowledgable about the food choices. (The hostess, Jan, gave us a great suggestion for wine--Hawk Haven Vineyard--which led to another culinary delight for Sunday brunch.) The lobster mac and cheese at Island Grill was exceptional; there was enough for a second dinner the next night! I will be going back again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    30
    15
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nicest meal we had in Cape May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I find most the the restaurants in Cape May to be expensive tourist traps with average food. The Island Grill was an exception to this. We went there during the Labor Day week and wandered in to see if there was any chance of a seating since most places here require reservations and we had a just acquired a kid free night.The owners daughter was there to greet and said she needed to check with the big boss (mom). A short time later the owner greeted us and said she could squeeze us in but it would be a few minutes and suggested we get a bottle of wine as it was a BYOB. By the time we returned a few minutes later she had a table set for us ready to go. The atmosphere was buzzing and the owner seemed to know most people. This did not have a feel of a tourist trap but rather a small town favorite restaurant. The food was great and reasonable. The waiter was over the top but in an entertaining way. I had the macadamia crusted chicken which was out of this world and my wife had the pasta special which she says was equally good. The owner greeted us again just before we left and inquired genuinely how we liked each dish. I would definitely recommend this to anyone coming to the shore and we will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Island feel....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We ran across Island Grill in 2009 for our last night in CM. Thought it was outstanding. For our first night here again, I booked dinner reservations here but didn't realize it was same place we ate at in 2009! My daughter had the pork medallions and yes, called it complete happiness! My scallops and hubby's crabcakes were very good but nothing amazing. The creme brulee was complete happiness for me and beef eggrolls were very good as well. Great island feel and good service

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception Catering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We used the Island Grill for our 75 person wedding at the Cape May Ferry Terminal. From initially meeting Carol, the owner, we were impressed. She did not force us to stick to already chosen menu items. We discussed how we cook at home, prefer natural, not processed ingrediants, and she respected that. She used our preferences to develop a beautfiul menu, even using our sauce recipes for an appetizer. She had us for dinner at the restaraunt for our "tasting" and that meal was wonderful also. She was always accessible via email or phone and no request was too much to ask of her. The butlered Hors Doeuveres, salad, and entrees of filet, sear ahi tuna, and airline chicken were wonderful. Her staff handled themselves professionally and she ran the kitchen smoothly, not once asking us any questions, etc. Her prices were very reasonable. I would highly recommend Island Grill restaraunt and catering also. Definately NOT cookie cutter, or wedding factory!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, would highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We have wanted to try Island Grill since our vacation to the Cape May area since last year and are so glad we finally did! The food was great, everyone in our party had nothing but good things to say about their meals. I had the Pork Medallions, which were excellent. Get the Lobster Mac n Cheese as an appetizer for everyone to try. As for the reviewer with the requests for an adult only section, there are plenty of other restaurants in Cape May that are adult only, with excellent food. Perhaps you should take your business elsewhere. This is, after all, a family vacation destination. It is very difficult to find very good restaurants that allow children. Don't ruin it for the rest of us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Grill also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.