We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the lovliest experiences I've had in a tea room!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Butterfly Tea Room

The Butterfly Tea Room
109 Sunset Boulevard Unit B, Cape May, NJ
609-898-4550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 109 restaurants in Cape May
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oakland, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the lovliest experiences I've had in a tea room!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I'm from the San Francisco Bay Area and I've tried almost every tea room in the area. The Butterfly Tea room in Cape May was SUCH a delight and could stand up to any of the others I have been to!
The atmosphere is SO charming!!!! The owner and the server made us feel as welcome as if we were guests in her home. We had the tea with scones, soup and quiche and we were TOO FULL to try any pastries! The pricing is consistent with other tea rooms. We took pictures but I haven't downloaded them from the camera yet.... This will be on our list of "musts" when next we visit Cape May!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    9
    2
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington City
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“To Tea or not to Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Definitely Tea. We had such a fun time picking out the tea and teapot for our tasting. The desserts are great, too many to mention but lets say you will want a take home. The service excellent, an adult teaparty and just enjoyable time and atmosphere

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tea Time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I love this little Tea Room. A must while in Cape May! The decor is beautiful, the tea is delicious. Next time we will get the full tea complete with scones. We found this little luxury shorly after breakfast, so we just had tea! The owner is a wonderful, kind person!! We even got to choose our own teapot!!! A must!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing remarkable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was my second experience at the Butterfly Tea Room and since I cannot remember the first time, I am guessing it wasn't remarkable. Although the owner was very gracious and made all her guests feel welcome, the bottom line is it is overpriced and the amount of food was skimpy. Since I am a self professed "Anglophile", I seek tea rooms whenever I travel in and out of the country. The Butterfly Tea room needs to give more food if they continue to demand their high prices. I realize that tea rooms in England are expensive but this is the United States and we as consumers expect more for our money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Visit to John & Val Lightfoot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

On a visit to our friends in Talacre Beach in Wales we came across The Butterfly Tea Rooms, this is a little gem. The service, food & cleanliness is second to none, do yourself a favour & pay a visit,
you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butterfly Tea Room also viewed

 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Butterfly Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Butterfly Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.