We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great for Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capri Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capri Motor Lodge
Save
You added Capri Motor Lodge to your Saves list
1033 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hainesport, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Overall Great for Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We needed a one night stay on a Saturday night and most Cape May hotels still require a 2 night stay in October. They were very accomodating to give us a one night reservation on a Saturday night.

The location is terrific, staff friendly, room very clean and comfortable. This is an older motel and for this price this met all our needs for a one night stay. I would recommend it for a no frills motel. I had no complaints. The main feeling I had after my stay is how clean it was and was well cared for by the owners. I think they really try hard to make you stay comfortable.

Room Tip: most rooms have ocean view but ask because some are in the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    81
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
139
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I had stayed here once and decided to come again. We had a one bedroom suite. It was very clean, nut musty at all. There was ample closet and drawer space as well as much bathroom storage space. The location was great. A couple of not so great things: the a/c unit was beyond loud, but thankfully we didn't have to use it much; the elevator had a terrible smell, which it seems came from the deodorizer they put in it (!); the advertised WiFi was sketchy at best and non-existent at times, which was frustrating. All in all, though, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 3rd floor, with a balcony that looked out over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trappe, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to the Capri. I see no reason to stay anyplace else in Cape May. The location is perfect. Quiet street, at night with windows open the ocean lulls you to sleep. It is so peaceful. The beach is steps away right across the street. The staff is friendly and encourages you to use their shower facility after check out, to extend your stay. We enjoyed the beach all day, showered and left in the evening after a nice dinner in town. The rooms are nice and very clean. Beds comfortable, and with a kitchenette we could eat in if we wanted. The pool area offers a glorious pool, grills, ping pong table and shuffleboard. Even the guests are always friendly, we have a fun time staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have stayed at many locations in Cape May, from house rentals, bed & breakfasts to hotels. Our choice to stay at the Capri was one of the best choices we have made. It really is the best location! The view of the beach from the 3rd floor sundeck is panoramic to say the least. I could have stayed there all day and been happy. We started out in a standard room which was fun because you had windows on both sides of the room to catch the morning and evening sun. Halfway thru the week we transferred to a deluxe suite and found it to be so inviting with our own private beach view deck. Both rooms were clean and comfortable with great maid service. The staff was friendly and very accommodating with any questions or needs that we had. The groundskeepers do an excellent job of caring for the property and landscaping. Sparkling clean pool and beautiful flower boxes to enjoy. Not to mention complimentary fresh popped popcorn and fruit bowl. The Capri attracts some great folks, as we met and enjoyed the company of other vacationers staying at the Lodge. We will definitely be returning to the Capri Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Love this place! Quiet location, able to make meals if wanted, staff was friendly and very helpful. Best place we ever stayed at on the beach!!! I didn't want to leave, but I missed our 4 legged daughter so much. Wish they were pet friendly. Guess we have to train her to be a service dog. We needed a wheelchair assessable room. There was lots of room to get around and the parking right outside our room was wonderful and helpful.
We will always be coming here from now on. We found our home away from home.
Thank you for all you did for us!!! Even the extra coffee and popcorn!

Room Tip: The A/C unit was continued white noise, not off and on which disturbs sleep and if there was any out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Pros: good pricing for Cape May; across the road from the beach with good ocean views, friendly, helpful staff; plenty of on-site parking; clean; beds were comfortable; located on a residential block, surrounded by residential blocks - being six blocks away from bars and restaurants means entertainment within walking distance but far enough away from noise.
There were no cons for our stay but please be aware that this is a basic three-story elevator motel (besides the more luxurious townhouse suites). We visited in off-season but at the last minute. We selected the Capri just because it had a room available. The hum of the A/C was a little loud but it worked fine and was easily adjustable. We turned it off at night, since nights were cool enough. The walls and floors are slightly thin, but at the resort prices charged by this facility, it seems to attract an educated, civilized enough clientele that our neighbors were mild mannered enough for our own comfort. The flat screen TV worked well. The room came with a kitchenette and refrigerator. The beds were comfortable. We did not get maid service during our two night stay but that was not anything that mattered to us.
Also be aware that canceling reservations at this or any other Cape May hotel or B&B can be harsh. Collectively, the Cape May innkeepers can be strict because high demand keeps this a sellers market. Book well in advance if you want to have a choice of rooms but it is best to be sure that you will not want to cancel your reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in one of their 3 Townhouses (Unit#1), which was beautifully appointed, and accommodated our Family of 6 adults perfectly. The Management/Staff are very nice and are willing to help with any questions you might have. We just left the Capri this morning(9/14/13)....but already talking about a repeat performance for next September! It was truly awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capri Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motor Lodge

Address: 1033 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are seaside accommodations located directly across the street from Cape Mays beautiful beaches. We offer a family friendly environment for the whole family to enjoy while vacationing. Enjoy the pool, BBQ on the grill, play ping pong and shuffleboard or just take in the wonderful view of the beach. We offer efficiencies, suites and townhouse in the historic town of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capri Motor Hotel Cape May
Capri Hotel Cape May
Capri Motel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.