Sad to say that we didn't have the same experience that others have written about. I hope it's a simple one-time bad experience that isn't repeated regularly by this motel, but I will relate our story for those of you who follow these reviews.
And just to be clear, I have no axe to grind, and no reason to be overly critical of any place I stay. I have stayed in hotels and motels around the world - and around the corner - and I have had great experiences, and bad ones, at all price range, in all parts of the US, Canada, Europe, and Mexico. But I do expect the basics to be airtight and delivered with a reasonable level of guest convenience in mind.
Myself, my two sisters and my sister's three girls stayed here in two separate rooms in mid-May. We had a funeral to attend for an Aunt who lived in Cape May and not being familiar with the town, we chose this motel as it was on Ocean Boulevard and was close to the funeral location.
My sisters and nieces stayed in a Suite, and I stayed in a standard room. Both rooms were clean enough, but shabby and dated. Everything had a musty smell. Towels and bathmats were thin; bathroom was small. Both units had dishes & utensils, a microwave, and a small kitchenette to prepare meals, although I'm not sure I would use the kitchen utensils or dishware for my meals if I was staying here for several days or a week.
I paid for both rooms ($180 for the Suite; $100 for the single) which were mid-week, off-season rates.
What turned me off to this location was that on the morning of the funeral, as I started to take my shower, my bathtub drain was completely clogged and I took a shower in standing water.
Our plan was for me to clear my room early - which I did - so my five family members (all women) could have the use of my bathroom for them to get ready. (No jokes here about how long it takes 5 women to get ready in the morning, please :). We figured 5 women using three bathrooms instead of two (the two in their joint Suite) would make the morning easier for all of us to get to the memorial on time.
Even though this was mid-week, pre-season and we appeared to be the only guests this particular night, the shower immediately backed up to a point where after a quick 3-minute shower, I was standing in ankle-deep water.
I question whether the housekeeping service actually cleaned the bathroom recently as no sooner would they have turned the faucet on to clean the tub, they would have uncovered this clogged drain.
So, trying to be a bit proactive, I took the toilet plunger and tried to plunge the tub drain to unstick whatever clog had formed....bad move on my part. I won't relate the rest of the story, but will instead just say that this rendered the tub completely unusable.
I checked out and let the motel keeper know. She apologized and sent a maintenance person to fix it, but it was too late for us to use the extra bathroom to get ready.
My point in relating this story is simply to say that if you're running a motel, then please check the obvious things - water runs, toilet flushes, shower/tub drains are clear, no backups, lights work, etc.
I wasn't expecting anything more than a clean, working room to get a good night's rest before an emotional next day. Unfortunately, one bad experience turned me off to this motel. I think there may be better choices and would not stay here again.
As I said, hopefully this was just one misstep for this motel, and doesn't represent an ongoing issue.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are sorry this problem occured while you and your family were staying at the Capri.
Report response as inappropriate
Our maintanence and housekeeping staff have been employeed with us for many years and take care in their work. We strive ourselves on being clean seaside accomodations and work daily to acheive this goal. We wish you had notified the front desk once you were aware of the issue with the drain. We certainly would have taken care of the problem immediately. Unfortunately, waiting until check out did not allow us the oppourtunity to correct the issue. As many of our guests have come to experience, we strive on customer satisfaction and wished you would have left feeling the same.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.