We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach Getaway~ everything at your fingertips!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capri Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capri Motor Lodge
Save
You added Capri Motor Lodge to your Saves list
1033 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Etters, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Beach Getaway~ everything at your fingertips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Capri was a perfect place for our weekend getaway. We were very please with this hotel's location, friendly service, parking, and the amenities that set it apart from the rest. We enjoyed our room on the ground floor since it was easy access to the parking lot with no steps or elevator needed. It was a cute place that had tables on the courtyard for eating, grills to cook out, a shuffle board, and a ping pong table. The pool was clean and very relaxing. The room we stayed in had a refrigerator, sink and small stove, which we didn't use, but was nice to have in case we needed it. If you stay here, walk out of the hotel toward the beach and make a left, walk a few buildings down to the Grand Hotel for breakfast/brunch and dinner at Hemmingway's restaurant. You can't beat the price and quality of food for the breakfast and sunset dinner deal. For the price and location and amenities, Capri has it all. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    81
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
139
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I spent six nights at The Capri. Clean, nice, and very well maintained. We loved it there and would return again. The beach is directly across the street. If you like to walk, Washington Street Mall is just a few blocks away also.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

is great. This was our 1st trip to NJ. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean, the staff and guests nice, decent restaurants within walking distance and we only had to lug our stuff across the street to the beach. We loved it so much, we might go back next summer. It's an older motel and next time we'll utilize the kitchenette more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a lovely place to stay with reasonable rates! Beautiful view of the ocean with convenient beach access directly across the street. Very clean and comfortable rooms, well maintained property, and staff that epitomize the true meaning of hospitality. I happened to mention with no expectation to the housekeeper the absence of a TV remote that would enable the closed captioning; soon after, there was a knock at the door with the needed TV remote in hand. At the Capri Motor Lodge, they really do aim to please!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent a few nights in early September (parent with a 5 year old.) The location and amenities were perfect. My daughter loved the free shuffleboard, ping pong, popcorn, pool, beach (right across the street) and wild rabbits hopping about at night. I appreciated the free parking (a huge challenge in Cape May), free internet, and in-room kitchen which made for easy breakfasts and snacks. We both relaxed on the common balcony to enjoy the beach view. The hotel also has barbecue grills which we saw some groups of friends using for dinner as they relaxed in the hotel yard and played bocce ball. Overall, a relaxing and enjoyable place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelton, connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

First time in Cape May, NJ. Took my daughter for a weekend as a birthday gift. We stayed in Room 301, what a view! Absolutely spectacular! And, it's in the corner, so nice and quiet. On the balcony outside the door is a double Adirondack chair which my daughter enjoyed each morning as she read the local paper (free to guests). The room is very spacious and I love the little kitchenette! The only thing I would recommend is that they add a small microwave so you could reheat leftovers, etc. The fridge was good and there is a nice set of cooking/eating utensils/plates, etc. The beds were very comfortable and look brand new, as did the bedding. The furniture is a little dated, but more than functional. Flat screen TV is a nice perk for an older hotel. The bathroom, although functional, is badly in need of updating. There's a free standing sink and absolutely no prep room (counter) at all; no where to put your stuff. it's a good size bathroom, so they could easily just put a nice white beach-style small cabinet which would add charm and functionality. The only plug in the bathroom is the old kind right under the light above the mirror. It's hard to maneuver your hair dryer plug into this thing. There's another mirror in the bedroom, but no nearby plug to use while drying your hair, unless you unplug the TV. The bathtub is yellow and dated, but the wall tiles are in pretty good shape. Always plenty of hot water. There's a window right over the tub, but it is frosted glass and has a blind on it, so that was fine. The AC is a regular window unit and that's in the kitchen over the sink. It can be noisy. Word of advice, it you keep it on the lower setting with the temp set at around 72, the room is very comfortable and the unit is a lot quieter. The pool is very well kept -- clean and sparkling. It's a smaller pool and the area gets crowded fast, so we didn't spend much time there. The lodge has two cute rocking chairs with pillows in front of the office, and we enjoyed those on one occasion, very relaxing. There is an elevator in the back to get to the upper floors but we took the stairs most of the time as you want to soak in these views as often as you can! We stayed September 7, 8, 9 and checked out on the 10th. All in all, the weather was pretty good, but you could feel Fall coming as the wind was tough at times. I would, however, go again at this time as the rates were great and there were no crowds; easy to get into restaurants. As far as that goes, Harry's right across the street was very good, wonderful people, good food. Don't bother with the Rusty Nail, substandard food, no indoor ambiance and uninterested waitstaff. We would recommend the Harbor View. Great food, large portions, fair prices, beautiful views, great waitstaff. They have a gorgeous outdoor eating area, but again, the wind was pretty bad that night, so we ate inside on the 2nd floor, it was wonderful. We also had lunch on our last day right before leaving at the Blue Pig located in Congress Hall. Had the Mac & Cheese, which was wonderful and their outdoor eating area is exceptional. For things to do, we would recommend the combo Trolley tour along with the Emlen Physik Estate visit. Very nice, very relaxing. We also enjoyed the Trolley Ghost tour, several trips to the Washington Street Mall (loved that place!), the lighthouse, and, of course, the magnificent beach. Oh, and yes, more than likely, you will see dolphins. On our last full day, at about 1:30 pm, we saw what had to be a school of about 20-30 of them; and some came pretty close to shore. That was a wonderful experience. All in all, Cape May did not disappoint at all. And the Capri would be my choice next time and I would want the same room as you cannot beat that view. The staff there are also very friendly and more than willing to answer questions and help in any and every way they can. Oh, and lastly, the Capri has these beautiful hanging flower baskets all around the balconies; believe me, pictures do not do them justice, they're gorgeous and the staff works on them every day. What a great place; I hated to leave! Give it a try!

Room Tip: I would definitely choose room 301 again -- very comfortable and you just cannot beat that view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been going to Cape May for quite a long time now and decided to stay at the Capri in August for the first time. Ultimately, we came away with a positive experience. First, the location is excellent as it is right across the street from the beach and is a stone's throw from many shops and restaurants. As a bonus, a liquor store is right across the side street as well. If you enjoy walking the town, it's about a 15 minute walk to the Washington St shopping area. The property is not overly big, but does have a pool and a kiddie pool, both of which were clean. They also have an outdoor ping pong table, shuffle board, bean bag toss game (tailgate style) and a few grills and picnic tables for barbecuing if need be. Overall, the grounds are quaint and pretty well kept.

As for the rooms, we stayed in one of the deluxe suites. It seemed to be on the recently remodled side, was cean and had a good amount of space. The living room and kitchen area had ample room to hang out or prepare a meal. The kitchen comes with most of the basics, a full size fridge, stove, oven, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker. There was also a small assortment of spatulas, spoons, and pots/pans for cooking plus place settings for about 8. The bedroom was also a good size, with a large sink area in the main bedroom itself and a separate bath.The suite also had a nice side street private deck angled to see a view of the ocean. (One note, while at the Capri one of our friends was staying in one of the standrad motel rooms. That review would be a little different. The only time we were in it, it seemed pretty outdated and quite musty. So overall, this recommendation is written only on behalf of the suite.)

The only negatives during our stay were that the Wifi was down and that this property does not accept credit cards. However, the latter seems to be a Cape May phenomenon not exclusive to just the Capri. We understand the mom and pop aspect of things, but it is not convenient to have to acquire bank checks or money orders.

Overall, we would stay at the Capri again and recommend it to those traveling to Cape May. It's an above average motel experience and you'll have a good time. Safe travels.

Room Tip: Unless the standard motel rooms are being remodled anytime soon, stick with one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capri Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motor Lodge

Address: 1033 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are seaside accommodations located directly across the street from Cape Mays beautiful beaches. We offer a family friendly environment for the whole family to enjoy while vacationing. Enjoy the pool, BBQ on the grill, play ping pong and shuffleboard or just take in the wonderful view of the beach. We offer efficiencies, suites and townhouse in the historic town of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capri Motor Hotel Cape May
Capri Hotel Cape May
Capri Motel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.