We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Elaine's with our daughter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
513 Lafayette St, Cape May, NJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay at Elaine's with our daughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Elaine's was awesome! They allowed our daughter to stay which was my #1 concern on a July 4th weekend. We scored a huge room with 2 gorgeous queen size beds---so comfy and I loved the room and color palette. Honestly, I would have stayed in the room the whole time if I could but my daughter wanted to play on the beach. Room was spotless. Breakfast was amazing and delicious, but I do agree that you need to be prepared to wait at breakfast...I think they need more help with servers. That being said, was the only issue we had and sitting on the front porch in the gorgeous morning breeze is not too big an issue--just leave some time.

Room Tip: Room #7 was amazing!! Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    23
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a wonderful bed and breakfast in beautiful Cape May, NJ. Close to the beach. Wonderful, wonderful staff. Delicious food. Nicely appointed Victorian style room. Great bar. Shows if you wish entertainment. Evening music. As an author and psychologist, I just needed a break and Elaine's Bed & Breakfast was the perfect get-a-way. By the way, excellent value as well. I have stayed at a number of other very nice B & B's in Cape May, and this was just as bit as good.

RJW

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The service at Elaine's strikes the perfect balance between attentiveness and privacy. Whenever we needed something or merely had a question, the staff was prompt and helpful. They really know what they're doing here. Everything runs as smooth as silk. We especially liked how they provide beach towels and chairs for the guests.

The house has 10 rooms, and many little nooks and dining areas. The outdoor porch upstairs was the perfect place to wind down with a drink and a book after a day at the beach. The first floor porch is adjacent to the full bar and inside dining area. The house is deceptively big, and from what we could see, both the bar and the restaurant are popular with the locals. Breakfast outside on the porch was very good. In the evenings they have music outside in the spacious courtyard. There was just enough action to be lively and inviting, but it never felt crowded or raucous.

The location is excellent. Right in the center of everything. Two blocks from the bus depot, the excellent liquor store Collier's, and a bicycle rental shop. Near all of the restaurants and shopping. About five blocks walk to the beach. Lafayette Street is somewhat busy with vehicular traffic, but it was quiet at night.

The room was perfect. Extremely comfortable bed, beautiful decor and bathroom. A mini fridge would have been nice, but it might take away from the antique look of the room. They do provide an ice bucket upon request.

We did not eat in the restaurant, although we did enjoy the included breakfast every day.

We've stayed in our share of B&Bs in various resort towns, and Elaine's is first rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Elaine's. Excellent location and definitely very comfortable and extremely clean room. Loved the decor & the bedding. Patrick was so accomodating.and his bananas foster french toast was delicious! All the breakfasts were great, Loved it and will stay again when in Cape May!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the staff made us feel like family. The "mermaid room" was impressive in how cozy and comfortable it was in comparison to its size. A must stay if you are in the area and a must frequent place in Cape May!

Room Tip: There is no bad room in this old victorian!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Staying there we felt as if we were staying with family or friends for a few days. There was a feeling of warmth and hospitality from everyone there. We stayed in room "Three" then in room "Eight" and they were both gorgeous and so Victorian! The breakfast were delicious and the view while you ate,so relaxing. We are going again second week of August and it'll be the highpoint of our summer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Overall the rooms were nice and staff friendly, our only complaint was breakfast service. Our second day it took over and hour to get our breakfast and then my husbands was wrong, but we didn't want to spend our whole day at breakfast. Staff could use a little better training. Bar staff was nice. When we come back to Cape May we may stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 513 Lafayette St, Cape May, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.