We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Tranquility by the Sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpiper Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandpiper Beach Resort
11 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
1 review
“Comfort and Tranquility by the Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at the Sandpiper. The apartment was very comfortable, large windows letting the beautiful light in, updated furniture, a bright, spacious kitchen stocked with all nevessary tools for those of us who love cooking, a cozy little porch overlooking the pool and the sea where we enjoyed morning coffee and the full moon. Since it was late September, we didn't enjoy the other amenities like the pool but it looked inviting. A calm, beautifully decorated place in front of the beach. Restaurants, cafes, shops, beautiful walks...a lovely place for a relaxing long weekend. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    40
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
79
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

All room arrangements were perfect as well as the staff. The ocean views were amazing. Alot of things to do in and around town. This was our fourth stay at this Club. We have always found Cape May to be clean, safe, friendly and worth revisiting for the last eight years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Sandpiper in September. Cape May is lovely at that time of the year. I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and comfortable the room was. The duvet on the bed was really nice, much better than the old dirty bedspread we are all so used to. Just a short walk to shops and restaurants. We will be returning in December to take in Cape May at Christmas time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We didn't know what to expect having not been to the Sand Piper before. I was really nervous since my wife is really particular about her room accommodations (REALLY, REALLY fussy).

We were floored by the clean, fresh room. The room and appliances were first rate and the staff was courteous and professional. I've already recommended the Sand Piper to a friend who usually stays at another hotel that is 2 times the cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Our family had a great stay at the Sandpiper resort. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with our 3yr old and 4 month old and the space was a perfect size to accommodate all of us with room to spare. The terrace was nice and big (with partial ocean view), but we would try for a full ocean view next time. The pool was a great size for the little ones and we enjoyed the Congress Hotel pool (and bar) next door a well. Note the drinks at the pool bar were delicious. The proximity to the beach made it easy to go from the beach to the pool and the beach staff were very attentive. We even did Karaoke at the Boiler Room one night. All in all an easy way to get away.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Pros - sandpiper is in a fabulous location. Everything is so accessible and easy - the beach, tons of restaurants, mini golf and arcade, etc. Chair and umbrella service is great. Two doors down from great kids' activities at congress hall.

Cons - Front desk staff was not very helpful. Either they didn't have answers or they gave the wrong ones. General manager, however, was very pleasant and provided good customer service.

And there's a reason rooms on 3rd floor are pricier than lower floors. Supposedly they're much nicer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny,ny
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is our 3rd summer taking a family vacation in August in Cape May and I think the 3rd time is the charm. We finally found a hotel we like! We rented a 2 bedroom/1 bathroom condo on the 2nd floor with an ocean view for me, my husband and our two sons 3.5 and 6.5 years old.

Pro's:
- great location, easy to walk to beach, restaurants, ice cream shops, mini golf, etc.
- great view of the ocean.
- clean, nice Aveda toiletries, full kitchen, cable TV, free wifi, in-room laundry
- attentive staff - friendly, informative and responsive
- we were able to eat several meals in the condo and save some money, as well as the "fun" of eating out with two young kids
- beach service - was nice not to shlep chairs or umbrella to the beach. NOTE: When I booked I was told that beach service was right in front of the Sandpiper, separate from Congress Hall but that was not the case. Sandpiper guests used the CH beach service, which is only 2 blocks away and not a big deal, but just not what I had expected.
- sister to other Cape May Resort Properties.... loved that I could charge to my room at CH (for Monday carnival tickets as well as lunch on the beach), Star Inn (where there is a starbucks) and Beach Shack (where we had a great, casual meal). Made it so easy.

Cons/suggestions:
- rooms could be bigger. the manager told me the rooms are bigger in the 2bed/2bath units but I didn't see them myself so can't confirm. Both of our bedrooms were small, as was the living room area. I have seen some reviews say the balcony was small but I thought it was a nice size.
- there was a breakfast counter & the coffee table but no kitchen/dining table for eating in our unit
- no place to unpack clothes. There was a double closet in the master bedroom but no shelves or drawers. That said, I spoke to the manager and right away he sent someone with a glass bookshelf-like unit to put in the closet and we used that for our clothes. He was very nice and responsive but considering that Cape May is such a casual beach town, I'd recommend they install shelves in the closet for t-shirts, shorts and bathing suits as I'd think many people come with mostly casual-wear vs. hanging clothes.
- pool was cold... they could heat it to make it a bit warmer. We went in a few times to cool off but didn't spend a lot of time there since it was cold.
- could use an in-room safe
- wish they would create floor plans and post them on the website so that you could be more informed as you choose your room when you book.

Overall, we had a fantastic week at the Sandpiper and would definitely stay there again. It is expensive, but relative to what we paid for at other hotels in Cape May we got much more for our money.

Just for reference/comparison, our first year we stayed in La Mer, which was a nice hotel, but bad location -- too far to walk to the Washington Street Mall and our second year we stayed in Marquis de Lafayette which had a fantastic location but was a dump (you can see my reviews for both places by linking through my profile).

Room Tip: Call SP directly to get a sense of how big the unit you want to book is.... Whether it has a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Beach Resort

Address: 11 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for unmatched quality, location and outstanding amenities in your vacation rental, the Sandpiper Beach Club, Cape May NJ, is the perfect fit. Offering 51 units on a beachfront block in Cape May, New Jersey, the Sandpiper is available for daily, weekend, or weekly rentals year round. Located in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May, across the street from the area's best beaches, the Sandpiper boasts a walk-to-everything convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sandpiper Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beach Hotel Cape May
Sandpiper Beach Cape May
Sandpiper Cape May Nj
Sandpiper Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.