We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach resort perfect for an easy family beach vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandpiper Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandpiper Beach Resort
11 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 42 hotels in Cape May
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach resort perfect for an easy family beach vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Our family had a great stay at the Sandpiper resort. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with our 3yr old and 4 month old and the space was a perfect size to accommodate all of us with room to spare. The terrace was nice and big (with partial ocean view), but we would try for a full ocean view next time. The pool was a great size for the little ones and we enjoyed the Congress Hotel pool (and bar) next door a well. Note the drinks at the pool bar were delicious. The proximity to the beach made it easy to go from the beach to the pool and the beach staff were very attentive. We even did Karaoke at the Boiler Room one night. All in all an easy way to get away.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    37
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
77
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Pros - sandpiper is in a fabulous location. Everything is so accessible and easy - the beach, tons of restaurants, mini golf and arcade, etc. Chair and umbrella service is great. Two doors down from great kids' activities at congress hall.

Cons - Front desk staff was not very helpful. Either they didn't have answers or they gave the wrong ones. General manager, however, was very pleasant and provided good customer service.

And there's a reason rooms on 3rd floor are pricier than lower floors. Supposedly they're much nicer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny,ny
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is our 3rd summer taking a family vacation in August in Cape May and I think the 3rd time is the charm. We finally found a hotel we like! We rented a 2 bedroom/1 bathroom condo on the 2nd floor with an ocean view for me, my husband and our two sons 3.5 and 6.5 years old.

Pro's:
- great location, easy to walk to beach, restaurants, ice cream shops, mini golf, etc.
- great view of the ocean.
- clean, nice Aveda toiletries, full kitchen, cable TV, free wifi, in-room laundry
- attentive staff - friendly, informative and responsive
- we were able to eat several meals in the condo and save some money, as well as the "fun" of eating out with two young kids
- beach service - was nice not to shlep chairs or umbrella to the beach. NOTE: When I booked I was told that beach service was right in front of the Sandpiper, separate from Congress Hall but that was not the case. Sandpiper guests used the CH beach service, which is only 2 blocks away and not a big deal, but just not what I had expected.
- sister to other Cape May Resort Properties.... loved that I could charge to my room at CH (for Monday carnival tickets as well as lunch on the beach), Star Inn (where there is a starbucks) and Beach Shack (where we had a great, casual meal). Made it so easy.

Cons/suggestions:
- rooms could be bigger. the manager told me the rooms are bigger in the 2bed/2bath units but I didn't see them myself so can't confirm. Both of our bedrooms were small, as was the living room area. I have seen some reviews say the balcony was small but I thought it was a nice size.
- there was a breakfast counter & the coffee table but no kitchen/dining table for eating in our unit
- no place to unpack clothes. There was a double closet in the master bedroom but no shelves or drawers. That said, I spoke to the manager and right away he sent someone with a glass bookshelf-like unit to put in the closet and we used that for our clothes. He was very nice and responsive but considering that Cape May is such a casual beach town, I'd recommend they install shelves in the closet for t-shirts, shorts and bathing suits as I'd think many people come with mostly casual-wear vs. hanging clothes.
- pool was cold... they could heat it to make it a bit warmer. We went in a few times to cool off but didn't spend a lot of time there since it was cold.
- could use an in-room safe
- wish they would create floor plans and post them on the website so that you could be more informed as you choose your room when you book.

Overall, we had a fantastic week at the Sandpiper and would definitely stay there again. It is expensive, but relative to what we paid for at other hotels in Cape May we got much more for our money.

Just for reference/comparison, our first year we stayed in La Mer, which was a nice hotel, but bad location -- too far to walk to the Washington Street Mall and our second year we stayed in Marquis de Lafayette which had a fantastic location but was a dump (you can see my reviews for both places by linking through my profile).

Room Tip: Call SP directly to get a sense of how big the unit you want to book is.... Whether it has a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom oceanview room in mid-August 2012 and were very pleased. The location was ideal - it's within walking distance to the Washington St mall and all the major restaurants and shops, as well as the bike rentals and of course across the street from the beach - all of this is very useful since parking at peak points in the summer is not always easy, and you often have to pay meters. They have an excellent set-up of their own beach chairs and umbrellas/towels between Congress Inn and Sandpiper and the beach is very large and clean with lovely sand and few waves. The pool at the hotel is tiny and there are relatively few lounge chairs around it - so if you expect to have a large pool set-up you will not like this one. We went for the beach and proximity to the main areas, so were not disappointed. The king bed was extremely comfortable, and our daughers were very happy with the sofa bed in the living room. The bathroom was tiny, and really not what you would expect for a one-bedroom accomodation. The terraces are tiny, but servicable, and have lovely ocean views (we stayed on the 3rd floor, and I'd recommend staying at the 2nd floor or above to avoid the street and pool noises below. The common areas are a bit tired-looking, but since the main focus is on the beach and the surrounding area that didn't matter to us.

Room Tip: Stay above the first floor if you want to avoid the street and pool noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time. The staff was top notch and the room was very clean. Twice a day made service was a nice touch. We made use of the kitchen for breakfast and a few take out dinners.

Close to the beach and use of the Congress Hall beach facilities ( beach chairs, towels, umbrella's ) really made this a great vacation spot.

The Rusty Nail and George's restaurant were very good and both just a block away.

Highly recommended and would definately stay again. Much better then most NJ beach hotels with just a room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very updated rooms,very clean, great showers, nice porches, the staff is very friendly. Great clean pool. Can walk to everything. Right across the street from the beach. On premis parking. Twice a day room cleaning, nice sheets and towels. All around a great family resort .

Room Tip: Get a two.bedroomif possible the hide a bed, well is a hide a bed. Not the most comfortable but wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Sandpiper for a week this past July. We are a family of four, with two young children, and stayed in a 1 br, 3rd floor unit. its a little pricey, but the separate bedroom and kitchenette were perfect for us. The access is through the bedroom via an outside walkway, and there is also a balcony off the living room that had a great ocean view. The kitchen was high end, with stainless appliances and granite countertops. The unit was a little plain otherwise (walls, carpet, furniture all white) but very clean.

What really made this hotel great was the staff. This was the first hotel we've stayed at where we requested a crib and it was actually in the room before we checked in! Normally, we request a crib and sit around waiting for hours for them to deliver it. At the sandpiper, it was right there waiting for us. When we requested additional blankets, it was brought up immediately. Housekeeping did a fantastic job, even doing the dishes every day. The pool was very well maintained, and they provided clean beach towels daily. There is a small fenced in kiddie area in the pool that looks like a "shark cage", which is a little odd, but the kids loved it. The beach service was awesome! They set up chairs, towels, and umbrellas for you at no charge, and the area of the beach is reserved for the Sandpiper guests. Very nice. They even offer beach food service - its extremely expensive, but a nice treat.

I do, unfortunately, have 2 complaints. First is the unit's air conditioning - it was extremely loud, was located in the closet in the bedroom, and when it kicked on overnight it started up with a loud bang each time - made it hard to sleep. Second is the bird houses in the parking lot - every other lamppost had a huge bird-condo on top, and the mess the birds made on the cars in the sandpiper's lot was horrible. I don't understand why the property has all these bird houses, but if they could be relocated, that would be a definite plus.

I would definitely recommend the Sandpiper to any families staying in Cape May. So much better than your typical Jersey Shore lodging, great location, and awesome staff.

Room Tip: go for 3rd floor, make sure its ocean view, and be mindful of the bird poop on your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandpiper Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Beach Resort

Address: 11 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for unmatched quality, location and outstanding amenities in your vacation rental, the Sandpiper Beach Club, Cape May NJ, is the perfect fit. Offering 51 units on a beachfront block in Cape May, New Jersey, the Sandpiper is available for daily, weekend, or weekly rentals year round. Located in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May, across the street from the area's best beaches, the Sandpiper boasts a walk-to-everything convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandpiper Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beach Hotel Cape May
Sandpiper Beach Cape May
Sandpiper Cape May Nj
Sandpiper Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.