We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stockton Inns

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stockton Inns
Save
You added The Stockton Inns to your Saves list
809 Beach Avenue, Beach Ave & Howard St., Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Port Chester, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful vist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights August 16 thru the 19th. Picked it out from reviews from trip advisor and because they had one room left one week prior to travel. The room was a deluxe efficiency, very clean enough room for two adults and six year old. Great location walk across the street to beach, sun deck was great. Pool was clean and big wish it stayed open longer would have been nice if we good take a swim after dinner. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
34
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philly Suburbs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I've lost count of the number of times I've stayed at the Stockton. A bunch of my extended family travels to Cape May each summer and although I always try for the Stockton the others usually stay at different places. This year the whole family stayed here and it was great! Nothing fancy but all that we need: Perfect location, nice clean rooms, great pool, terrific deck to hang out and watch the beach and boardwalk...I will be back, Lord willing..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The only reason to stay in the motel is for the location, which is terrific--just across from the beach and within easy walking distance of the downtown restaurants and shops. We had a two queen "efficiency" room on the 2nd floor of the motel, and while it was large and clean, for the price, it was very disappointing. The room was outdated (think 1960s or 70s), the air conditioner was not very effective, the bathroom was small, the beds were stiff and the linens old-fashioned (cheap polyster bedspread and "blanket"), and the room smelled musty. The only noticeable update was the large flat-screen TV which was nice. I get the fact that we were paying for location, but when you pay approx. $250/night, you should be able to expect a place that has put some money back into the rooms to update them and make them comfortable by today's standards. I'd steer clear of the motel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Manager at The Stockton Inns, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I am sorry you were not completely satisfied during your stay. I can not ignore your statement to stay clear of our property. Our goal is to maintain a clean, friendly and safe environment for all of our guests. We are constantly updating, and remodeling our facilities. Since you made your 1 night reservation only 5 days in advance, it is unfortunate that you were not able to reserve one of the recently remodeled rooms. Most rooms are sold out a year in advance. All rooms, including the room you stayed in, had new bathroom vanities, new toiltets, new flat-screen TV, new DVD player, new clock-radio-MP3, new bedding, and new carpet. I am glad you noticed the flat screen TV. Just this past winter/spring 2012, the swimming pool was remodeled and a 2-story Ipe-wood deck and custom railing was replaced on The Stockton Manor House. These are just a few of the things that have been updated this 2012. Plans are already in the making to remodel another floor of rooms in the Motel for 2013. I can assure you that re-investment in our property is of very high priority. Please think of us for your next vacation and I'm sure you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our second visit to the Stockton Inns. On a previous trip, we stayed in the Victorian Manor for one night, and we had a great experience. This time, we stayed in the Motor Inn for several nights, and once again, we had a great time. There were actually several of us renting rooms side by side, a family get together. I had recommended this property based on our previous experience with the Manor. I was hoping that the rooms in the Motor Inn would be equally satisfying, even though they would not be in a Victorian house. I was NOT disappointed (and in some ways I actually liked the Motor Inn better). Everyone loved the location and the amenities offered by the Motor Inn. Our rooms were large, clean, and well appointed. They appeared to be recently renovated, everything looked new. We had great views of the ocean from the deck outside our rooms. The location was ideal, with easy access to the beach.The pool, though unheated, was refreshing after spending several hours on the beach. We also enjoyed walking to the local restaurants and shops, no need to drive. It was the perfect place for us, and we are definitely looking forward to a return trip!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

All kidding aside, don't miss an opportunity to stay here. Looking at photos of the manor, you may be turned off by it's proximity the the Inn. Don't let that influence your decision. One you are in the manor, you will feel as though you are in your own beach front home. Entry in and out of the manor, feels as private as entering your own home. The room was very clean and very well attended while we were there. A small refrigerator in the room is perfect for your drinks and food. Parking is off street, and restricted to guests in the manor.
Location? Perfect. Right across the street from the beach and walking distance to stores and restaurants. A small miniature golf course, right next to the manor, may make you cringe thinking about the potential noise. Worry not. The course was quiet.
We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a two night stay at the Stockton Manor and it was way to short. The room was lovely. We had a view of the ocean and it was very clean. The shower was very small, but I requested a step in shower because my husband recently had back surgery. My favorite part was sitting on the front porch on a rocker watching the ocean and the people go by. The location was perfect, directly across from the beach and near shops, restaurants and all activities. They have an outdoor pool, but we spent our time at the ocean. Everyone was very friendly and we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRATTLEBORO
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Cape May since 1986, and started staying here about ten years ago. Our daughter is now married and has three of her own children and every year we get three rooms for a week for the seven of us. The rooms are great, very clean and nicely furnished. The location can't be beat; we just walk across the street to the beach each morning. Almost everything is in walking distance so we almost never use the car once we get here. On top of all of that, we are ALWAYS made to feel welcome and that we are somehow special. Why go anywhere else? We certainly won't!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Stockton Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stockton Inns

Address: 809 Beach Avenue, Beach Ave & Howard St., Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
The Stockton Inns Hotel Cape May
Stockton Hotel Cape May
The Stockton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stockton Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.