We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up-beat atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Shack

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Shack to your Saves list
Beach Shack
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Cressona, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Up-beat atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The staff were very friendly and available at all times. The location is perfect for a stay in Cape May. The entertainment and food at The rusty Nail were both wonderful. On the downside, the room was musty smelling and furnishings have seen better days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    97
    38
    25
    15
See reviews for
112
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Egypt, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent one night here in june. It was supposed to be two but i made a mistake on the dates. The day we arrived the front desk staff assured us that the manager could "work magic" and be able to help us. Unfortunately nothing could be farther than the truth. She told us she had nothing but a 3 bedroom suite for $400. Despite the fact that the company that owns this hotel has 6 other properties in Cape May she didnt offer to try and secure one for us. Instead my husband walked 2 blocks and booked us somewhere else. I was happy to leave since the air conditioning didnt work and hot water was scarce. Rooms were clean but outdated. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We took advantage of the non-crowded early summer week and it was great. Even though it rained, we had a good stay at this great hotel. The afternoon music, fire pit atmosphere, ease to the beach all make this place a gem.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room, which has a living room. The extra space is worth it. Overlooking the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Pros - Clean; convenient location close to the beach; free chairs, umbrellas and towels for beach; bars, food and firepit sitting area on-site
Cons - Rooms are dated and expensive; restaurant service is not so great, seems like everyone is new, all week our orders took forever and came out wrong or missing something more than once

Room Tip: If you have 6 people, check out one of the bungelows which have living rooms, dining room tables and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We needed last-minute lodging for a quick getaway on the first weekend of summer. The Beach Shack popped up in search results as one of the few rooms available in CM, and we booked it. The hotel has done a really good job of taking the focus OFF dated amenities (70's style room, chintzy furniture, etc.) by providing GREAT service and a cool environment. This hotel is very family friendly, yards from the beach, and provides chairs, towels, umbrellas and beach food service.

I actually had a debate about this phenomenon with a hotelier friend who's managed Ritz's for 20 years, and his hypothesis has been proven: A well-trained staff and clear service concept beats physical plant any day.

We had a lot of fun here and would recommend it for kids, families, etc!

Room Tip: You probably won't get much choice about room, but if you do, the second floor facing the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have traveled to Cape May in many capacities throughout the years. We have watched the Beach shack turn into a very welcoming popular destination. The Cape Resorts Group has changed some of the beaches and properties in Cape May. They own Congress hall, the Beach shack, the Victorian and the Sand Piper. The Beach Shack is an old motel and bar, the Rusty Nail. It was a place we would not vist but it was transformed to a family friend venue. A sandy area, a grass area, a fire pit, picnic table and outside bar with music playing at 5:00 during the season. Children and thirty something's enjoying family, food and music. Watching the dolphins, drinking coffee in the morning knowing I do not need to drag beach chairs across the street was lovely. They provide patrons with towels and chairs which is wonderful. We have enjoyed many good nights sleep until this weekend. The beds are typically awesome and comfy but we had a horrible bed and terrible night sleep. The room was clostraphobic with the worst mattress we ever slept on. For the price we paid we were very disappointed and will not return.

Room Tip: If you have young children or want to go to bed early chose a room further from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Everything was nice. Easy to enjoy the beach, but we found we drove more to get to things then we did at other places closer in town. It is still a nice place and a great value. Everything is in walking distance of the hotel. They do provide all the beach items you may need. Just show your room key.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Address: 205 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.