We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several stays, good location, average rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Shack

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach Shack to your Saves list
Beach Shack
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
btm1323
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Several stays, good location, average rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Some of the negative reviews are a little harsh. The hotel is not a dump. We stayed here back when the hotel was named the Coachman's Motor Inn as well as the Beach Shack. To be honest, it's better as the beach shack! It's in a good location and the Rusty Nail is a great spot to grab a drink and let the children play in the sand. There were a total of 10 adults and 6 children (all under the age of 5!) on our recent trip and we all stayed on the first floor near the pool. We all had different style rooms and they were all spacious and fit well for everyone's needs. One couple had 3 children (they stayed in a larger suite), another had two (they had a smaller suite), another couple just had one child and another didn't have any so they both stayed in a basic motel room. No one once complained about cleanliness. Yes the rooms did have a musty smell but the hotel is across the street from the beach and it's humid in the summer. What do you expect?! What was nice was when you went to the beach they had complimentary chairs, loungers and umbrellas. I would recommend this hotel. It's really not as bad as people make it out to be. We have stayed all over Cape May and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    95
    37
    25
    15
See reviews for
110
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The place is very convenient to the beach and the hotel has free beach chairs and umbrellas and serving on the beach etc. But the thing with the rooms is that the door is at the front of the room on a common walkway balcony facing the beach. Basically whoever designed the building should have put all that at the back.

The place is best suited to younger people who don't mind loud music most of the afternoon/evening on weekends. It was reggae night and I actually don't mind reggae but after something like 6 hours of it I was pretty ready to scream.

The restaurant is fair enough but don't get excited - best for lunch or eating in your swimwear. Other restaurants in Cape May are better quality and more interesting menu etc

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place was weeks from being torn down and replaced with a super fancy time share resort, before the economy tanked in 2008/9. I think the group who owns it is just waiting for real estate to stabilize a little more before the Beach Shack is gone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I believe that any 4-5 ratings received by this place are actually written by employees because there is no way anyone in their right mind would rate this place that high......unless of course you don't mind spending a good deal of money to stay in a place that is comparable to a slum.

To begin, the carpets are dirty and smell horrid. If and when they do shampoo them, the carpets never get a chance to dry, therefore allowing mildew and mold to grow in them.

The Air conditioner unit is located in the bedroom in the back of the unit. If really warm (which big surprise, in the summer) the AC does not really make it out to the front sitting area.

Don't expect the maintenance staff or cleaning staff to actually lock your room when they are finished in there. Since this place still uses keys, it is very easy for this to happen....and it happened quite often.

Speaking of cleaning, that is something that just does not happen. In our room, we found a bobby pin and some type of chocolate candy sitting on the floor. There was also 2 inches of water sitting in the ice bucket so I can only assume the last guest had ice in the bucket that melted it was was never cleaned.

When we went, there was no TV in the bedroom but the cable box was sitting there.

The bathroom is just terrible. Tiny stainless steel sinks that look like they belong in a cruise ship bathroom.

Just hope you get cell phone service because if an emergency arises in your room, you have no way to contact the front desk or the police. Apparently outfitting the rooms with basic telephone service is asking for too much.

Hope that you don't get one of the rooms that you have to climb onto the lounger to try and fix the blinds.

Lamps also seem to be something that they decided not to pay money for, but don't fear, you have a spot light attached to the wall behind the couch.....

With all these issues in mind, I did not just sit back. I went to the front desk and complained. I took it to the top and I received a full refund for the money I paid to stay there for 2 nights.

If staying in a cheap motel is right up your alley, this is the place for you. If you expect to get a nice place in relation to the amount of money you pay, this is NOT the place for you.

This is just a sister hotel to the fancier Congress Hall and it is obvious that they do not put any money into fixing it up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is the old coachmans motor inn that is now under new management. The rooms have been updated a little & the old dark rusty skupper bar & restaurant turned into a "hip" new outdoor/indoor bar.

Was expecting a little more change because the price is now doubled from what is was before. The rooms have been painted, new bedding & coffee stations, new bathroom sinks & curtains but same furniture & pint size bathrooms. Rooms cannot accommodate more than 2 people comfortably.

Liked the new fire pit & beach service. Can't beat the location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful overnight anniversary in Cape May
We were very happy with the Beach Shack-very clean-nice view of the ocean, the fire pit was nice at night. My husband had flowers delivered to me and they were waiting in the room. We would stay here again. The bed and pillows were super comfy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We purchased a special offer online, so our room was discounted, and at that was not worth the price. The staff was indifferent and the room definitely needed freshening up. It looked as it all that had been done was to apply a new coat of paint and throw in some stainless steel sinks. Otherwise it reminded me of just a low rate roadside motel. There was no clock, no blow dryer, and the TV and the fan in the bathroom didn't work. I can't imagine paying their full rate for a room and/or staying there for any length of time for a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Address: 205 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.