We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, and service could have been better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Shack

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Shack to your Saves list
Beach Shack
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Expensive, and service could have been better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

First let me say that I'm a pretty low-maintainance traveler. I don't expect a Ritz everywhere I go, but I do expect a certain attention to detail no matter what the level of the hotel. No question, the Beach Shack has a great location, about a five minute walk from the main drag of Cape May, and directly across the street from the beach. The beach service was terrific-- just walk over, tell them your room number, and the courteous young men set out chairs, towels and umbrellas for you. That was all great. However, the room itself was *really* small. I'd requested a room with two beds for my husband, myself, and our 18 year old daughter. Instead we got a room with one bed and a pull-out couch, that we had to remake with sheets every night. Nothing else was available. With the bed pulled out, we were literally stepping over tables to get anywhere in the room. There was a hanging lamp directly over the couch that we were constantly bumping our heads on. Who puts a chandelier in the middle of a room? The bathroom was really barely big enough to turn around in, with no hooks for towels, (though there were holes in the door where hooks apparently had previously been) so things were constantly piled up. The room cleaning always missed something. One day we got no replenishment of shampoo (we'd started out with one tiny bottle of shampoo for three people-- in a beach place where people are likely to take more than one shower a day). Another day no replenishment of coffee for the machine. And the worst was the day we discovered that they hadn't given us sheets for the pull-out. And this was discovered after-hours at the office, so my daughter was visiting the laundry room to beg some sheets off the people working there. I know that prices are high in Cape May, but at least one should expect that the little things get done properly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    96
    37
    25
    15
See reviews for
110
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ortley beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our stay at the Beach Shack was such a pleasant experience. The service was impeccable. It was clean and comfortable. The bar area was a pleasure. It was only an overnight stay and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Yeah! My family loved this place. While it is not perfect it was fun and felt like a real resort, not just a motel in Cape May. Wonderful beach service with complimentary towels, beach chairs and umbrellas! Food and beverage service available on premises at the Rusty Nail or at the beach or the pool! The service is not perfect, but very nice! The bed lines were fantastic and the towels were big and abundant! The rooms are nice but not exceptional, but the other amenities more than make up for that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Beach Shack for 6 days at the beginning of August and had a great, mellow, relaxing time. All the people working here were extemely nice and very friendly. Location is great, you can park the car and then walk absolutely everywhere. The Rusty Nail is part of the complex and seems to be the most happening place in Cape May...always crowded and filled with surfer types. There was a sandy area on the side which also had a fire pit, which was lit every night. You could lounge around, eat, drink or just relax on the chairs with your toes in the sand...also great how you can arrive in shorts or your beach clothes...very Key West-y! Live music too. Super fun vibe and awesome food...all 3 meals are served here. The manager Andrew was soooo nice as well. The Beach Shack is right across the street from the beach and they give complimentary loungers, towels and umbrellas to hotel guests, which is super convenient. We also noticed that the housekeeping crew serviced the rooms as soon as we left for the day...as early as 10:30AM, which we liked. Rooms have a small fridge and bowls, glasses, utensils etc. which makes it easy to eat some yogurt or cereal if you want to or bring home restaurant leftovers, which you usually can't do on a vacation. Rooms were not luxurious though there was plenty of space for everything. Beds were comfy but seemed small...we are used to a king size back at home! Pool is so-so...but fine for what it is...we were really at the beach the whole time anyway. All in all, a nice beachy vibe for a mellow week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farthest away from The Rusty Nail if you want to turn in early without hearing the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyngham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I go to Cape May every year for vacation. We stayed in several different places throughout the years and decided to try the Beach Shack this year. We were a little hesitant based on some of the reviews, and when I called I was reassurred that everything would be great. Since I was calling two months in advance, they offered me a 60-day non-refundable rate. I choose to take it, and happy to save a little bit of money! I am glad I did!! We arrived early and the staff was very pleasant. Our room wasn't ready, but we were able to use all of the amenities (the pool, beach service, etc.). They said, they would call us if the room became available early, which it did not, but that was fine. We were at the beach! The room was nice, clean, big beds! The view was beautiful. The only negative thing is the bathroom. It is so SMALL. The decor was dated, but no big deal, as long as it was clean. The rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, and tiny coffee maker, and a sink. We are not big on breakfast, just need some coffee in the morning, and it would have been nice to have a coffee station set-up in the lobby, or at the Rusty Nail. I asked if they sold coffee to go, and had to wait 15 minutes, and it was totally overpriced! So, we walked down into the town every morning and found a nice coffee shop, and enjoyed our coffee, a bagel, or breakfast sandwich. The evening fire pit is very nice, and relaxing. I was disappointed that it shuts off at 9:45 p.m. We understand they have families staying there, but we didn't hear much from inside our room. When the music was playing, it was not very loud (as some people commented). We were asked to leave after the fire pit was turned off, and if we wanted to go inside we could have. They basically chase all of their business to another bar. Everyone leaves, and it was quite busy that night. For the most part, the place is a nice place and we will go back. The beach service is worth it to us, as you don't have to lug all of your chairs, and towels. Just give them a small tip and they appreciate it! They do offer food service at the beach, as well. The menu was very limited. This is a nice amenity, but we didn't use it. The pool is nice, a little small, but they always have clean towels available and set-up a chair for you. The staff is very accomodating, and was always pleasant. Great time all-around! We will go back next year!

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms with larger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hingham,mass.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The place was quiet, very clean and the help were courteous. The bed was comfortable, had a/c and enough room.It had an ocean view and the beach was across the street. The rate includes breakfast credit of $20, but if you leave before 8:00,you lose that option. The only potential negatives are that credit, a small bath, and no elevator,which were not a concern for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room,view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We first walked into our room and our 14 year old declared, "This room is crappy!" By the next morning he was asking to come back next summer.
If you take this place at face value, it is outdated, However, once absorbed in the atmosphere of the beach fun, that shabby chic theme adds to the charm of the stay. My husband and I loved sitting by the fire pit in the evening listening to the live music. We were actually disappointed the first night when the fire was extinguished at 9:45 and the outdoor bar closed at 10:00pm. This, however, is understandable as the music we loved listening to from our room may be a problem for families with young children trying to sleep.
The ocean front location was fabulous to wake up to and quite convenient. The chair, towel and umbrella service at the beach was invaluable! No lugging all that gear to the beach and at the end of the day, it all stayed there.Our beds were very comfortable and linens were fresh, classic and crisp.
Truth be told, we were sad our long weekend stay wasn't longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Address: 205 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.