We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay with children.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Station Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Summer Station Hotel
Save Saved
You added Summer Station Hotel to your Saves list
217 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Cape May
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay with children.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We moved to Summer Station from The Tides condominium (where we had very bad experience). At Summer Station we received good customer service from management, maintanence to maid service. The hotel is good for the family --close to beach and roomy. It is clean and comfortable (no luxury). We had a 2 nicely sized bedrooms, livings room , one bath and small kitchen. We had everything what we need on a kitchen for cooking. Our unit also had a washer and dryer and balcony overlooking the beach. We liked everything exept matresses that has to be changed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    23
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Excellent customer service from management, maintanence to maid service. There was a decrease in the maid services this year and yoyu can really see the difference. I hope this does not affect the client satisfaction and service for the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Found this place on TripAdvisor and once again you all steered me right. The hotel was just right for our family weekend--close to beach and roomy. Certainly not upscale with any presence of luxury but clean and comfy (although our mattress could get retired soon). We had a 2 bedroom, one bath. Nice sized living room and kitchen and little balcony overlooking ocean. Would recommend this for short stays and would return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Summer Station is a well maintinaed comfortable place to stay right on the beach in Cape May. it has a petite kithen (if you cook, bring knives, kitchen tools), It also has a washer and dryer and balcony overlooking the beach. Every room has a beach view. Bring your own personal music, there is wireless internett as well. The staff are lovely and very helpful. In the many years we have stayed at Summer Station, we have never had a issue with service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I've reviewed Summer Station before and have been staying here for 17 June vacations...so I must like it, right? Yes, it is very family friendly, great views of the beach and lovely pool area.

I am becoming increasingly concerned about the staff at the hotel. It seems that this year they have one maid responsible for each floor...yes, one maid! Ours was running around like crazy today, preparing rooms for incoming guests and trying to clean rooms of guests who were staying on for the weekend. She got to our room at 2:45 and was very apologetic.
I think that more help, especially during the busy season, is really necessary to keep customers happy.

Room Tip: We always go for the pool or ocean front rooms...they have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A friend and I enjoy having space. We had previously stayed for 15 yrs. in B & B's in Cape May and read a review of Summer Station. We stopped by last year to check it out and actually stayed there for 3 nights in June of 2012. It is a unique set up in that it is a condo that is run like a hotel with daily maid service, linens, full kitchen, even paper towels, dish cloth and dish rag! The people at the desk were friendly and accommodating. Each unit has at least 2 bedrooms and a bath. There are a few other variations such as units with 2 baths. One night we did hear loud music from the establishment next door...but that stopped by 9pm. The location is excellent right on Beach Ave...very close to the beach entrance. I left a few item and Manager Bill was willing to mail. We have already booked for next year!

Room Tip: I would not stay on the first floor unless it was a handicap situation. We stayed in a NO VIEW on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at Summer Station for the 2nd year in a row for a girls weekend at the beach. We requested something other than the first floor and ocean view. We stayed on the 4th floor and our condo was very nice. We had all the amenities in the kitchen you could want with the exception of dish washing detergent. The beds are a bit noisy as others have said but not enough to not want to stay there. The only odd thing is the lack of a door on the "den" which is really a bedroom since there is a bed in there. If you are staying with others or couples it would be nice to have privacy. I know that some of the people talk about the decor and each place is different because of who owns it and how they choose to decorate. Ours was decorated very differently from the room our other friends had. Their walls were painted green and blue and had lots of beachy pictures etc. The furniture was wicker with cushions in that room as well. Our walls were all a neutral off white and decor eclectic.

I love the large window in the living room area and the porch to sit on and see the ocean is awesome. The porch is small but four of us managed to sit out there and enjoy the view.

They do have a pool with lounge chairs. We did not use it this year but it is nice. The beach is right across the street which is very convenient (you do have to pay to be on the beach). There is a faucet to wash off your sandy feet on the side of the building too when you return from the beach.

I would definitely recommend this hotel/condo. We enjoyed our 2 years staying there and hope to return.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend an Ocean Front room but not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Station Hotel

Address: 217 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tradition of luxury and elegance has been found in Cape May since before the turn of the century, and now Summer Station is part of that tradition. With an imposing facade that blends with the stately Victorian homes, and accommodations that offer a gracious vacation lifestyle. The inviting sandy beach is just steps from your door; or you may prefer the sparkling water of our pool with surrounding sundeck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summer Station Condotel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.