We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The new Old Grange” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cold Spring Grange Restaurant

Cold Spring Grange Restaurant
720 Route 9 South, Cape May, NJ 08204
609-884-0114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 95 Restaurants in Cape May
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cold Spring, NJ
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“The new Old Grange”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

For years Old Grange Restaurant passed from one operator to another offering short-lived mediocre dining. Then last year along came well-known Philadelphia restauranteur, Tony Clark, and Old Grange joined the list of best restaurants in the Cape May area.

The restaurant recently opened for the 2012 season with a new approach: five course prix fixe dinners offered at reasonable prices.

On our recent visit my wife and I were offered an amuse-bouche, a choice of two soups, a choice of two salads, a choice of four entrees along with three family style side dishes and a choice of two desserts.

The amuse-bouche was a wasabi deviled egg and since neither of us care for eggs, as a substitute we were offered a plate of marinated cauliflower. We're light eaters so we skipped the soup course, either New Jersey Clam Chowder or Minestrone. The lettuce wedge salad was served with tomato and cucumber slices and a blue cheese dressing loaded with chunks of blue cheese.

One of the four entree choices was Teres Major in a red wine sauce. I've never heard of Teres Major, so I asked for an explanation, and then tried it. Our server explained that it was a beef cut second only to beef filet in tenderness. I received two inch thick medallions, medium rare as requested, and he was right: it was very tender and tasty, and certainly imaginative. My wife chose Seared Scallops with Celery Root Crema and Crispy Celery Root Chips. She was very happy with her choice. With our entrees came Sauteed Haricots Verts, Glazed Rosemary Carrots and Silky Potato Puree. The potato puree was indeed silky and the other vegetables were crisp, not overdone. The glaze made the carrots so tasty I had a second helping.
Finally, dessert. We chose strawberry shortcake, and it was like your mother used to make: real biscuit, not the usual sponge cake, with sliced srtrawberries and real whipped cream. Delicious!

The restaurant is a BYOB, but local Hawk Haven Vineyard wines are available by the bottle. In addition, a complimentary glass of beer from Flying Fish Brewery is offered. Our waiter told us that the menu will be varied and if you provide your email address, the restaurant management will keep you advised.

The decor is attractive colonial style. Service was very attentive and professional. There's plenty of free parking outside.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May
1 review
“Culinary Feast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Our five course prix fixe meal was excellent, and for a price of $24. Each of the five courses complemented each other, were just the right portions, and served with time to relax between courses. Everyone from the general managers to waiters had a smile and showed a genuine caring about our dining bliss. The Old Grange Restaurant is a restaurant that you will want to return to.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is our second time at the Old Grange Restaurant in two weeks, and both visits have been perfect. Love the ambience, service, attention to detail, menu. All total a wonderful evening. Nice touches: complimentary serving of a different featured brew on tap. Vegetables served "family style", varied entree choices, our favorite wedge salad with the house dressing is superb. The raisin scones for dessert - perfect. The service is very attentive, without being overbearing. We felt we could have lingered over coffee and dessert for as long as we wanted - no rushing here. Love it and will be back very often.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cooking Classes on Saturday at lunchtime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

On Satudays at 12:30, Chef Clark is holding cooking classes that include lunch. We have been to classes featuring Italian and French cuisine and really enjoyed them. Tony prepares an appetizer and entree course and the students are served the same item from the kitchen. Tony's niece, an accomplished pastry chef, then demonstrates the desert that is also served to you. Tony is both entertaining and informative, with stories and anecdotes about his life in the kitchen. Wine is available by the bottle or you may bring your own. English cuisine is offered next week and we will be there. A great time to eat, learn and be entertained by a top chef!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a must try if you are anywhere near the Southern New Jersey area. The food is outstanding from soups right through dessert. The wedge salad with chef's special dressing is fantastic.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cold Spring Grange Restaurant also viewed

 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Cold Spring Grange Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cold Spring Grange Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.